• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My iku-iku

it's up to kids to rebel.
I totally agree with this, which is why I've also rebelled against my parents in my own special way.

you can't dictate how sinkie parents live their fantasies. soixante-neuf.
I also agree that I have no ability and authority to dictate how anybody (whether parent or not) lives their lives, since I'm not God.

it's fine for parents to dream.
But I don't agree that it's fine for parents to fantasize as long as they are serious about their fantasies, simply because it's such fantasies that motivates them to enslave/oppress their own children, so how can that be "fine"? :confused:

"Living their fantasies" is the effect.
"Fantasizing" is the cause.
Can an effect happen without a cause? ;)

But I don't agree that it's fine for parents to fantasize as long as they are serious about their fantasies, simply because it's such fantasies that motivates them to enslave/oppress their own children, so how can that be "fine"? :confused:

"Living their fantasies" is the effect.
"Fantasizing" is the cause.
Can an effect happen without a cause? ;)

it's fully explainable by the sinkie parents syndrome illustrated below.

image.jpg

it's fully explainable by the sinkie parents syndrome illustrated below.
Those illustrations are the results of certain kinds of fantasies that are not so bad.

Whereas the same can't be said for the fantasy of seriously wanting their children to "one day grow up to top the emperor's scholar exam and reverse their pitiful peasant existence", simply because it's the direct cause of "egging on among parents at such early age without the kid's full cognition", which you also agree to be bad or selfish since you said that it "borders on hubris".

When parents put such fantasies into practice, they hurt their children, right?

By the way, this "sinkie parents syndrome" is not limited to sinkie parents; it's prevalent in Japan and other East Asian countries as well:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Kyoiku_mama
wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiger_mother

Those illustrations are the results of certain kinds of fantasies that are not so bad.

Whereas the same can't be said for the fantasy of seriously wanting their children to "one day grow up to top the emperor's scholar exam and reverse their pitiful peasant existence", simply because it's the direct cause of "egging on among parents at such early age without the kid's full cognition", which you also agree to be bad or selfish since you said that it "borders on hubris".

When parents put such fantasies into practice, they hurt their children, right?

By the way, this "sinkie parents syndrome" is not limited to sinkie parents; it's prevalent in Japan and other East Asian countries as well:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Kyoiku_mama
wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiger_mother

it's a 5000-year old cultural phenomenon that is hard to eradicate, although i find it appalling. the fact that chinese place such family importance in sending their kids to the top universities in english-speaking countries at any cost is testament to the powerful psyche of this phenomenon; and if the placement and admission comes with a prestigious scholarship, it's more than striking the jackpot in lottery. it's a confucian reality you can't ignore. koreans are equally guilty, and japs are stymied in pursuit of ivy league schools due mainly to language. these schools plus top schools in california are now dominated by tiongs due to sheer numbers. even the commies find it tough to shake off their confucian roots. the sight of a "jiong wan" in a red robe and a funny hat with long ears carrying the emperor's edict coming home to the village is still alive in the confucian asian mindset, whether it's sinkie, tiong, taiwanese, hongkie, jap or gook.

higher mortal vs. lesser mortals....大人 vs. 小人 :p

image.jpg

it's a 5000-year old cultural phenomenon that is hard to eradicate
I totally agree that it's highly unlikey that it will ever be eradicated.

i find it appalling.
Thanks for agreeing. :)
Which means you finally admit that such fantasies are no longer "fine", right? ;)

I agree that some fantasies are fine, while others are not.
And even those not-so-fine fantasies are still tolerable as long as people just fantasize for fun and refrain from putting them into practice, which might require some effort to resist the temptation...

higher mortal vs. lesser mortals....大人 vs. 小人 :p
Yes, I'm aware of that cultural phenomenon; but unfortunately, most of those "大人" tend to be hypocrites, so both "大人" and "小人" are in the wrong.

The only "大人" I admire is:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Laozi
who "grew weary of the moral decay of life in Chengzhou and noted the kingdom's decline. He ventured west to live as a hermit in the unsettled frontier at the age of 80."

But I'm not a Taoist because I don't worship Laozi as some kind of "god".
As I've said before:
sammyboy.com/showthread.php?225407-Breaking-News-who-is-scroobal&p=2389283#post2389283
I am anti-government because I believe any kind of government is intrinsically evil or at least deludedly (not maliciously) hypocritical:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_anarchism
http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/John-18-36
("Jesus answered, My kingdom is not of this world: if my kingdom were of this world, then would my servants fight, that I should not be delivered to the Jews: but now is my kingdom not from hence.")
opening paragraph of the above-mentioned wiki article:

"Christian anarchism is a movement in political theology that claims anarchism is inherent in Christianity and the Gospels. It is grounded in the belief that there is only one source of authority to which Christians are ultimately answerable, the authority of God as embodied in the teachings of Jesus, and thus rejects the idea that human governments have ultimate authority over human societies. Christian anarchists denounce the state as they claim it is violent, deceitful and, when glorified, idolatrous."

good morning sister. an article just came up on huffpost and i thought it would be relevant to your iku-iku on the sg parenting scene.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bill-murphy-jr/want-to-raise-successful_b_9431380.html?
it's true. there's too much "helicopter parenting" these days, especially among the well-to-do. if sinkie parents have been committing the same error, it means they are living the well-to-do lifestyle with an emphasis on spoiling and expecting much from their kids for a successful future, even if all signs point a different direction. it's positive-thinking and day-dreaming at its finest, thanks to 5000 years of cultural inculcation that their children will one day grow up to top the emperor's scholar exam and reverse their pitiful peasant existence. i won't fault them, as they are allowed to dream and imagine, but the egging on among parents at such early age without the kid's full cognition borders on hubris. meanwhile, i'm starting my shift and wonder what if i were more attentive in school and strove to become a scholar and land a gov job paying millions instead of playing with spiders and throwing stink bombs at crushes. arghh! that thought causes me to shudder with disgust. i'd rather sip my kopi, sit behind the keyboard and while away the time being a lowly jaga. ;)
by the way, when it involves sinkie parenting, it's mostly ku-ci ku-ci ku. :p
Good morning Eat :)

I read your post in a cab on the way back to home, late last night. :)

I also had a quick browse of the forum on the train to work, just now.

Gosh, the amount of litter in this thread and the forum is mind-boggling. After a quick browse, I simply surrendered and started on my CNN, AP, BBC and Reuter’s apps where there are sanity. Even the Asiaone and CNA’s apps are more readable, despite its usual state funded propagandas.

This forum now reminds me of an old movie, Independence Day, where the Fourth of July celebrations were disrupted by a horde of aliens who have landed on earth, bent on annihilating the freedom that we all enjoy. Perhaps I should just give this place a break, given the aplenty lawlessness and senselessness here.

I had merely started a thread (yesterday evening) to "release" some stress at work. Aside from you and Ru who have nailed the crux ∼ on the importance of inculcating proper values to children ∼ the rest spurted malodorous discharge, worthy only of incineration, at Tuas incarnation plant.

Also, it appears to me, these yobs can't even compose a post, in a proper manner without resorting to raunchy sex discussions or lewd innuendos, impertinent vulgarities and improprieties. No names mentioned, you can see these ill-bred “kids” for yourself. They are all here. They seem to have grown up (now), wrecking everything that comes along in this Forum.

I have enjoyed this Forum, and it has been a great intellectual habitation, an outlet for me to write my pieces, for close to 6 months now. It’s sad to see such destructive and caustic forces, ripping everything down in its path, like the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan. Five years on, we seem to have the same “catastrophic” seismic activity, right here.

Back to more pleasant stuff as it is TGIF. Re : your post. I am glad I did not turn out like the kids which the Huff article talks about. Thankfully, my parents did not mollycoddle me. I guess I have been “lucky” not to experience “helicopter parenting”, as you have rightfully pointed out.

By the way, Sue did say (last night) that if you are as fluent and expressive in speech (like the way you pen your posts), she is interested in you. She says age and looks are secondary criterion for her. Haha :) Ignore her, I told her you're mine! (Ooops, just pulling your leg) :)

Another weekend with my swine from this evening. I need to "strategize" a way to forgive him. Otherwise, I am pretty certain that he will use your suggested "ku-chi ku-chi ku" method, causing me to have an iku-iku, and I will be "defeated" by him again. That swine is a shrewd bastard.

Have a splendid Friday, elder brother Eat. :)

Another weekend with my swine from this evening. I need to "strategize" a way to forgive him.
..iku-iku, and I will be "defeated" by him again. That swine is a shrewd bastard.
You buzzed off in a huff, and will succumb to his wiles (guile):p. Oh, new linguistic skill on iku2;)

Psst to Sue... Eat is a philanderer, he's spoilt for choices ...no less with blubber of gf lately :eek:

Another weekend with my swine from this evening. I need to "strategize" a way to forgive him. Otherwise, I am pretty certain that he will use your suggested "ku-chi ku-chi ku" method, causing me to have an iku-iku, and I will be "defeated" by him again. That swine is a shrewd bastard.

Have a splendid Friday, elder brother Eat. :)

Nabey. Today no story to read. Knn. :oIo:

claire, where u?

She is handling her swine. :D

I thought I will write about iku-iku.

My iku-iku is multifaceted and has various dimensional spheres.
Ciao. Have a great evening to all :)[/QUOT

You can take John Tan's iku iku and shove it into your unwashed piku.

no chance lah...lol...:D
i teeko her so long, can tell from all her thread her top3 order of su ka of members here lah...lol

1. eatshitndie
2. charlie
3. john tan

all other teekos no chance lah cos cannot write well like me. we all ah beng kia, where got fight :D lol.
Claire is female or male or both.
Rojak transgender.

no chance lah...lol...:D
i teeko her so long, can tell from all her thread her top3 order of su ka of members here lah...lol

1. eatshitndie
2. charlie
3. john tan

all other teekos no chance lah cos cannot write well like me. we all ah beng kia, where got fight :D lol.

show her your tongue!