• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New gilbert goh sob story! Single mum with 16 year-old son stayed in police lock-up for 10-hours for not paying accumulated S&CC bills of $2150

TerrexLee

Felt shocked to realise that a single mum with a school-going 16-year-old son was arrested at her office for not paying accumulated S & CC bills of $2150. She stayed in the police lock-up for close to ten hours before being release.

The S & CC fees were unpaid for 18 months since April 2018.

I told her that she is fortunate they didn’t put her in jail outright. Prolonged non-payment of S & CC bills can land a person in jail here and she still has to pay up the default after the prison discharge. It’s probable that the single mum may have ignored numerous court orders triggering a warrant of arrest as a result.

Out of the total default owed, a massive 40% or $937 went to other miscellaneous costs such as penalty charge $310 and legal fee $627. The town council is willing to waive the penalty fee of $310 but not the legal charge.

The single mum, who is working as a promoter with a monthly salary of $1000 plus, told me that each time she couldn’t pay the monthly installment of $159, the town council will send in a legal reminder which costs about $200 – further aggravating the S & CC default. It’s akin to paying a loan shark but this time it’s a legalised one.
With such atrociously high legal charges levied on errant defaulters, the law firm representing the town council must have racked in tens of thousands of dollars each month on legal fees alone.

Moreover, besides paying the monthly installment of $159 for the default owed, she has to cough up another $78.50 for fresh monthly payment for S & CC charges. This is on top of the many other bills Singaporeans are currently paying.

Our town council sinking fund has reached close to $2 billion and some estate has pooled resources to derive benefit from economy of scale but none of the savings have being passed to the residents so far. Residents also are rather clueless as to how the town council uses the S & CC fees collected which could run into millions for each estate per month.

We also realized that in the past, some town councils used the excess sinking funds to dabble in risky financial investments but they have now stopped.
As for the single mum’s financial trouble, I asked her why she didn’t rent out one of her room to alleviate the situation – she told me that she is uncomfortable living with strangers under the same household.

The small single-parent family does not receive any maintenance from the ex- husband and the mum is working 12-hour shift for seven days a week trying to keep up with all her bills especially the S & CC one which may invite a jail sentence if not properly paid.

1579503287126.png

There's a night court where those who cannot pay SC Bills are charged and jailed. Wonder if this practice is still ongoing?

That's why you see a lot of single mothers on dating sites. Some tell you up front that they are single mothers and they want a man who doesn't mind. Others are more deceptive and state that they have 'no children' in their profile. :biggrin:

Not paying council rates is a criminal offence n not commercial crime? So town councils got the cops at their back and call?

That's why you see a lot of single mothers on dating sites. Some tell you up front that they are single mothers and they want a man who doesn't mind. Others are more deceptive and state that they have 'no children' in their profile. :biggrin:
KNN singles mum mostly have very low expectations KNN got cock just park liao first cock come first serve KNN

There's a night court where those who cannot pay SC Bills are charged and jailed. Wonder if this practice is still ongoing?
Night court won’t jail you. Just to scare you.
Night court 26N will kick you to day court 14 and that’s where you will be jailed usually for a day or two. Take note after jail release still need to pay outstanding.....it’s not jail in default like fines

Note the law firms acting for town councils are all leegime connected. It’s a very profitable venture

YOU F$#$^$ her, you have to pay & carry her financial burden...you think, this is love?

Bastard pap gov is treating daft Singaporeans like cash cows while spending millions on foreigners and billions on bad investments overseas.

Fuck the Bastards hoching and lee hsien loong, karma shall be quick and swift for these traitors.

Its really a very personal choice to become a single mum for whatever reasons...dont think it is fair to place the burden on society...moreover as in the good old days the kids can be given up for sale or adoption...

His bloody website is still not working.

government adding burden to the ppl...should be a civil case,not go to jail,ppl owe ppl $$ never go to jail but if u owe government $$.u will definitely go to jail.what a shitty law

In Sg it’s better to owe money to loan sharks rather than owe pap.

How about licensed moneylenders? Sinkieland was swamped with many of them when the first casino opened for business in 2010. :biggrin:
Licensed Moneylenders was just a loophole invented by pap to get around loanshark problems. Its also a way for pap cronies to legalised their loanshark operations. Dun forget who pap crasslooter chairman is head of legal moneylenders

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/ka...is-a-moneylender-is-he-a-pap-big-shot.181490/

https://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/grassroots-david-poh-moneylender’s-association-president

Police say they don get involved with business and debts.how come they are involved in this???

KNN can this single mum bitch stop disturbing Gilbert Goh and let him rest!

18DF07B2-3AE4-48F5-8C44-2F246BD69DFC.jpeg
5263F9CA-F995-4BE5-9D10-F682242F23F7.jpeg
3662F8CF-0CBE-49AB-8150-003FAFB9B4F6.gif