• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Netizens continue to whack George Yeo

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Netizens continue to whack George Yeo</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>1:46 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27283.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Netizens continue to hurl brickbats at George Yeo despite his “apology” to molest victim

January 17, 2010 by admin01
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...rge-yeo-despite-his-apology-to-molest-victim/

Written by Our Correspondent
Despite his apology to a molest victim for his earlier curt reply on his Facebook, netizens continue to hurl brickbats at Foreign Minister George Yeo.
On 11 January 2010, a Miss Ang posted a comment on Mr Yeo’s Facebook seeking help to expedite police investigations in a pending molest case. Miss Yeo had lodged a report in November last year and had yet to receive a reply from the police.
Mr Yeo’s immediate reply was:

“Please see your MP”.
After we published the story, a massive furore was sparked in cyberspace with many netizens lambasting Mr Yeo for his lack of empathy and sensitivity. The post has since been deleted from Mr Yeo’s Facebook.
Mr Yeo subsequently apologized to Miss Ang in a private message on her Facebook:
“I must also apologize to you if my original reply on FB sounded curt. Such cases are always better handled face to face, discreetly.”
It seemed that Mr Yeo’s apology wasn’t quite enough to placate the lingering anger of some netizens.
The Patriot felt his apology lacked sincerity:
“TR, you are too kind to give credit to Mr Yeo’s apology. But apologizing and still not making immediate effort to solve Miss Ang’s problem after knowing the outcry of the public is only perpetuating his apathetic, careless and ‘you-die-is-your-business’ attitude towards we peasant Singaporeans….Does GY’s second statement sounds that he has make any effort to help Miss Ang in the form of action or advice or sounds more that ‘Pls don’t disturb me, I just came from an exotic country for holiday. I need to see my kids first.”
Wui wasn’t surprised by Mr Yeo’s initial reply at all:
“A curt reply that perhaps reflects well in reality the attitude of many members of the ruling party.”
helplesslydependent felt it is a shame that he apologized only an outcry by netizens:
“To appologise after an outcry by netizens is a Big Disappointment! What a shame.”
bullshits believed there is a political motive behind Mr Yeo’s apology:
“Alamak! all these moron PAP MPs are just doing it now cos the election is near. They are not sincere lah! That’s how this bunch of
papaya monkeys operate…..they want our votes! that is the main reason why they are so nice and humbug (ops!humble)”

While some netizens remain skeptical about Mr Yeo’s apology, others applauded him for doing so.
MV wrote:
“Guess to be fair, he did apologize, it does take a real man to do it, especially one of a public stature like his. Trust me, it does: not once have I seen an even more public Singapore figure even remotely apologetic for doing even more dastardly deeds (say, jailing opponents unjustly without trial for personal ends, and ruining their God-given lives). Talk about being a real man?? I’d like to think though, that Mr. George Yeo is a big-hearted enough man to (would have) apologize(d) upon self-reflection rather than after public pressure?”
CPT related from his own personal experience that Mr Yeo is a “good” man:
“BG George Yeo as a person is a good man. I interact with him in quite a few occasion in the those SAF days. Things might change when he enter politics and become a politician. he might not have a choice but to adapt to pap environment.”
cy hoped to see more ministers emulating Mr Yeo’s example:
“After Khaw has apologized for the KKH medical error, now we have the 2nd minister to apologize all thanks to TR, expect to see more of these cases of ministers’ apology after they are exposed on the internet, for those ministers like WKS ,yaccob, MBT,etc. who haven’t apologize for even serious mistakes than george yeo or khaw, we netizens will keep on harping until you apologize or are kicked out.”
Singapore’s leaders are not known for their humility. Few have ever bothered to apologize for their mistakes which are often blamed on the hapless Singaporeans.
When famed terrorist Mas Selamat made his outrageous escape from a detention center two years ago, MM Lee Kuan Yew put the blame on Singaporeans for being “complacent”.
The Geylang Indian Rojak mass food poisoning was blamed on the “poor hygiene habits” of Singporeans by Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan.
As for first-time home buyers who are unable to obtain a unit of their choice, they are faulted for being too “choosy” by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan.
Are Singaporeans supposed to apologize collectively to their millionaire ministers for making life “difficult” for them?
In other first world countries, ministers are regarded as no more than public servants subservient to the will of the people. It seems to be the other way round in Singapore.
Though Singaporeans are paying the salaries of their leaders, they often behave as if we owe them a living which is not surprising since there is no political pressure on them to do otherwise.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

"'Sorry' not enough.... 'Sorry' still must explain" - Geroge Yeo, May 2006

I don't see why George Yeo should apologise. He's MP in Aljunied GRC. If the complainant is resident of another constitutency, she should see her MP, that's correct advice. George Yeo is also Minister for Foreign Affairs. If the matter escalates, an allegation of molest as it is, it should fall under the purview of Home Affairs (Minister Wong Kan Seng), not Foreign Affairs.

George Yeo should be lauded for being progressive and forthcoming enough to start and maintain his blog. It shouldn't be subject to abuses like that, i.e. complainant can't go through the proper channel, just whack the available channel. Otherwise, it'd discourage other MPs and ministers to be so progressive and forthcoming.

I don't see why George Yeo should apologise. He's MP in Aljunied GRC. If the complainant is resident of another constitutency, she should see her MP, that's correct advice. George Yeo is also Minister for Foreign Affairs. If the matter escalates, an allegation of molest as it is, it should fall under the purview of Home Affairs (Minister Wong Kan Seng), not Foreign Affairs.

George Yeo should be lauded for being progressive and forthcoming enough to start and maintain his blog. It shouldn't be subject to abuses like that, i.e. complainant can't go through the proper channel, just whack the available channel. Otherwise, it'd discourage other MPs and ministers to be so progressive and forthcoming.

Fully agree on this. Why is FB being used to discuss personal matters? I thought it should be more of a chance to engage him on issues of national interest. Those issues should also be related to his portfolios as he has more control over them.

While i agree that the question/enquiry posed to GY may not be valid and he is not in a position to reply to it, he should be tactful and at least put across his reply in a polite manner. The manner in which he choose to reply show utter disrespect and also give others the impression that he is impatient and seriously, creating doubts in his sincerity in dealing with citizens.

So what even if the person is staying in areas outside his GRC or asking questions not pertaining to his area of command/expertise. Put yourself in the same situation. Would you accept a similar reply when you call up a company or approach someone to ask about something and the person simply ask you to check 'yellow pages, call operator etc and ending the conversation there and then. Bear in mind that politicians are to serve the people, the citizens and if they are impatient or at least have some empathy towards the plight of the average man, then they are not fit to be in this position.

If sinkies had real balls, they'd whack Georgie at the polling booth instead.:rolleyes:

66.6%, who gave the MAN a date..ahh!..MANDATE!, either are men without balls, or woMAN with no BALLS on the chest!:p...what do you expect..??:mad:

I am in agreement with you. Some people can't seem to differentiate between personal and societal issues. Netizens can also play a part by advising the girl to find the appropriate channel.

I am sure if GY was handling things from Singtel connection problems to HDB parking issues, we as a nation would look silly.

I don't see why George Yeo should apologise. He's MP in Aljunied GRC. .

While i agree that the question/enquiry posed to GY may not be valid and he is not in a position to reply to it, he should be tactful and at least put across his reply in a polite manner. The manner in which he choose to reply show utter disrespect and also give others the impression that he is impatient and seriously, creating doubts in his sincerity in dealing with citizens.

So what even if the person is staying in areas outside his GRC or asking questions not pertaining to his area of command/expertise. Put yourself in the same situation. Would you accept a similar reply when you call up a company or approach someone to ask about something and the person simply ask you to check 'yellow pages, call operator etc and ending the conversation there and then. Bear in mind that politicians are to serve the people, the citizens and if they are impatient or at least have some empathy towards the plight of the average man, then they are not fit to be in this position.

Are you sure you are happy that your tax dollars goes to paying him for giving long-winded, carefully worded replies on FB for everyone's personal issues? I don't think I will be happy if my minister spends all his time answering personal queries on the internet. It is a different matter if the queries pertain to national policies.

I would most definitely not pose questions on my private affairs to him on FB, not even if he is the PM or President. The only exception is if I have been wrongly convicted of some serious crime and there is no other way for me to ask for my grievance to be addressed (like what happens in ancient China and maybe still in modern China).

Georgie Yeo must be too free to set up an account for people to screw him.

Next time, if raining, i will post comment to Georgie to ask him to bring me umbrella.

Rice cooker cannot work, ask Georgie to come down and repair.

Georgie Yeo must be too free to set up an account for people to screw him.

Next time, if raining, i will post comment to Georgie to ask him to bring me umbrella.

Rice cooker cannot work, ask Georgie to come down and repair.

This is part of PAP's New Media strategy.

George Yeo and Khaw BW are the "Soft Power" representatives in PAP and obviously, they are the natural choice as their New Media PR officers.

It will not look good on us if we go in and hit them with hard rhetoric because any average human beings would be turned off by the "villains" who try to bully the nice guys.

Goh Meng Seng

George Yeo and Khaw BW are the "Soft Power" representatives in PAP and obviously, they are the natural choice as their New Media PR officers.

It will not look good on us if we go in and hit them with hard rhetoric because any average human beings would be turned off by the "villains" who try to bully the nice guys.

Goh Meng Seng

so you are the villian or the nice guy?

The public doesn't even know who Goh Meng Seng is.
thats why he come here and facebook for pr promotions. politician also need to create market awareness. Goh meng seng surf sammyboy for a long time already, just want to know how he think he is contributing to local politics climate.

Good point. After the Chee episode, the opinions swung towards GY. I am not sure if its a strategy or an individual initiative but it seems to be paying off as the PAP is notorious for not engaging the public.

Yes Scroobal. It seems that George Yeo has found a niche in his positioning.

The only way is to point out how helpless he could be when the PAP government are making some stupid policies that are affecting the people so adversely.

Goh Meng Seng