• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat NSFs must eat their ladies’ fingers, brinjals and bittergourds!

MarcusTan

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/address-food-wastage-in-army-camps

Address food wastage in army camps

In line with the nationwide drive to reduce food wastage in Singapore, I urge the Ministry of Defence to investigate the situation of food going to waste in army camps.

My son who is undergoing basic military training recently related how much leftover rice is discarded regularly by the soldiers because the servers ignore their requests for less rice.

The caterer, Foodfare, should also research the appropriate food to serve in camps.

For example, most boys I know detest ladies' fingers.

To serve this as a vegetable dish to these full-time national servicemen is the surest way of seeing food end up in the bin (ditto for eggplant and bitter gourd).

Another son who went for his reservist training at Pasir Laba Camp last month was served a very spicy noodle dish for breakfast very early in the morning of a live-firing exercise. It was mostly left uneaten.

As a mother who has trained her sons to not let food go to waste and to finish the food on their plates, I hope appropriate action will be taken so that the men serving national service will not view food wastage as a normal affair.

Vicky Chong (Madam)

Mdm Vicky Chong....your son likes to suck "ladies fingers' while eating 'abalone'...unfortunate, Foodfarce have to employ elderly kitchen helpers & cooks, & their average age is around 60; for they are cheap & good. That is why they get Okra ( psst! not orka ), egg plant & bitter gourd...oh! my gourd!, what were you expecting? organic carrots in wine sauce & roasted garlic?, purple egg plant saute in butter?. Kung Pow fried rice? Breakfast?...eggs on toast with bacon & butter, rye bread...

It is a a privilege to be served such simple peasant food, with rice....Mdm Chong, you never educate your son to eat his vegetables & not to waste rice....army boys uses a lot of energy...rice is suitable for them...

Maybe, Mdm Chong, you should volunteer on his behalf....to have that privilege to serve NS & reservist..

WTF? From SFI to Foodfare. Right pocket, left pocket......all Jeng Hoo pockets. KNN.

No pay money still demand for better menu....knn

WTF? From SFI to Foodfare. Right pocket, left pocket......all Jeng Hoo pockets. KNN.

They have pockets....their safari jackets have four in front, top right, top left, bottom right, bottom left...cargo pants have another, 2 inner & 2 outer plus back pockets x 2 & a secret compartment pocket...

Never asked her...who did she vote for??

If our soldiers cannot even tahan the hardship of eating veggies that they do not like...I like to see how they survive an interrogation session when captured by the enemy.

Let's put in on official records- we shall make a puree of these veg and spoonfeed your darling sons in future, shan't we?

We in the SBF will fuck these self-entitled bitches to produce a stronger breed.

The Company's Inchek will stuff the ladies fingers up her Son's Arse, than see wat she has to say!

Ummm..say first hor..me not vegetaralian ..... but okra and brinjal fried with samba and hae bee (dry shrimps) best sia. Bittergourd fish soup and fried bittergourd egg also not bad leh....

Vicky Chong please serve NS before talking ladies fingers rubbish.

Fine, if those little fucking brats don't want to eat complete meals, then let them starve. If they faint during training or exercise, charge their fucking arses.

my old fart adult diaper wearer uncle say last time the mono intake cook house cook like to give him alot of rice to tekan him to finish it else tekan by corporal. he say can throw leftover meh cannot mah die die must finish all.

If our soldiers cannot even tahan the hardship of eating veggies that they do not like...I like to see how they survive an interrogation session when captured by the enemy.

When I volunteered for my privilege ( serve N.S.), during recruit days, I have rice that was burnt, chye sim that had added nutritious ingredients like sand (minerals) & caterpillars ( proteins), soup that looks like it came from the swill, in the morning, I had kopi si ( with the 'si'), Margarine that stacked up looking like it was from the movie "close encounters..", bread that bounced, fried mee hoon with vegs ( never mind what it was) that gives off a crunchy sound when chewed...one have to eat...I am still alive.

I think Mdm Vicky Chong Son would have died if he had my privilege to eat such nutritious food...never mind about throwing away the rice or eating my vegs..

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/address-food-wastage-in-army-camps

Address food wastage in army camps

In line with the nationwide drive to reduce food wastage in Singapore, I urge the Ministry of Defence to investigate the situation of food going to waste in army camps.

My son who is undergoing basic military training recently related how much leftover rice is discarded regularly by the soldiers because the servers ignore their requests for less rice.

The caterer, Foodfare, should also research the appropriate food to serve in camps.

For example, most boys I know detest ladies' fingers.

To serve this as a vegetable dish to these full-time national servicemen is the surest way of seeing food end up in the bin (ditto for eggplant and bitter gourd).

Another son who went for his reservist training at Pasir Laba Camp last month was served a very spicy noodle dish for breakfast very early in the morning of a live-firing exercise. It was mostly left uneaten.

As a mother who has trained her sons to not let food go to waste and to finish the food on their plates, I hope appropriate action will be taken so that the men serving national service will not view food wastage as a normal affair.

Vicky Chong (Madam)

Dear Mdm Vicky Chong,

Please do not let your imagination run wild. Your son is eating healthy vegetables. Not of the sort you would imagine doing with your hubby and girlfriend.

When I volunteered for my privilege ( serve N.S.), during recruit days, I have rice that was burnt, chye sim that had added nutritious ingredients like sand (minerals) & caterpillars ( proteins), soup that looks like it came from the swill, in the morning, I had kopi si ( with the 'si'), Margarine that stacked up looking like it was from the movie "close encounters..", bread that bounced, fried mee hoon with vegs ( never mind what it was) that gives off a crunchy sound when chewed...one have to eat...I am still alive.

I think Mdm Vicky Chong Son would have died if he had my privilege to eat such nutritious food...never mind about throwing away the rice or eating my vegs..

Looking at it from a more scientific approach, you can see the SAF training standard is really low now. Why? If soldiers can throw food away, that means that they are not burning enough calories each day. Especially on course soldiers like this Vicky's precious son. Its mentioned in the article that the son is posted to Pasir Laba Camp, so I assume the son is in either School of Infantry Weapons or Specialist OCS. Either way, he is on course. Usually, on course if you are in OCS during my time, you are burning thru 5,000 - 7,000 calories a day. We are talking non stop with maybe 4 hr sleep. PT in the morning, 10km jogs before breakfast, etc. If you are burning thru that much calories, your body will eat everything in sight. It craves it, its a body defence mechanism. Lets say this MILF Vicky's son is not on that siong a course, but still in order for him to turn food down like that, he could not be burning thru more then 3,000-4,000 calories per day. Probably less then that. so, it must be a course that is not so siong, i.e. low standard. that is why in the old days, if you throw food away at the cookhouse, u will get extras. The old hokkien peng cooks use to load up your tray with a lot of carbs, like rice. Soldiers on course are made to eat everything because they will need it. Also, when u build up muscle mass, u also naturally burn more calories. if u don't like lady fingers or brinjal or whatever, u will eat it because u don't know when your next meal will be and u know that u have a lot of calorie burning physical exertion coming up. So, my conclusion is that SAF courses now are like holiday camps.
P.S. Ladyfingers are not cheap as a source of vegetable. MILF Vicky's son is damn lucky to eat it. Usually served in Indian cookhouses.

I think CSMs and RSMs are soft nowadays. In the old days, if you doan't have a clean plate at the end of your time-limited meal, you get send to do guard duty or send to DB.