• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Nahbeh why so expensive!!!

I went with my mum to market this morning. Usual stall and usual stuff. Normally, my mum would patronise the same stall.The big prawns from $20 to $28 per kilo. Today, the "friendly " fishmonger told my mum " auntie, today prawns expensive...$32 per kilo..." My mum asked, " why so expensive today?"

The fishmonger replied, " don't you know Mother's Day meh!!!"

My mum walked off.....WTF!!! Mother's Day today meh!!!! And why must increase because of Mother's Day!!! Nahbeh sinkies killing sinkies!!!!

This run away inflation must be stamped with our feet!!! Nanbeh ! Today no big prawns for dinner!!!

My favourite fish ball soup from $2...up $2.50.....then $2.80....and today $3.00....with lesser ingredients.
If you want more ingredients...$3.50 !!!! Another Mother's Day !!!!

The famous bakcho mee...$2.50...then $3.00.....and now minimum $4.00...no increase in ingredients. If you want more ingredients,it's $5 !!!!...Mother's Day Gift for you!!!!

Indian rojak...$4.50 average....now you choose here and there....$9.20!!!!....How to audit?

Satay sticks....now 60 cents per stick...smaller and less meat!!!!

You think old folks like old kopiuncle can survive this type of inflationary rate? Soon stay at home and eat porridge and salted egg and salted fish....!!!:(

Alamah! Uncle
Your salary last year 1700 this year 2100 you neber comprain

Kopiuncle, you so old still go market with your mother? How old is your mother? 90 or 100?

I went with my mum to market this morning. Usual stall and usual stuff. Normally, my mum would patronise the same stall.The big prawns from $20 to $28 per kilo. Today, the "friendly " fishmonger told my mum " auntie, today prawns expensive...$32 per kilo..." My mum asked, " why so expensive today?"

My mum walked off.....WTF!!! Mother's Day today meh!!!! And why must increase because of Mother's Day!!! Nahbeh sinkies killing sinkies!!!!

This run away inflation must be stamped with our feet!!! Nanbeh ! Today no big prawns for dinner!!!

How come your Mother's Day is today? You following Chinese calender or what?:D

How come the fishmonger is also selling food today for Mother's Day next weekend?

The stall owners went to casino and lose so today mark up price :D

Kopiuncle, you so old still go market with your mother? How old is your mother? 90 or 100?

my mum 86 and i am 66...i help mummmy carry the things she buy lah.she is still very active...and agile and nimble. no need to hold her even.very steady one....she looks at the fish, she can tell good or no good...buy this buy that.this one no buy. i also learn lah...but things are getting very expensive. soon my mum said go to NTUC to buy everything from fish to vegetables! the wet market will die soon with all these cut throat prices...die soon.

This is common practices, they always increase price near "big holiday" like chinese new year.
They will start to keep the "good seafood" around Oct/Nov in their big freezer, and sell them at a "good price" before chinese new year.
So the big prawns big fish that you eat during CNY is good but not "fresh". :p

Today, the "friendly " fishmonger told my mum " auntie, today prawns expensive...$32 per kilo..." My mum asked, " why so expensive today?"

This is common practices, they always increase price near "big holiday" like chinese new year.
They will start to keep the "good seafood" around Oct/Nov in their big freezer, and sell them at a "good price" before chinese new year.
So the big prawns big fish that you eat during CNY is good but not "fresh". :p

i agree! hari raya holidays, they say no fish!

Demand vs Supply.

I think the richest market stall holders are the fishmongers!!!
many sinkies like to boy ikan kurau for their children and grandchildren - the demand make the fishmongers shoot sky high. now ikan kurau is $50 per kilo!!!!...go have a try!

kopiuncle, Relax! All these will end one day! Trust me! Confirmed! The day will come!

The day when we go sell salted duck egg.:D

golden age. swiss standard of living. green green home.world class standard. everything first and world class.

i look around and what did i see? even my pedestrain paths are over-run with reckless FT cyclists...the bus stops are filled with them all hungry looking....my trips in mrt are getting nightmarish.....i see less and less of my own people....what the hell man....

Who the hell wants Swiss standard of living or eating, please migrate to Switzerland. In Singapore, it's chicken rice, duck rice, char kway teow, kway chap, bak chor mee etc. The problem is not Swiss standard of living or eating. The problem is trying to raise prices for food that are fundamentally inexpensive for the benefit of the aristocrats, bureaucrats and technocrats. Since when Singaporeans demanded expensive sushi, sashimi, steak etc. as a matter of sustenance staple?

1. ram, good observation, bro!
2. aiyoh! may not be his mummy mah.
3. possible gf hoh.
4. let pray that it is not some prc mei mei with kopiuncle!

If you turn vegetarian, you will not waste much money on such junk.

Tonychat, if you are a vegetarian because of religion, then I think is no point unless you kick your whoring habit first!