• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My Comfort Food - meesua anytime

ok serious a bit. mee sua usually i eat on my chinese birthday, preparee by old folks. the last time i eat happy birthday mee suah is probably over 20 years ago.

Chinese birthday? By that, you mean you have other birthday like Keling birthday, Mat birthday, chao hei birthday? Other birthdays eat what ah?

We all have one birthday - the ang mo date one, on your BC then later IC.

As chinese, we have a deng nang one - this one follows the lunar calender.

Our parents will remember, but i seriously can't rememeber when's mine.

Some of my friends will have mee suah gor (pardon my spelling), some will have mee suah with egg.

Mee suah/noodles the like is to symbolise longevity.

.......................As chinese, we have a deng nang one - this one follows the lunar calender.

I see. As chinese then, we are different from other humans. The world has a New Year. Then we have Chinese New Year again! So who is correct? The round eyes, and the rest of mankind? Or the celestial heathens?

Dont know lah, but one thing quite certain is when the older generation pass, the newer generation (mine included) will probably not remember much about our lunar birthdays.

Lunar new year yes - 2days of holis and ang pows for the kids.

Yah, really miss The Good Old Days. Come Chinese New Year, we would buy live chickens from the market and Dad would assign me to slaughter them fowls. Then when the work is done, I'd get a few packets of firecracker and I'd poke them into ant's nest to annihilate their nesting grounds. Nowadays, no live chickens to buy. Kid has KFC for CNY! No firecrackers! Birthday, order pizza! No red egg. Well, guess we gotta move with the times.

my comfort food is beehoon fish ball soup - clear and simple. nice....

you have a problem with traditional chinese customs? not only chinese celebrate new year on a different date from the angmo, the jews and the muslim new year also not 1st January.

Yes. Chinese customs are supersititious pracitices. Humanity has evolved passed the Age of Reasoning and believe in science and logic. During CNY, chinese people become obssesessed with lcuky this and lucky that, don't clean/sweep the house and other backward thought, must dress in red, orange looks like gold and brings fortune. And Lou Hei is an unhygienic practice. The other peoples you mentioned celebrate the religious festivals, not New Year as mentioned. So why just because we are chinese must we differentiate our beliefs from other races?

chinese pray to "tee gong" during CNY consider supersititous. jews and muslim pray to Lord and Allah is not supersititious? give me a break.... dont be double standard. as for the do and dont during CNY, it just part of the customs. angmo kiss under the mistrstole during christmas? by the way, LOU HEI is not traditional food but invented here in singapore in the 60s by some cantonese chefs. if u not cantonese, u didnt even seen it on your family table in the 70s to early 80s. i myself never like it, i cannot see why must pay so much for vegetable shreds. i rather eat sashimi if i fancy raw fish slices. as for the lucky not lucky nonsenses, u can dont practice them since u think it backward, it the other ppl rights to be backward.

i very mountain tortise. never been to HK, so can the spore hk style cafe "yun yong" match the worse of hk cafe?

1. bro, i believe individuals do have different preference.
2. Tea cafe(Cha Chaan Teng) offers a diversified range of fast & delicious menu.
3. honest, pretty affordable hoh:D
4. sheep menu is simply no match to hk's "tai pai tong".
5. what we want is the "wok hei" mah:p

C6A833CC-63B5-4FC4-9007-FA4FD4A853D6-390-0000000D08D49F80.jpg

lianbeng has been eating this for birthday since very young! :D only birthday got chance to even see it.

Chinese birthday? By that, you mean you have other birthday like Keling birthday, Mat birthday, chao hei birthday? Other birthdays eat what ah?

do u ask your malay, Indian frens if they have Chinese birthdays?

I started living overseas 11 years ago, first posting was 1 year in Hong Kong, back for a year then another year in Shanghai and about 7 years ago came to Bangkok and now between Bangkok and Jakarta. All this time while overseas over long period of time I always pack a kilo of hand made meesua with me from Singapore. I love to eat meesua because I find its my comfort food, something very close to home and of course meesua being very easy to prepare helps.

You bad lah! You made me missed my dead grandma...God rest her soul.

lianbeng also chinese mah! chinese birthday is more important to chinese than english birthday! chinese people on the day of birth add 1 year u know? unlike english birthday must exactly 1 year from date of birth then count as 1 year old. so english birthday is always 1 year behind chinese birthday u know? :D my chinese birthday happens to coincide with tee kong birthday the 9th day of chinese new year u know?

Mine's red bean or green bean soup with rock sugar or the beancurd skin with ginko nuts. All simple stuff but difficult to find in most non-asian land and always have to make a beeline to china town to get the ingredients (basically the beans and the beancurd skin).

Strangely I found myself missing something from home as I got older and this comfort food makes up for it. This never happened in my 20s or 30s or 40s. Must be getting sentimental. :(

lianbeng also chinese mah! chinese birthday is more important to chinese than english birthday! chinese people on the day of birth add 1 year u know? unlike english birthday must exactly 1 year from date of birth then count as 1 year old. so english birthday is always 1 year behind chinese birthday u know? :D my chinese birthday happens to coincide with tee kong birthday the 9th day of chinese new year u know?

tee kong kia

me trust chinese calendar more than ang moh calendar. chinese say 15 means 15. 100 years later 15 still full moon. ang moh calendar leh?

and now back to mee suah. not sure bros here tried before? fried mee suah. aroi mak mak.