• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New flats to stay affordable

MarrickG

front-jahouse27.jpg

WHILE the Government will keep the prices of new Housing Board flats in check, it has less control over prices in the resale market.

This state of affairs was highlighted by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Tuesday night when he commented for the first time on what has been one of the hottest topics of discussion.

Speaking at a gala dinner to mark the HDB's 50th anniversary, Mr Lee stressed the Government was committed to keeping HDB flats affordable and that its new flats are priced within the means of the vast majority of Singaporeans.

On top of that, it would also build enough new flats to cater to demand as the population grows. In fact, to cap its 50th year, the HDB will build its one millionth flat this year.

However, the Government does not have control over the prices of resale flats, he said.

His explanation: 'These resale prices are set by individual households who transact flats on a willing buyer, willing seller basis, and are affected by movements and sentiments in the wider economy, including the private property market.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_482649.html

front-jahouse27.jpg

WHILE the Government will keep the prices of new Housing Board flats in check, it has less control over prices in the resale market.

This state of affairs was highlighted by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Tuesday night when he commented for the first time on what has been one of the hottest topics of discussion.

Speaking at a gala dinner to mark the HDB's 50th anniversary, Mr Lee stressed the Government was committed to keeping HDB flats affordable and that its new flats are priced within the means of the vast majority of Singaporeans.

On top of that, it would also build enough new flats to cater to demand as the population grows. In fact, to cap its 50th year, the HDB will build its one millionth flat this year.

However, the Government does not have control over the prices of resale flats, he said.

His explanation: 'These resale prices are set by individual households who transact flats on a willing buyer, willing seller basis, and are affected by movements and sentiments in the wider economy, including the private property market.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_482649.html

Gay Loong is such a cocksucker, all homo sperms have gone to his head. The resale price is definitely set by the HDB and not by individual households. For example, if the HDB sold a new flat for its real cost of $100,000, do you think the resale market will command such high prices? People will line up to buy the new flats at $100K, rather than pay $500K for a resale, no matter how far away the estate is. By the way, the HDB has already build 990K plus flats as of last year, so reaching its goal of 1 million this year is not a big fuck. He has failed to explain why HDB build only 2700 new units in 2008, dispite rapid population increase created by False Talents.

Affordable? Sure, just reduce the size further and extend the repayment period. I dun think need a scholar to know this.

cheekenpie

Affordable? Sure, just reduce the size further and extend the repayment period. I dun think need a scholar to know this.

Smaller units is the present solution but i foresee in the future the government has 2 tricks up their sleeve.

1) Enact more stringent CPF use limitations (e.g. can only use a percentage of your OA to pay for house)

2) Reduce the standard lease from 99 yr to 30 yrs (renewable at a fee every 30 yrs)

Internet Brigade

Gay Loong is such a cocksucker, all homo sperms have gone to his head. The resale price is definitely set by the HDB and not by individual households. For example, if the HDB sold a new flat for its real cost of $100,000, do you think the resale market will command such high prices? People will line up to buy the new flats at $100K, rather than pay $500K for a resale, no matter how far away the estate is. By the way, the HDB has already build 990K plus flats as of last year, so reaching its goal of 1 million this year is not a big fuck. He has failed to explain why HDB build only 2700 new units in 2008, dispite rapid population increase created by False Talents.

Having an indirect influence and having control are two very different concepts and realities.

Price of new flats do become the defacto benchmark for the area but it is demand and supply that results in price fluctuation.

Other instuments that influence prices is interest rates, housing supplies, investments in developing areas, transportation ...etc

FT have to resort to buying HDBs because greedy speculators (a good percentage of whom are singaporeans) make owning or renting a private condo untenable.

If you ban FTs from buying resale flats, you are basically limiting them to private developments. This will inturn prop up expectations and prices in that market. Then Singaporeans will complain private condos out of reach..... endless

oli9

Having an indirect influence and having control are two very different concepts and realities.

Price of new flats do become the defacto benchmark for the area but it is demand and supply that results in price fluctuation.

Other instuments that influence prices is interest rates, housing supplies, investments in developing areas, transportation ...etc

FT have to resort to buying HDBs because greedy speculators (a good percentage of whom are singaporeans) make owning or renting a private condo untenable.

If you ban FTs from buying resale flats, you are basically limiting them to private developments. This will inturn prop up expectations and prices in that market. Then Singaporeans will complain private condos out of reach..... endless

If you RESTRICT FTs, this problem wont even occur in the 1st place. Who's to blame now? Sporeans greediness or Govt's careless foresight?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
30years mortgage with 30% of your salary as payment is NOT affordability but Enslavement!

Goh Meng Seng

Internet Brigade

u PAP scholar or graduate from kachang puteh uni:confused:

that guy wanna say restrict FT from coming here in the 1st place lah.. like that also u no understand.. chey:biggrin:

And you conveniently forget your roots as an FT.

Immigration in this globalised world is what makes things tick. It is an ingredient in world trade, something we are heavily dependent upon.

Please travel outside of Singapore to see the state of public housing elsewhere.

So you want use to close our borders? Kick out MNCs?

PAP dog,

ppl tell u dun anyhow welcome low quality fake FT, u say close border.. can u dun quote the extreme:confused: nobody say anything about closing border..

ppl say public housing can be better priced, u say go look at 3rd world countries' public housing.. like that why dun i say go look at how much obama is earning..:mad:

oli9

So which PR scheme needs adjustment. Let me hear your views.

Sorry. My views are too radical for the govt to swallow. Its the million dollar ministers job to balance the FTs intake & the anger of the locals.
If I can do their job, we wont be needing these ministers right?

Internet Brigade

Sorry. My views are too radical for the govt to swallow. Its the million dollar ministers job to balance the FTs intake & the anger of the locals.
If I can do their job, we wont be needing these ministers right?

Dont be shy. Give one suggestion.

oli9

yalor no need shy lah..

i know of some aunty who lose billions and still thick-skin go take some ntuc awards..:biggrin:

Give you guys a hint. Restrict immigrants by profession. We dont need 10,000 FT bankers in Spore do we? Nor do we need 10,000 Indian IT programmers. Same goes for menial work. Give the locals a chance to compete with the generally useless FTs. Pay should not take precedent in appointing an individual for a specific vocation. Skill, the ability to converse locally & adapatibility are factors, hugely overlooked.
Local produce are sub standard? NUS & NTU dished out sub standard graduates ah?