• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My foreign co-workers unhappy when I hired Singaporean

Recently I created a new position because I need an admin assistant and my employer also has enough S-Pass quoto. After interviewing 3 foreigners (2 pinos & 1 PRC), I found that they are unwillingly to some run errand works been assigned to this position and also the budgeted salary that I can offer them $2,500 a month... they find it too low and their expected are $3,500 a month :eek:

So I hired a young Singaporean fresh graduate from Polytechnic instead. The salary been offered only $1,900 a month :p

The unqualified (no uni degree) PRC Engineers in my company were unhappy as to why I took in a fresh poly grad instead of a experience foreigners (preferably PRC). I am not too bother to explain things to such people :rolleyes:

I must say nowadays foreign hiring managers tend to hire their own people and younger Singaporeans will suffer in coming years :(

i would say yr situation is rather unusual. new local employee having better attitude and no problem with OT yet lower pay as compared to FT.

u are fortunate. treat the new employee well.

Recently I created a new position because I need an admin assistant ...

So I hired a young Singaporean fresh graduate from Polytechnic instead. The salary been offered only $1,900 a month :p

The unqualified (no uni degree) PRC Engineers in my company were unhappy as to why I took in a fresh poly grad instead of a experience foreigners (preferably PRC). I am not too bother to explain things to such people :rolleyes: ...
u r ze boss of ze new staff ... ur new staff is going 2 wok 4 u, not dem ...

tel dem 2 stfu! ... :mad:

i would say yr situation is rather unusual. new local employee having better attitude and no problem with OT yet lower pay as compared to FT.

u are fortunate. treat the new employee well.

Ya .. I would like to share that I look for younger Singaporeans are hungry and also willing to work overtimes. Not all Singaporeans are fussy and the same can be said on these foreigners too.

OT rates is 1.5 times per hour on weekdays evening and Saturday.
OT rates are 2 times per hour on Sunday.

I am not bothered if PRC people made such comments that I only hire Singaporeans :mad:

Fair opportunities for everyone :p

Ya .. I would like to share that I look for younger Singaporeans are hungry and also willing to work overtimes.

OT rates is 1.5 times per hour on weekdays evening and Saturday.

OT rates are 2 times per hour on Sunday.

I am not bothered if PRC people made such comments that I only hire Singaporeans :mad:

Fair opportunities for everyone :p

just a point to share...sometimes a local will job hop as compared to a FT (being tied down for 2 years). its frustrating to train someone up then see him joining another company.

I met one ah neh regional manager of a medicine company. He said he tends to hire his indians colleages because he can work well LoL!
Dunno if any of us noticed ..If HR or hiring fellow is ah neh (especially in ah neh companies), likely back room staff mostly same kind. Try walking into India Bank or similar, then it's all plain to see;)

Guess it's nature's call;)

just a point to share...sometimes a local will job hop as compared to a FT (being tied down for 2 years). its frustrating to train someone up then see him joining another company.

I agree with you. But nowadays I knew many employers do not want to hire locals so I believe locals will around 3 years depending on promotion.

I try not to hire SPR because this group really job hop a lot :mad:

Our budgeted salary is $2,500 a month for a foreigner. I only spend $1,900 a month to hire a local. It is saving to the company :D

I can understand foreigners need to pay rental and airtickets (return) to their hometown. But their exchange rate SGD 1 = RMB 5 is favourable to them and in China the cost of living is much lower than SG. While every dollar we earn in SG is really low in value because our cost of living is high with housing, foods, medical, transportation and other basic expenses can already killed you.

Our company paid PRC engineers (no uni degree) $2,300 a month with half yearly increment of $50. They are S-Pass holders and after paying rental of about $600 a month and other living expenses. Their net saving is about $1,300 a month convert to RMB 6,500 a month which is a good monthly net saving to bring home to China.

Yes, we as hiring managers must change our mindset and hire cheaper local talents :D

My 2 cents, we should pay the poly grad $2500 too. Don't understand the difference in treatment. Why should we be worrying about the accomodations and airtickets for the foreigner while try to skim and save when it comes to local staff? This is double standard. Are we considered lower caste then a foreigner?

Well done to the TS for hiring a local instead of a foreigner..

Frankly speaking my company had few bad experiences in the past employing these fucktard FTs..

There used to be 5 FTs in our company.. A Marine Engineer from India, another Indian chap from Punjab working in the warehouse dept and 3 Pinoys as Marine technicians.. Now we're only left with just the Punjab chap in the warehouse dept.. The Yaya Ah Neh engineer left the company abruptly leaving his Dept in a limbo back then.. Then within 2 years (2009 to 2011) I terminated the contracts of the 3 lazy Pinoys thanks from the blessings of my Big Boss..

The positions of all of these departed FTs were then given to the locals..

Hire Sinkies.. If you give them the full trust, they'll not turn your backs on you.. If we don't give our fellow countrymen the opportunity then who will?

I must say nowadays foreign hiring managers tend to hire their own people and younger Singaporeans will suffer in coming years :(

Exactly!!! :mad: ..Filipino in my office made work 'challenging' for the Singaporeans. Most left.
This Filipino is trying hard (telling HR that Singaporean candidates not doing well during interviews, etc) to hire Filipinos to fill the requisitions.

.....sometimes a local will job hop as compared to a FT (being tied down for 2 years). its frustrating to train someone up then see him joining another company.

'Job hop or not' depends on how Employer treats staff.
If he/she is a good (or excellent) performer, why not pay more increment? Or do Bosses prefer to spend time/money on recruitment & training???

Plenty of FT job hoppers (less than 2 years) around.

On average, new university grads will stay 2.5 years..then bye-bye.

You are making it up. In real life, the reverse is true. The foreigner is more hard working, more educated and demands less pay.

Recently I created a new position because I need an admin assistant and my employer also has enough S-Pass quoto. After interviewing 3 foreigners (2 pinos & 1 PRC), I found that they are unwillingly to some run errand works been assigned to this position and also the budgeted salary that I can offer them $2,500 a month... they find it too low and their expected are $3,500 a month :eek:

The unqualified (no uni degree) PRC Engineers in my company were unhappy as to why I took in a fresh poly grad instead of a experience foreigners (preferably PRC). I am not too bother to explain things to such people :rolleyes:

Make sure you guide the poly grad well because the prc may want to find fault with that poor bloke.
One reason why the foreigners ask for more is because they need to pay rental n poky guy no need.

Nonsense. Pinoys live 8 to a room, accomodation is very affordable.

doesnt make any difference u twisted asshole. u willing to offer foreigners 2500 but when u decided to settle down for a singaporean, you decided to offer him 1900.

I think there is some satire in your piece. Most employers will tell you the situation is reversed - Foreigners are more highly qualified and willing to work for lower pay. Foreign NUS/NTU/SIM grads are demanding less pay than the local polytechnic diploma holders (who like to call themself diploma graduates).

As our dear friend ChaoPappyPoodle would say,

YOU PUKIMATI SON OF A WHORE! YOUR MOTHER OPEN HER CHEEBYE TO BANGLAS AND YOUR FATHER LICKS THE CUM OFF HER CUSTOMERS! Why? Your fake distance learning degree from Timbuktu better than our poly diplomas izit? Fuck off back to the third world basket case hellhole you crawled out from, you halfwit! KNNBCCB :oIo:

*YAWN* I know you're frustrated at being outclassed. I am talking about NUS/NTU/SMU/SIM grads. Foreigners are demanding lower pay even though their rental is high.

As our dear friend ChaoPappyPoodle would say,

YOU PUKIMATI SON OF A WHORE! YOUR MOTHER OPEN HER CHEEBYE TO BANGLAS AND YOUR FATHER LICKS THE CUM OFF HER CUSTOMERS! Why? Your fake distance learning degree from Timbuktu better than our poly diplomas izit? Fuck off back to the third world basket case hellhole you crawled out from, you halfwit! KNNBCCB :oIo:

*YAWN* I know you're frustrated at being outclassed. I am talking about NUS/NTU/SMU/SIM grads. Foreigners are demanding lower pay even though their rental is high.

And the thread starter is saying, sooner or later if the foreigner from whichever hellhole he/she crawled out from would ask for the same, if not more than Sinkies because they have to pay rentals while locals pay back loan + interest to HDB and the banksters.

PR bo siang gong gong keep paying high rentals sibo? Mebbe a marriage of convenience for a nice HDB flat to rent out to their village kakis when they balik kampung?

All I can say is, long run everyone even the foreigners get smart and try to milk the system. Got see whole department of Matlanders, pinoys and ah nehs? I know I have.

Conclusion: Loser is sinkies who sabo each other to hire cheaper better faster foreigners. Because when got enuf people, they ask the same if not more than sinkies. No more cheaper better faster. That sums up the thread. Terima Kaseh.

That is loser mentality.

Employers don't care whether Singaporean or foreigner. As long as longer cheaper better faster is good. When they (even foreigner) are no longer cheaper better faster, you replace them with longer cheaper better faster.