• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nahbeh why so expensive!!!

my mum 86 and i am 66...i help mummmy carry the things she buy lah.she is still very active...and agile and nimble. no need to hold her even.very steady one....she looks at the fish, she can tell good or no good...buy this buy that.this one no buy. i also learn lah...but things are getting very expensive. soon my mum said go to NTUC to buy everything from fish to vegetables! the wet market will die soon with all these cut throat prices...die soon.

You still living with your mother?, you still have not moved out? your mum still te your shoe laces, iron your shorts?:D heh heh heh heh

I think the richest market stall holders are the fishmongers!!!
many sinkies like to boy ikan kurau for their children and grandchildren - the demand make the fishmongers shoot sky high. now ikan kurau is $50 per kilo!!!!...go have a try!

My father was a fishmonger, he died penniless.

If you turn vegetarian, you will not waste much money on such junk.

If you turn vegan, you'll waste even more money on veggie junk, dollar for value. Best is to catch some stray dogs and wild birds. stew or roast them. Nuitricious and delicious. Imagine how stupid it is to go to a restaurant or even coffeeshop zicha stall to order a plate of shallow oil fried leaflets and stalks for S$10. My goodness!

today i went to a foodcourt, I ask for a teh o peng, wah lau!!! $1.40!!!! I double confirmed with that uncle and I shakes my head....

You can make teh-o peng easily at home and drink it however much anytime you like.

these guys really kicking the prices up. In a way they aggravate inflation.

I see him pour the tea less than half glass, 1 and the halfspoonful of sugar, kacau kacau, then fill it withn ice = $1.40...... sibe hor tan....

Shocking. I wonder if its the rent. Any idea who are their landlord.

Not all wet markets are equal. Some wet markets sells at higher prices due to the neighbourhood where it is located. I would consider Marine Parade wet market as selling at higher prices than say Whampoa.

yes...just like bedok markets sell stuff more expensive than the one in kaki bukit /bedok reservoir area.

Not all wet markets are equal. Some wet markets sells at higher prices due to the neighbourhood where it is located. I would consider Marine Parade wet market as selling at higher prices than say Whampoa.

yes...just like bedok markets sell stuff more expensive than the one in kaki bukit /bedok reservoir area.

I know people travel all the way to Johore for their weekly marketing as they do save a lot of money. Only problem is the distance and traveling time.

shouldnt be too inconvenient if stay in woodlands.

I know people travel all the way to Johore for their weekly marketing as they do save a lot of money. Only problem is the distance and traveling time.

Have always use Kopi-O at regular Kopi Tiam as a benchmark. How much does a cup of Kopi-O cost now in Sinking Land?

My guess is price of necessities and food items did not increase too much (Pigeonholes and cars not included) BUT Sinkees are just not earning enough. I am paying THB 43 (SGD 1.80) per litre of Benzine 91 in LOS.

If you want to squeeze 6.5 million people into a land mass of 700 Sqkm, how can you expect things to get cheaper?

Everybody gets million dollars pay increases, why can't the hawkers?

Last edited by a moderator:
Have always use Kopi-O at regular Kopi Tiam as a benchmark. How much does a cup of Kopi-O cost now in Sinking Land?

My guess is price of necessities and food items did not increase too much (Pigeonholes and cars not included) BUT Sinkees are just not earning enough. I am paying THB 43 (SGD 1.80) per litre of Benzine 91 in LOS.

The price varies..Depends on which kopitiam you go.. Some place sell it for 80 cents, 90 cents, other place even reaches the $1 mark..