• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No need to renew water deal with Mudland next year!

Mr Perfect

SINGAPORE will not be renewing the first of its two water agreements with Malaysia when it expires next year.

The reason: Extra reservoirs and another Newater plant being built can increase supply to meet the country's needs, Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Yaacob Ibrahim said yesterday.

He was replying to Nominated MP Mildred Tan who had asked whether the expiry of the first water agreement next year will lead to higher water tariffs in future and what steps Singapore has taken to become more self-sufficient in water.

Over the years, supply has been bolstered with more Newater plants, new reservoirs and desalinated water, Dr Yaacob noted. 'With these new sources, we have diversified our water supply and built up a robust system.' He added that, as a result, there is no need to renew the first water agreement with Malaysia. Under the agreement, signed in 1961, Singapore will buy water from Malaysia at three sen for every 1,000 gallons for 50 years.

Singapore aims to be self-sufficient in water by 2061 when its second water agreement with Malaysia expires. This agreement, signed in 1962, allows it to buy more water at the same price.

Dr Yaacob said Newater supply is expected to meet 30 per cent of Singapore's water needs when the fifth and largest Newater plant in Changi is completed later this year. It will produce up to 50 million gallons of ultra-clean reclaimed water daily - enough to fill 94 Olympic-size swimming pools. Also, the desalination plant in Tuas can meet 10 per cent of Singapore's needs.

Read the full story in Tuesday's edition of The Straits Times.

Still rem the old days when Mudland suka suka threaten to cut off their water supply? Now they are probably squeezing their balls blue black.

I think you miss the point. Yes we can build our own RO plants but at what price? When energy goes to $150/ barrel how much will water cost us? Right now the whole world is in recession except for China and oil is at $80.

I think Dubai built their own indoor ski resort. with money you can get whatever you want. So having an RO plant (whatever you call it) is no big deal. Throw in $$$ and you can get it.

Just imagine when the global economy turns around and with india added to equation oil can easily reach $150/barrel. Why do you think we are talking about nuclear power? Seems silly to me since we are already one of the largest oil refining and transshipment ports so supply of oil is no issue.

I am pretty sure we could have signed a well thought out water deal WITH inflation adjusted prices so that Malaysian do not feel like idiots 30 years years down the road when inflation makes the prices look stupid cheap.

So right now we are exchanging water supply with a nuclear power plant. Remember that should there be a problem, it might very well mean bye bye for Singapore the way we know it.

Still rem the old days when Mudland suka suka threaten to cut off their water supply? Now they are probably squeezing their balls blue black.

nah...Malaysia will only be too happy not to renew the deal. Donch forget, PUB spent money to build up the resources, add in infrastructure on their reservoir, pumping plants, pipes the lot. With the expiry, Malaysia will get them for free.

Besides, Malaysia can keep the water for their own use.

Moreover, the long term health effect of drinking recycled urine is not proven. I still trust natural water. Secondly, this will allow PUB to suka suka raise tarrifs by citing reasons such as energy costs.

Desalination plant- its costly to maintain loh...and I would imagine if the seawater gets dirtier and dirter, it will cost more to purify the water - adding to costs.

Whilst on one hand, I am happy that we are no longer being held at ransom by Malaysia over the water issue, for sake of good neighborliness, it might be good to have one or two deals still in place - symbolically or otherwise.

IS NEW WATER SAFE FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION?

This question has never been answered satisfactory.

OR ARE THEY NOW BUILDING AND PREPARING A MEDICAL MARKET FOR ALL THE HOSPITALS THEY ARE BUILDING?

After all, MKTG 101 says, "If there is no market for your goods and services, CREATE one".

:oIo:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

The making of New Water...
shit_water_slide_shit.jpg
+
314036511_d488dbcec4_d.jpg
+
GB00025picture2.jpg

May be by drinking NEW Water, we will be more obedient citizens.

1-3.jpg

Hahahahahaha! I am so happy now ah!

My wife had been fucking me why I always laughing and smiling whenever I sleep? I will tell you all Sinkies now ah! This time next year, my salaries will confirmed increased by another 30%.

I can 110% confirmed that ah! Now no more 3 sen water from Malaysia next time, so all this new water plants water supplies in my kingdom Sinkapore is confirmed more then 3 sen ah. And I can tell all Sinkies that since new water plants water is expensive, so I have no choice but to increased your PUB utilities bills ah. And if I increased prices in your PUB bills, I can confirmed increased my salaries ah.

Hahahahahahaha! I am really so happy now ah!

With the increase in the FT in Singapore, the eveready supply of shit & pee will be sufficient for Singapore to cut off the water supply from Malaysia voluntarily. Hundreds of billion are loss through "wise and intelligent, well thought after" investments, spending the same billions on nuclear energy plants & newater plants might just be the actual money maker, this will sustain the GIC MOTTO of "suck those sinkies dry".

Uncle makes use of unlocked tap to take shower at void deck
Posted on 26 Apr 2010

uncle_makes_use_of_unlocked_tap_to_take_shower_at_void_deck-thumbnail.jpg

This man was seen openly taking a shower at the void deck of an HDB block in Paya Lebar.
How can such behaviour be prevented if the taps are left unlocked, STOMPer Arxian wonders.
The sender feels that unlocked taps are the reason why people make use of the HDB water supply in unauthorised ways.
In an email, Arxian says:
"An uncle happily taking a shower at the wash area at a block in Paya Lebar Way.
"How do we stop water theft when water points are not even locked?"

I was discussing this issue with my son who is now in Primary 1.
He doesn't look convinced when I said we will be self sufficient. He then give me his analogy

Assuming we have 2 litres of water
we drank all the 2 litres
70% of it will be consumed by our body as needed.

We pee out 0.6 ltr to the drain
Due to the tropical climate he said 30 to 40% will be evaporated.
we are then left with 0.36 ltr that are sent for Reverse Osmosis.

heheheh assuming there is a drought throughout the year......

Can RO system create water from no where?
Unless we use desalination plant to convert sea water to portable and finally process it again for consumption......

My son told me: Dad, Ask your friend to look at your Nick and Use it

I think you miss the point. Yes we can build our own RO plants but at what price? When energy goes to $150/ barrel how much will water cost us? Right now the whole world is in recession except for China and oil is at $80. ...Why do you think we are talking about nuclear power? Seems silly to me since we are already one of the largest oil refining and transshipment ports so supply of oil is no issue.

I am pretty sure we could have signed a well thought out water deal WITH inflation adjusted prices so that Malaysian do not feel like idiots 30 years years down the road when inflation makes the prices look stupid cheap.

So right now we are exchanging water supply with a nuclear power plant. Remember that should there be a problem, it might very well mean bye bye for Singapore the way we know it.
You make several good points.

Water agreement between Singapore & Malaysia became a gordian knot because wily LKY wants to shortchange Malaysia & Mahathir, in retaliation becomes unreasonable.

It is the bad blood between these 2 personalities that fundamentally destroyed a win-win deal for the 2 countries. LKY will accuse Mahathir of u-turns in decision-making, & Mahathir will accuse Singapore of arrogance & profiteering ..... so a win-win deal becomes impossible.

Either way, water will become more expensive in the years ahead.

Difference is, PAP will crow, no foreign country will have a hold on us using water. If deal renewed at a higher price, $ flows out to foreigners. Relying on PAP's PUB '4 Taps' strategy, higher prices & profits goes to our Govt, theoretically a lesser evil than the foreign devil ?

Either way, the financial burden will always be borne by us.
er... of course, we always say we have schemes to alleviate the poor with water vouchers, discounts, rebates ... blah blah ( the truth is hee hee...for show lah, have some token welfare scheme). Whatever, recover cost PLUS a huge margin to teach citizens to value water.

Extra windfall will go to GIC & Temasek & through 'honest mistakes', huge sums still end up in 'foreign devil''s hands ! LPPL !

Nuclear ? An inevitability & let's console ourselves, France, a major user of nuclear power, enjoying the lowest unit cost of electricity, has been fine ...... thus far.

SINGAPORE will not be renewing the first of its two water agreements with Malaysia when it expires next year.

The reason: Extra reservoirs and another Newater plant being built can increase supply to meet the country's needs, Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Yaacob Ibrahim said yesterday.

He was replying to Nominated MP Mildred Tan who had asked whether the expiry of the first water agreement next year will lead to higher water tariffs in future and what steps Singapore has taken to become more self-sufficient in water.

Over the years, supply has been bolstered with more Newater plants, new reservoirs and desalinated water, Dr Yaacob noted. 'With these new sources, we have diversified our water supply and built up a robust system.' He added that, as a result, there is no need to renew the first water agreement with Malaysia. Under the agreement, signed in 1961, Singapore will buy water from Malaysia at three sen for every 1,000 gallons for 50 years.

Singapore aims to be self-sufficient in water by 2061 when its second water agreement with Malaysia expires. This agreement, signed in 1962, allows it to buy more water at the same price.

Dr Yaacob said Newater supply is expected to meet 30 per cent of Singapore's water needs when the fifth and largest Newater plant in Changi is completed later this year. It will produce up to 50 million gallons of ultra-clean reclaimed water daily - enough to fill 94 Olympic-size swimming pools. Also, the desalination plant in Tuas can meet 10 per cent of Singapore's needs.

Read the full story in Tuesday's edition of The Straits Times.

Typical PAP BS, Yaacob can sling shit with the best of them. Yes, its possible that the local water supply has been bolstered by the 3 things he mentioned, ie Newater, desalination, etc. But he forgot to mention too that the population has also been bolstered, by a lot, and will continue to be bolster until the stated goal of 6 million people thru the PAP massive FT policy. Mildred needs to ask what is percentage increase in supply of local water and than look at the percentage increase in population.

I think you miss the point. Yes we can build our own RO plants but at what price? When energy goes to $150/ barrel how much will water cost us? Right now the whole world is in recession except for China and oil is at $80.

I think Dubai built their own indoor ski resort. with money you can get whatever you want. So having an RO plant (whatever you call it) is no big deal. Throw in $$$ and you can get it.

Just imagine when the global economy turns around and with india added to equation oil can easily reach $150/barrel. Why do you think we are talking about nuclear power? Seems silly to me since we are already one of the largest oil refining and transshipment ports so supply of oil is no issue.

Actually, its a little known fact that there is an ulterior motive in the whole water situation. U are right, we could have signed an even and fair water deal with Malaysia, but for the fact that the egos of the 2 players involved has precluded that. Yaacob likes to say that we did not renew, but actually, the Malaysians are the ones that did not want to do so. They have been ripped off for all these years, and the old man acts like an ingrate at the same time.

The problem of water supply/water shortage, etc. has been going on for decades. The PAP has floated many red herrings before. They have discussed water salination for over a decade, and only now they are coming into existence. They discussed before a second source of water from Riau Islands, what happened to that? Where are all the water conservation devices, rainfall capture system, etc.

The fact is the PAP makes money from water sales to its own citizens. An obscene amount of money. Why would they be interested in opening up another source of water supply from Indonesia, and have people demand cheaper water? Why would they put in place water conservation measures and devices to reduce the water use when they charge by the litre for you to use water. The PAP are interested in keeping water supply in a permanent scare scenario so they can justify the prices they charge the local populace. This is the ulterior motive.

IS NEW WATER SAFE FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION?

This question has never been answered satisfactory.

OR ARE THEY NOW BUILDING AND PREPARING A MEDICAL MARKET FOR ALL THE HOSPITALS THEY ARE BUILDING?

After all, MKTG 101 says, "If there is no market for your goods and services, CREATE one".

:oIo:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

That is true, no one knows the long term effect of the newater drinking. Certainly, no country in the world has such a high percentage of water recycled. Even in Cruise ships, the drinking water is not from recycled water. Recycled water is used Only for showers and bathing. the drinking water is from desalination.

so they can justify the prices they charge the local populace. This is the ulterior motive.

Lui pai tann !

our major open sources : erp, coe, gst, spore power water, gas, electricity, stamp duties....
what more can prove 'good governance' to people ...

HUAT AH !!!!

Lui pai tann !

our major open sources : erp, coe, gst, spore power water, gas, electricity, stamp duties....
what more can prove 'good governance' to people ...

HUAT AH !!!!

Water in most countries are subsidized by the govts. Except in S'pore where the govt. makes obscene profits from it. Uniquely sinkipore.