• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MRT Stripped of ALL Seats! KNN!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=510 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>What Bugs Me
Posted on 01 Nov, 2008 07:34
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>New seatless MRT cabin gets thumbs down

Flamethrower dislikes this new configuration of seats in MRT trains, as he feels that more ugly commuter behaviour will be exhibited as a result.

He explains:

"I was appalled when I came across this refurbished MRT train with a seatless configuration. The whole column of seats are removed and left with only two bars on each side, probably for resting of bums.

"I find it really astonishing that SMRT is really doing something unbelievable to maximise the already maximised profits. Why not just label all remaining seats as 'Priority Seats', since only about 20 or 30 seats are left per carriage, especially so in the ageing society?

"Now, the redundant announcement of 'please allow passengers to alight first' will be further ignored. Passengers will start to 'sprint' into the cabin for the precious seats instead of the current 'dashing'. At the end of the day, who wins? Or rather, who suffers?

"I wonder when will be the time for a train with NO SEAT at all to be introduced. Probably very soon."

What do you think of this design? Tell us.

getArticlePhoto.do

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top align=right><TD colSpan=2>
» Email a Friend <!-- AddThis Button BEGIN --><SCRIPT type=text/javascript>addthis_pub = 'stomp';</SCRIPT><SCRIPT src="http://s7.addthis.com/js/152/addthis_widget.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT> <!-- AddThis Button END -->​

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><SCRIPT src="/js/prototype.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT><SCRIPT> function submittedComment() { focusAnchor('comment'); //alert ('You have submitted a comment.'); } function submittedRating() { focusAnchor('rating'); //alert ('You have submitted a rating to this article.'); } function focusAnchor(anchorName) { location.replace('#' + anchorName); } function doSomething() { if(document.loginForm.IDToken0.value == "") { alert ("Please enter Username"); document.loginForm.IDToken0.focus(); return false; } if(document.loginForm.IDToken1.value == "") { alert ("Please enter Password"); document.loginForm.IDToken1.focus(); return false; } }</SCRIPT><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top align=right><TD colSpan=2>
Rated
star.gif
star.gif
star.gif
star.gif
by 6 STOMPer(s). 6845 Views​

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

No seat during peak hour best. Shinkapore standards, train ebery 1 minutes sure crash.

waulau this is world's first!!! no seats mrt trains.damned smart world governance.damned brilliant idea.deserves the best and highest world's pay for such brilliant idea.no seat trains! wauhoo!!!

can bring my own stool or not?

Perhaps they should re-consider bringing back their "award winning" bum rest in the trains...it'll be hard to fake sleeping while trying to prevent oneself from sliding off :D

Vote S(tanding)MRT for the "Best Standing Passenger Experience" award

Like that very jialat. I take the train everyday. :eek::(

Perhaps in case of emergency...no need to activitate SAF/SIA liao - within 48 hrs, SMRT can fit out a cabin with medical support of oxygen tanks and other fixtures for a drip....and zoom to TTSH, with doctors standing by @ Novena Station

waulau this is world's first!!! no seats mrt trains.damned smart world governance.damned brilliant idea.deserves the best and highest world's pay for such brilliant idea.no seat trains! wauhoo!!!

can bring my own stool or not?

phpWGPp3S.jpg

Can, but u need to get an ez-link card for your stool first. *hee*hee*

Singapore commuters are damned lucky. Travelling in SMRT even during peak hours is considered a luxury - if you compared it with the time when without MRT the buses are packed to the brim even at the steps of the unclosed buses. It was damned hot, stuffy and polluted, sweaty skin to skin with fellow commuters.

When you compare it even with first world Japan;s subways, SMRT commuters even have the space to play soccer in the carriages. Take a look how first world Japanese subway commute to work early in the morning and you would like to kiss the CEO of MRT or Ho Ching on the face in gratitude!:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axwMxUBL_ws

This has past the point of being absolutely ridiculous. We know we have monkeys as government leaders, but now I know they are depraved monkeys.

This PAP govt must be brought down.

What is next? Remove all seats from buses, cinemas, public libraries, parks and what else? Why don't they remove all seats in the parliament and in the offices of all the depraved monkeys?

no lah.no seats in mrt trains are correct. i never sit in trains. i stand. so our world class governance is right. they understand commuters. singapore is so small and the distance travelled is so short. why waste time sitting. stand and strengthen your legs and spine! this is a very brilliant idea. no seats. no sleeping. no snoring.no peeping too. world class idea. soon japan will follow and the world will follow singapore's brilliant idea. well done singapore!

Singapore commuters are damned lucky. Travelling in SMRT even during peak hours is considered a luxury - if you compared it with the time when without MRT the buses are packed to the brim even at the steps of the unclosed buses. It was damned hot, stuff and polluted skin to skin with fellow commuters.

When you compare it even with first world Japan, MRT commuters even have the space to play soccer in the carriages. Take a look how first world Japanese subway commute to work early in the morning and you would like to kiss the CEO of MRT or Ho Ching on the face!:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axwMxUBL_ws

How would you like to kiss my ass?:mad:

Pay them extra for no seats in return. if you ask me if that's a good return, well it would depend if you're an elderly person or not.

I think we all know that if we are to pay extra, we expect better service. Thus, if we don't, I think we all know what has become.

Well very soon you'll find people sitting on the floor during off peak hours. And those smoochers will progress to outright screwing on the floors. First World Country indeed!

phpWGPp3S.jpg

Can, but u need to get an ez-link card for your stool first. *hee*hee*

If you bring your own seats they'll probably charge extra :p

Ha, Ha, Ha where are those who claim Spore has the best this & best that? Spore must have the worst MRT in the world, overcrowded, lousy frequency & now this :rolleyes:

we got no train pushers here. so singapore is still the best. relaxed and stand straight while riding.

All seats? Then those people at the back of the photo squatting on air?