• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My Comfort Food - meesua anytime

I started living overseas 11 years ago, first posting was 1 year in Hong Kong, back for a year then another year in Shanghai and about 7 years ago came to Bangkok and now between Bangkok and Jakarta. All this time while overseas over long period of time I always pack a kilo of hand made meesua with me from Singapore. I love to eat meesua because I find its my comfort food, something very close to home and of course meesua being very easy to prepare helps.

Like yesterday at 3pm felt hungry just need to go into the fridge to look around saw a bowl of cordyceps and ginseng chicken soup decided to just throw some meesua in and taadaa have chicken meesua with Chinese TCM jia-por

C6A833CC-63B5-4FC4-9007-FA4FD4A853D6-390-0000000D08D49F80.jpg

And this morning wanted a very hot breakfast, just throw some port into water and then some meesua taadaa I have nice breakfast

399B7290-7823-41B2-9005-1D966662A401-390-0000000D0315C6D9.jpg

Always think of home and mom when I eat meesua.

Wondering if anyone reading this care to share your comfort food.

Mine are fish soup with rice and teochew porridge with a few simple dishes like egg (salted, braised or chye por), chye buay, minced pork, fish cake, etc.

Meesua is not bad too, with fish slices can be very tasty and comforting.

Try not to eat too much innards with meesua, including kidney and liver.

And this morning wanted a very hot breakfast, just throw some port into water and then some meesua taadaa I have nice breakfast

399B7290-7823-41B2-9005-1D966662A401-390-0000000D0315C6D9.jpg

Always think of home and mom when I eat meesua.

Pork!!! Brother.. PORK!!

Skali people really think you alcoholic, morning already Port with meesua.

For me, my comfort food is porridge with raw fish.

007.jpg

If too long time don't take will have runny nose. :D

Pork!!! Brother.. PORK!!

Skali people really think you alcoholic, morning already Port with meesua.

For me, my comfort food is porridge with raw fish.

View attachment 9601

If too long time don't take will have runny nose. :D

Actually and you probably know this, I like to put a shot of brandy into my hot hot meesua.

Actually i already know you like to put more than a shot of brandy into anything. :D

I always have the impression that meesua is for those old people since the only two person I knew who ate it are my grandparents.

Brother Jlokta, Joetys is old man? tio bor? :D

Reminds me of the meesua which my Mom will prepare as breakfast for any of the kids on their birthday. As for me, I stay away from meesua as I don't really care for it.

my mom receipe.

put a table spoon of oil onto the pot, put 1-2 eggs into the pot to fry, then put some minced garlic and stir fried with the egg and put water/chicken stock into the pot. medium flame till boil, then put in the marinated sliced and minced meat, sliced ginger, diced spring onion. once soup ready, put in the meesua and served with chopped corrinder and fried shallot.:)

Old friends yes not old men la.

u want to sabo me tio zap issit. :oIo:

Why you worry, your mod brother here will abuse his power to rescue you and take revenge for you.

knn I think I sure in some people's microscope from now on liao

I always have the impression that meesua is for those old people since the only two person I knew who ate it are my grandparents.

TIU..... meesua is proper food hor. i eat once a while, ask my mom dont cook rice but eat meesua for dinner.

my mom receipe.

put a table spoon of oil onto the pot, put 1-2 eggs into the pot to fry, then put some minced garlic and stir fried with the egg and put water/chicken stock into the pot. medium flame till boil, then put in the marinated sliced and minced meat, sliced ginger, diced spring onion. once soup ready, put in the meesua and served with chopped corrinder and fried shallot.:)

sleaguepunter, bro another formula, cook the meesua in clear water, prepare another bowl and put like a large Chinese soup spoon of sesame oil in the bowl. Drain the meesua of water and put the meesua in the bowl and mix it. Its really good I assure, just meesua and sesame oil.

Try not to eat too much innards with meesua, including kidney and liver.

ha ha you know buddy, liver, kidney and lean pork in meesua is bestest. But I don't take organs la (except sometimes a little liver) so its ok. Thanks bro.

Why you worry, your mod brother here will abuse his power to rescue you and take revenge for you.

knn I think I sure in some people's microscope from now on liao

i know, thats why i type with this font size. KNN that raider, small cow don't know tiger. Want to tua me. :D

Comfort food for me is Mee Goreng. I like it with the cucumber and the cheap pink-colored ketchup at most sarabat stalls. Haven't tried the Maggi version yet.

sleaguepunter, bro another formula, cook the meesua in clear water, prepare another bowl and put like a large Chinese soup spoon of sesame oil in the bowl. Drain the meesua of water and put the meesua in the bowl and mix it. Its really good I assure, just meesua and sesame oil.

My mom saying - nowadays in SG - CAN'T find GOOD Sesame Oil as bottle once opened - fragrance all disappear ....

Which is a Good Brand sesame oil that can keep long long [the flavour etc] ???

ok serious a bit. mee sua usually i eat on my chinese birthday, preparee by old folks. the last time i eat happy birthday mee suah is probably over 20 years ago.

Chinese birthday? By that, you mean you have other birthday like Keling birthday, Mat birthday, chao hei birthday? Other birthdays eat what ah?