• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MY LUNCH/DINNER/BREAKFAST/SNACK/SUPPER Thread for sharing your meals/food/cooking

Charlie99

We were at Earls

I just checked The Keg 8 oz is $38
I usually buy AAA strip loin or AAA certified Angus strip loin.
Before COViD, when it is on sale at Sobeys or Longo's, at about $10 to $12 a pound.
But since about 6 months ago, it has increased to $12 to $15 a pound.
This evening, I will bbq veal chops, as it was on sale for $7 a pound.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I usually buy AAA strip loin or AAA certified Angus strip loin.
Before COViD, when it is on sale at Sobeys or Longo's, at about $10 to $12 a pound.
But since about 6 months ago, it has increased to $12 to $15 a pound.
This evening, I am bbq veal chops, as it was on sale for $7 a pound.
Yes usually I buy and grill at home.

We went for hike with friends to Rawson Lake. My son wanted to eat steak for dinner after the hike. So I gave everyone a treat at Earls.

But my 14 year old son now understands how expensive steaks are in restaurants. Even 9 oz so tiny.

at killiney kopitiam this morning for makan. teh c and kaya toast.
6D1AECB3-D291-4A01-A88B-470D01257076.jpeg

CF6A3A5A-4E67-4EE8-8E8A-C3D908C0B0D7.jpeg

Charlie99

Yes usually I buy and grill at home.

We went for hike with friends to Rawson Lake. My son wanted to eat steak for dinner after the hike. So I gave everyone a treat at Earls.

But my 14 year old son now understands how expensive steaks are in restaurants. Even 9 oz so tiny.
Once in a while, it is good to go for a good steak at a steak house.
In Toronto, it could be at Hys, Barberian, Harbour 60, Canyon Creek, The Keg.
$35 and up, but most of it are at least $60 for a NY strip loin steak.
Hys, 10 oz strip loin $60
Barberians, 12 oz $72
Harbour 60, 14 oz $102
Canyon Creek, 12 oz $40
Ruth Chris, 16 oz $74

Edited at 1400 hours, Aug 8, 2021, re prices

nayr69sg

Staff member
Once in a while, it is good to go for a good steak at a steak house.
In Toronto, it could be at Hys, Barberian, Harbour 60, Canyon Creek, The Keg.
$35:and up, but most of those prices it at at least $60
I should have gone to Cattle Baron Steakhouse or Chairman's Steakhouse instead.

Thought going to Earls would be cheaper. Guess it wasnt that much cheaper.

Another time.

We hardly go to steakhouses since we can easily grill our own.

nayr69sg

Staff member
While there are many steakhouses in Calgary I do find them expensive to go to for a simple Sirloin Steak. Usually sets you back around $30

So BBQ at home is the way to go

Get them from Costco. Usually if it is less than $20/kg for Sirloin Steaks should be ok. If can get below $15/kg would be good deal.

Steak 1.jpg

@Asychee taught me this method of seasoning the meats. He said he learnt it from another friend who was a chef. Sprinkle the seasoning on a plate till it covers the plate.

Steak 2.jpg

Then put the meat on the plate. The seasoning will stick to the surface and be an even coating on it. Whereas with trying to sprinkle on the meat itself with the seasoning bottle you might get uneven spread.

Steak 3.jpg

Flip the meat and do the same (top up the plate with the seasoning before doing the other side)

Steak 4.jpg

Preheat BBQ to about 450 degrees F

Steak 5.jpg

Steak 6.jpg

I use the Cookina BBQ mats to save myself having to clean the grills. I like my BBQ clean. However this also means I dont get those grill lines on the steaks. But oh well unless it is a real party with lots of people and need to impress then forget it lah.

Steak 7.jpg

I find that cooking times vary depending on your actual BBQ grill. Also if it is propane tank or gas line. Mine is gas line. Gas line is less powerful I feel.

So adjust accordingly. For me I tend to do 2 min per flip. Flip 4 times. There is a way to turn it so that in a perfect world the grill lines on the steak will be nicely crossed. But yeah 2 min x 4 flips total 2 min. If the steak thickness is about 1 inch. Oh and close the cover after each flip. Keeps the heat in. Oh the 2 min x 4 is for medium rare. I am not that skilled to feel the meat how soft or hard to tell. I go by time. Sometimes if the steak is too hard or I took out too late from fridge still cold then may be more on rare side.
Steak 8.jpg

Steak 9.jpg

Steak 10.jpg

Enjoy!

Charlie99

I also use stainless steel bbq.
A Napoleon natural gas model, which replaced my Napoleon stainless steel propane model
There is a side burner to sear the steak, but I have not used it.
I wait till the temperature is about 500 degrees.
Earlier, I bbq some veal chops, cut like a tomahawk steak. Very juicy. Excellent value at $8 a pound, on sale at Metro.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I also use stainless steel bbq.
A Napoleon natural gas model, which replaced my Napoleon stainless steel propane model
There is side burner to search the steak, but I have not used it.
I want till the temperature is about 500 degrees.
Earlier, I bbq some veal chops, cut like a tomahawk steak. Very juicy. Excellent value at $8 a pound, in sale at Metro.

Any photos? Share some photos next time :biggrin:

They have big cocks, that matters for some big hole sluts.
You self admitted JEREMY QUEK @glockman clone ASIAN TURTLE SON OF WHORE hiding in rat hole act garang scam my family good name Knnbccb. Go to my facebook to scam my GOOD name to churn evil filthy lies of me a virgin as a fake virgin and dirty toilet bowl cheap cock sucker slut whore mistress and a dirty whore with millions of Indian customers and gula Melaka nipples and to harass me with porn photos AND TO ISSUE VIOLENT THREATS to win ok you dirty coward criminal?