• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines ah

There is no perfect society, but we all start with ourselves - like Michael Jackson say - man in the mirror. Every star fish we pick up and throw back in the ocean makes a difference to that star fish - so next time u see someone that needs help - do help in whatever way you can :)

Re: No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines

That's not poverty you twit. That's old age. You can be a multi millionaire but when you get to your 80s, the grim reaper is always just round the corner.

Elderly couple slept on void deck for 3 days to eat free food provided by temple,

so this is the fate you envision for our elderly. *clap clap clap*

Re: No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines

Mahatma Gandhi was one day travelling on the roof of an overcrowded Indian train.

It was his wish to see how fellow Indians were faring on the sub-continent prior to the withdrawal of the British.

Along the journey, one of his slippers fall off his feet and landed on the tracks below.

After sometime, he threw the other slipper away and when asked by the people with him replied, "That one remaining slipper is of no use to me and would come handy for anyone along the tracks if he/she happen to find the pair"

So, instead of making mocking statements like that, our "brilliant and highly-schooled leaders" should emulate the example of the Indian Independence saint.

Wanna help go all out and if NOT just be direct.....

Probably our young leaders, unlike the older ones, may not have read books on philosophy and hence lack miserably in this area and expertise.

Imagine a security guard telling you that his duty is just to keep his eyes open but not to guard and protect.

Have a good week-end my dear friends.

Elderly couple slept on void deck for 3 days to eat free food provided by temple,

so this is the fate you envision for our elderly. *clap clap clap*

They were freeloaders. What else can I say. :rolleyes:

You are right on...

I recall the incident of a disgraceful grassroots / community leader who went to collect free text books for his kids.

It is happening here and even amongtheir own people.

Hear this, you foolish and senseless people,
who have eyes but do not see,
who have ears but do not hear:
(Jeremiah 5:21)

Any parallels between Fragrant Harbour and Peesai on this front?
Me thinks Sinkieland’s Gahbrament are just as if not more guilty
What’s worst is that Peesai’s Gahbrament is world’s most overpaid
Cos daft Sinkies bought into silly notion that Lightning is altruistic
Can foresee and pre-empt all sorts of problems and world’s bestest
But the truth is that Lightning does not live up to its promises
And Mister Ngiam, if Goodstadt did not back down
Why should you, bloody ball-less useless Sinkie

Bad government policy worsens poverty, says ex-adviser Goodstadt

New poverty has emerged in Hong Kong thanks to a decade and a half of bad government policies, says a former head of the Central Policy Unit.

Leo Goodstadt, head of the government's main advisory think tank from 1989 until 1997, said in a recent interview with the Post: "Hong Kong's poverty today is not caused by economic crises. Our economy [for the past 15 years] has been more robust than ever.

... ... ...

Goodstadt said the administration of the first chief executive, Tung Chee-hwa, was overwhelmed by the post-1997 political situation. As for his successor, Donald Tsang Yam-kuen, Goodstadt said: "Donald Tsang hates poor people."

He said a major problem was that the government had been structured since 1997 to run like a business, with close ties and an obvious leaning to the private sector. The current chief executive, Leung Chun-ying, had demonstrated little willingness to challenge these issues, he said.

"Unfortunately, the government is not a business. It should not be making decisions based on economic gain."

Goodstadt's book argues that Hong Kong escaped from poverty by the 1960s, but poverty had reappeared today "unexpectedly in one of the world's most stable and prosperous cities, and was allowed to intensify in the years that followed".

The mentality that "no one deserved welfare" and a fear that welfare would drain the state dry had driven government welfare policies since the colonial era, Goodstadt said.

While most advanced countries had in place by the 1950s five basic welfare programmes - workers' compensation, sickness and maternity benefits, old-age, invalidity and death support, family allowances and unemployment insurance - Hong Kong today only has workers' compensation and a retirement fund that started in 2000.

Hong Kong's new poor are not just categorised by low incomes, he writes, but are deprived in terms of housing, health, educational and welfare needs.

"Welfare has never been high on the political agenda," said Goodstadt, commenting on the government's reluctance to push long-term welfare policies.

... ... ...

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/...icy-worsens-poverty-says-ex-adviser-goodstadt

How many years can some people exist
Before they’re allowed to be free
How many times can a man turn his head
And pretend that he just doesn’t see
The video is even subtitled
For those hard of hearing

[video=youtube;Ld6fAO4idaI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ld6fAO4idaI[/video]

Bee Gees like you’ve never seen them before
And neither have I until a few minutes ago
For the impatient go straight to 0:57
How many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry … … …

[video=youtube;AjbVNNXjOzk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjbVNNXjOzk[/video]

Bee Gees like you’ve never seen them before
And neither have I until a few minutes ago
For the impatient go straight to 0:57
How many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry … … …

This is survival of the fittest
This is do or die
This is the winner takes it all
So take it all

[Verse 1]
Wasn't ready to be no millionaire, I was ill-prepared
I was prepared to be ill though, the skill was there
From the beginning, it wasn't 'bout the ends
It was 'bout busting raps and standing for something, fuck an acronym
Cut the fucking act like you're happy, I'm fucking back again
With another anthem, why stop when it doesn't have to end?
It ain't over 'til I say it's over – enough when I say enough
Throw me to them wolves and close the gate up
I'm afraid of what'll happen to them wolves
When the thought of being thrown into an alligator pit, I salivate at it
Wait is up, hands up like it's 12 noon, nah, homie
Hold them bitches straighter up, wave 'em 'til you dislocate a rotator cuff
Came up rough, came to ruffle feathers, nah, egos
I ain't deflate enough, last chance to make this whole stadium erupt

[Hook]

[Verse 2]
I can see the finish line with each line that I finish
I'm so close to my goals I can almost pole vault over the goal post
And if I don't got enough in the tank, maybe I can just siphon enough
To fill up this last can, man will I survive in this climate or what?
They said I was washed up, and got a blood bath
I'm not a rapper, I'm an adapter, I can adjust
Plus I can just walk up to a mic and just bust
So floor's open if you'd like to discuss
Top 5 in this mothafucka and if I don't make the cut
What, like I give a fuck, I'mma light this bitch up like I'm driving a truck
To the side of a pump, 0 to 60 hop in and gun it
Like G-Unit without the hyphen, I'm hyping em up
And if there should ever come a time where my life's in a rut
And I look like I might just give up, eh you might've mistook
Me for bowing out I ain't taking a bow, I'm stabbing myself
With a fucking knife in the gut, while I'm wiping my butt!
Cause I just shitted on the mic, and I like getting cut
I get excited at the sight of my blood, you're in a fight with a nut
Cause I'mma fight 'til I die or win
Biting the dust it'll just make me angrier, wait
Let me remind you of what got me this far, picture me quitting
Now draw a circle around it and put a line through it, slut
It's survival of what?

[Hook]

[Verse 3]
So get your ideas, stack your ammo
But don't come unless you come to battle, I'm mad now jump in the saddle
This is it, it's what you eat, sleep, piss and shit
Live, breathe, your whole existence just consists of this
Refuse to quit, fuse is lit, can't de-fuse the wick
I don't do this music shit, I lose my shit
Ain't got shit to lose, it's the moment of truth
It's all I know how to do, as soon as I get thrown in the booth, I spit
But my respect is overdue, I'm showing you the flow no one do
Cause I don't own no diploma for school, I quit!
So there's nothing for me to fall back on, I know no other trades
So you'd better trade your fucking mics in for some tool-box-es
Cause you'll never take my pride from me
It'll have to be pried from me, so pull out your pliers and your screwdrivers
But I want you to doubt me, I don't want you to buh-lieve
Cause this is something that I must use to suc-ceed
And if you don't like me then fuck you!
Self es-teem must be fucking shooting through-the-roof cause trust me
My skin is too thick and bul-let proof to touch me
I can see why the fuck I disgust you
I must be a-llergic to failure cause everytime I come close to it
I just sneeze, but I just go atchoo then achieve!

[video=youtube;NlmezywdxPI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlmezywdxPI[/video]

This is survival of the fittest
This is do or die
This is the winner takes it all
So take it all

YAWN!

All I needed was confirmation of my gut instinct that you are Kopi Fart or clone or teammate or some hypocrite.

I got the information I needed. Ciao Amigos!

[video=youtube;vWwgrjjIMXA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWwgrjjIMXA[/video]

"Let us take a patriot, where we can meet him; and, that we may not flatter ourselves by false appearances, distinguish those marks which are certain, from those which may deceive; for a man may have the external appearance of a patriot, without the constituent qualities; as false coins have often lustre, though they want weight." - Samuel Johnson

My dear BryanLim the lustre of your post #6 was lost
By the time you got to post #51
Appearing to hold mutually contradictory beliefs simultaneously
Is sure indicator of a false patriot

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?163296-Old-Fart-Unable-to-Stand-Liao&p=1683848#post1683848

"Let us take a patriot, where we can meet him; and, that we may not flatter ourselves by false appearances, distinguish those marks which are certain, from those which may deceive; for a man may have the external appearance of a patriot, without the constituent qualities; as false coins have often lustre, though they want weight." - Samuel Johnson

My dear BryanLim the lustre of your post #6 was lost
By the time you got to post #51
Appearing to hold mutually contradictory beliefs simultaneously
Is sure indicator of a false patriot

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?163296-Old-Fart-Unable-to-Stand-Liao&p=1683848#post1683848

i see no conflict in #6 and #51.

but sir, you are good, sometimes too good for your own good.

i would prefer to not talk in doublespeak; unleash your most terrible weapon: Occam's Razor.

That's not poverty you twit. That's old age. You can be a multi millionaire but when you get to your 80s, the grim reaper is always just round the corner.

Old age, sickness, disability are frequent factors of poverty, not just laziness. One can be old, poor and sicked at the same time. Her death is clearly not due to old age alone, it happened right after her being exposed to the elements of sleeping on the void deck for three days. If not real destitute, who in the right mind want to sleep on void deck for three days, especially someone who is old and wheel chair bound?

Exposed to the elements???? :eek: She wasn't stuck in Siberia, the OZ outback or the Sahara Desert!!!! :rolleyes:

Singapore is a tropical country. The min temp at night is 28 degC. There's hardly any wind. There are no poisonous snakes or deadly spiders out to get you.

I've never heard such a sorry excuse for dying in all my life.

Exposed to the elements???? :eek: She wasn't stuck in Siberia, the OZ outback or the Sahara Desert!!!! :rolleyes:

Singapore is a tropical country. The min temp at night is 28 degC. There's hardly any wind. There are no poisonous snakes or deadly spiders out to get you.

I've never heard such a sorry excuse for dying in all my life.

SG no rain and no wind? Read carefully, the husband said she was caught in the rain and fainted..

You're not going to die from being caught in the rain in a bloody hot, humid island with a humidity of 99% all year round. :rolleyes:

Anyone who dies from that was probably 98% dead already.

You're not going to die from being caught in the rain in a bloody hot, humid island with a humidity of 99% all year round. :rolleyes:

Anyone who dies from that was probably 98% dead already.

What 98%? Might as well say anyone who is 81 year old is 81% dead. There is something call trigger, who knows the rain or whatever related to sleeping in the open maybe an important trigger?

Anything can trigger death if you're already more than halfway there. A sneeze, a head cold, a fall etc.

This has nothing to do with poverty. It's about a frail old lady who was ready to meet her maker.

Only the scum anti PAP brigade would try to turn it into a political issue.