• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat More Sob Stories to Help One Sleep - This time a Loser Sinkie PMET Real Estate Agent

where did i say $2k for manager's job? if you read properly it's $3.69k per month. warehouse entry jobs start with lower pay ($1.69k for ft and $1.96k for sinkie) but if they remain on the job for over 6.9 years they get raises year on year plus bonuses and may get promoted to supervisor or manager too. those sinkie uncles who remain have been working for the biz for over 20 years. if they get a raise of 3.69% every year (to match or exceed inflation) they will be making way more than $2k 20 years later. in fact, some of them are getting well over $3.69k into their 50s. that's why they don't leave or hunt for another job. nor want to be managers. company trusts them, and they may not be the most happy employees but they show up everyday early and get work done. their incentives are a stable salary and early hours off after delivery. you guys are full of rhetoric but zero substance and facts when it cums to the real world. try becuming a boss for a small biz for a while and understand the difficulties and challenges of hiring and keeping good, reliable workers. the other boss in this forum that i respect is froggy because he deals with the real world. he fully understands my predicament. not you bunch of clueless oppies.

Dragging you back on point, SMEs get away with low wages because of prevailing government policy to allow cheap labour in. I am not attacking your business in particular but in the outdated model SMEs operate in.

My biz requires fair payment to my sub-contractors because of free market competition and the lack of cheap foreign labour. Our subcons can make $1000+ a day because there is no cheap labour to compete against... Yet.

And I can't take your figures seriously with the 6.9 bookends. 3k vs 3.69k is a big difference. 1.69 vs 1.96? What am I suppose to make of that? You really contribute to CPF based on 1.96k etc?

Your biz will be better off firing all the dead weight and moving to a subcon model. It means fairer wages and cost efficiency for you.

But you can't subcon out coz they dont exist because there is no incentive for such a model due to cheap labour.

Have I dragged you back on point yet? You obfuscate your points with silly 6.9 bookends. At least sweetiepie KNN is easy to understand as his points are clearly made out.

What advice? Should plan 20 yrs back. And ur were not around.:roflmao:

I've been around since 1999 dispensing much needed advice to everyone.

In 2013 I condensed my wisdom by starting this thread https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/the-retirement-thread.151153/

6 years is more than enough time to consolidate ones financial position so even if he was not reading my posts in delphi he could still have benefited had he started in 2013.

where did i say $2k for manager's job? if you read properly it's $3.69k per month. warehouse entry jobs start with lower pay ($1.69k for ft and $1.96k for sinkie) but if they remain on the job for over 6.9 years they get raises year on year plus bonuses and may get promoted to supervisor or manager too. those sinkie uncles who remain have been working for the biz for over 20 years. if they get a raise of 3.69% every year (to match or exceed inflation) they will be making way more than $2k 20 years later. in fact, some of them are getting well over $3.69k into their 50s. that's why they don't leave or hunt for another job. nor want to be managers. company trusts them, and they may not be the most happy employees but they show up everyday early and get work done. their incentives are a stable salary and early hours off after delivery. you guys are full of rhetoric but zero substance and facts when it cums to the real world. try becuming a boss for a small biz for a while and understand the difficulties and challenges of hiring and keeping good, reliable workers. the other boss in this forum that i respect is froggy because he deals with the real world. he fully understands my predicament. not you bunch of clueless oppies.

And yes I know how hard it is to find locals to work blue collared jobs. We rescaled the job and managed to attract locals by offering higher wages and few working hours.

So for any towkay who complains they can't get locals, they are being greedy and cunning to push the blame onto the workers.

For the right pay and right hours, you can get as many locals as you want.

Dragging you back on point, SMEs get away with low wages because of prevailing government policy to allow cheap labour in. I am not attacking your business in particular but in the outdated model SMEs operate in.

My biz requires fair payment to my sub-contractors because of free market competition and the lack of cheap foreign labour. Our subcons can make $1000+ a day because there is no cheap labour to compete against... Yet.

And I can't take your figures seriously with the 6.9 bookends. 3k vs 3.69k is a big difference. 1.69 vs 1.96? What am I suppose to make of that? You really contribute to CPF based on 1.96k etc?

Your biz will be better off firing all the dead weight and moving to a subcon model. It means fairer wages and cost efficiency for you.

But you can't subcon out coz they dont exist because there is no incentive for such a model due to cheap labour.

Have I dragged you back on point yet? You obfuscate your points with silly 6.9 bookends. At least sweetiepie KNN is easy to understand as his points are clearly made out.
it's easy to brush away real world hiring with simple pay comparisons. pay is never the one and only arbiter of a successful hire. in reality it doesn't work that way. as an sme, how are you going to convince sinkie youths to work for you? there are several generations of sinkies you're dealing with, and each has its own quirkiness.

let's start with the old. an uncle who has low education and started to work as a warehouse hand 20-30 years ago making below $1k ($696 was more like it) and now making over $3.69k will most likely keep his job, although he knows his productive years are shrinking as age catches up. there are many sme's in sg who keep older uncles employed as they are familiar and comfortable with their work ethic. case in point. 90-year old uncle who lives in kembangan still rides bus no. 42 every work day to go to mrt station, then take the early morning train to work. firm, an sme, still hires him as an accountant. not kidding here. what do you suggest? fire him and hire someone younger and pay the newbie less since this old man has been on the same job for over 69 years. or according to you with your so called updated methods automate the accounting process. either way sinkie workers are fucked. old man loses his job that he loves. young sinkie worker loses his job because of automation. or alternatively the accounting firm can hire a cheap jiuhubor and pays her peanuts compared to either old man or young gun. but the question still remains. how are you going to convince sinkie young gun to work for you?

for the last 6.9 years my family biz hasn't been successful doing just that. we want promising sinkie youths including women so that we can groom them into managerial roles, and eventually take over the biz as we the laojiaos are getting old and retiring. such is the curse of a family biz. the younger cohorts in the family want nothing to do with the biz as they enjoy sexpensive education abroad and wish to work for more sexy and famous firms. none respond to the job ad. the moment they see "sme" or "family business" they balk. only a ridiculously unbelievable pay range of over $6.9k will attract their attention. and yet they will still wonder if this is real. if we can't get a single sinkie youth to respond to an ad for months even by bumping up pay after the 1st ad, why bother with sinkies at all?

we also use sub-contractors. it's not preferred but they are there for us during seasonal peaks and pre-holiday rushes. we pay higher premiums but they get the job done, sometimes with mistakes and poor cumstomer reviews. but our biz model cannot rely on subcons every day. we can tolerate less than 5% mistakes but subcons contribute to the lion share of mistakes in delivery and poor transport and unloading services, a biggie being delivery delays. these subcons in turn hire foreigners and deprive sinkies of their jobs. our own hired hands have 99% delivery sextisfaction and at least an overall 96% cumstomer sextisfaction.

i purposely use 6.9 bookends as it's the working number in sg. use that number and things in sg work flawlessly. even the pap is convinced the number 69 is great for them. you will see policies and fare increases formulated with that number in mind. for example, 70% of their support base is actually 69% and 7% in anything to do with money and cost is actually 6.9% - rounding up to make it easy on the eyes.

And yes I know how hard it is to find locals to work blue collared jobs. We rescaled the job and managed to attract locals by offering higher wages and few working hours.

So for any towkay who complains they can't get locals, they are being greedy and cunning to push the blame onto the workers.

For the right pay and right hours, you can get as many locals as you want.
i do that for my projects in sillycon valley and keep in constant touch with at least 2 teams of my reliable and trusted sub contractors. it's not like my projects in the valley demands full time workers. the work is sporadic and seasonal, thus subcons are the best. in sg though, the biz is sextremely busy from monday through saturday and a part of sunday. yup, 6.9 days a week. and invoices cum in after 6.9pm from several wholesalers and retailers, and we are frantically processing orders and invoices right after dinner to get packing lists ready for the next day. we bring the work home, thanks to wi-fi, laptops, ipsec tunnels and vpn's. some biz are timed differently. other wholesalers and retailers (cumstomers) work on their merchandizing and inventory after the day is over and demand next day delivery by the late morning. sg is a 24 by 7 consumer haven, with a voracious appetite for imports of all kinds, sizes, shapes and tastes. it is sextremely difficult to tell an office hire to either stay back past 6.9pm to process orders or bring laptop back home during and after dinner to thoroughly go through emails and acknowledge orders and invoices with estimated ship times by noon next day. i have proposed increasing headcount and assigning major accounts to managerial teams to handle the short fuses but to no avail. we cannot even get past the hiring part (of locals) to form the teams. after decades of having an unwritten policy to only hire locals to groom for management, we may have to junk that. it's time to hire a few angmohs and or japs to run it.

it's easy to brush away real world hiring with simple pay comparisons. pay is never the one and only arbiter of a successful hire. in reality it doesn't work that way. as an sme, how are you going to convince sinkie youths to work for you? there are several generations of sinkies you're dealing with, and each has its own quirkiness.

let's start with the old. an uncle who has low education and started to work as a warehouse hand 20-30 years ago making below $1k ($696 was more like it) and now making over $3.69k will most likely keep his job, although he knows his productive years are shrinking as age catches up. there are many sme's in sg who keep older uncles employed as they are familiar and comfortable with their work ethic. case in point. 90-year old uncle who lives in kembangan still rides bus no. 42 every work day to go to mrt station, then take the early morning train to work. firm, an sme, still hires him as an accountant. not kidding here. what do you suggest? fire him and hire someone younger and pay the newbie less since this old man has been on the same job for over 69 years. or according to you with your so called updated methods automate the accounting process. either way sinkie workers are fucked. old man loses his job that he loves. young sinkie worker loses his job because of automation. or alternatively the accounting firm can hire a cheap jiuhubor and pays her peanuts compared to either old man or young gun. but the question still remains. how are you going to convince sinkie young gun to work for you?

for the last 6.9 years my family biz hasn't been successful doing just that. we want promising sinkie youths including women so that we can groom them into managerial roles, and eventually take over the biz as we the laojiaos are getting old and retiring. such is the curse of a family biz. the younger cohorts in the family want nothing to do with the biz as they enjoy sexpensive education abroad and wish to work for more sexy and famous firms. none respond to the job ad. the moment they see "sme" or "family business" they balk. only a ridiculously unbelievable pay range of over $6.9k will attract their attention. and yet they will still wonder if this is real. if we can't get a single sinkie youth to respond to an ad for months even by bumping up pay after the 1st ad, why bother with sinkies at all?

we also use sub-contractors. it's not preferred but they are there for us during seasonal peaks and pre-holiday rushes. we pay higher premiums but they get the job done, sometimes with mistakes and poor cumstomer reviews. but our biz model cannot rely on subcons every day. we can tolerate less than 5% mistakes but subcons contribute to the lion share of mistakes in delivery and poor transport and unloading services, a biggie being delivery delays. these subcons in turn hire foreigners and deprive sinkies of their jobs. our own hired hands have 99% delivery sextisfaction and at least an overall 96% cumstomer sextisfaction.

i purposely use 6.9 bookends as it's the working number in sg. use that number and things in sg work flawlessly. even the pap is convinced the number 69 is great for them. you will see policies and fare increases formulated with that number in mind. for example, 70% of their support base is actually 69% and 7% in anything to do with money and cost is actually 6.9% - rounding up to make it easy on the eyes.

i think you are missing my points:

1. that for the right pay, right hours, right perks etc you can find a local to hire. i have done it. am i special? hardly. but i'm willing to take less profit, giving more share to the workers, to make the business work. my subcontractors earn more than me per job, but i make up for it with volume. everyone gets what they deserve. at up to a $1000+ per day with averages close to $750-800, these guys don't fuck around.

2. access to cheap foreign labour hinders innovation and productivity. as you pointed out, the subcons hire foreigners and screw up your deliveries. without cheap labour, there could be a more efficient subcon who employs technology to service the need of small warehouse operators. you could be it and take over the whole market, but only if the government cut off access to cheap labour. instead we give jobs to these cheap foreigners who repatriate most of their earnings back home further draining our economy.

3. the SME model of doing business is a relic of the past. young people want control over their time and want jobs that give them a stake. perhaps if you had offered your future managers shares in the company, they might be attracted to the job. and not token shares but sizeable percentages. but i'm sure you'll be blocked by family members at the thought of giving up control of the company.

4. towkays are used to making large profits and hoarding it for themselves. this is no longer tenable and workers demand a bigger share of the GDP pie. this has been discussed before. https://www.oecd.org/g20/topics/employment-and-social-policy/The-Labour-Share-in-G20-Economies.pdf
we are no where near OECD levels.

please do not think i am attacking you or your biz personally. just discussing the ideas raised through your personal anecdotes. i have been careless with words and pushed wrong buttons by mistake. for the sake of clarity, where you cite real world figures, i implore you to avoid the 6.9 bookends to avoid misunderstandings.

i do that for my projects in sillycon valley and keep in constant touch with at least 2 teams of my reliable and trusted sub contractors. it's not like my projects in the valley demands full time workers. the work is sporadic and seasonal, thus subcons are the best. in sg though, the biz is sextremely busy from monday through saturday and a part of sunday. yup, 6.9 days a week. and invoices cum in after 6.9pm from several wholesalers and retailers, and we are frantically processing orders and invoices right after dinner to get packing lists ready for the next day. we bring the work home, thanks to wi-fi, laptops, ipsec tunnels and vpn's. some biz are timed differently. other wholesalers and retailers (cumstomers) work on their merchandizing and inventory after the day is over and demands next day delivery by the late morning. sg is a 24 by 7 consumer haven, with a voracious appetite for imports of all kinds, sizes, shapes and tastes. it is sextremely difficult to tell an office hire to either stay back past 6.9pm to process orders or bring laptop back home during and after dinner to thoroughly go through emails and acknowledge orders and invoices with estimated ship times by noon next day. i have proposed increasing headcount and assigning major accounts to managerial teams to handle the short fuses but to no avail. we cannot even get past the hiring part (of locals) to form the teams. after decades of only hiring locals to groom for management, we may have to junk that unwritten policy. it's time to hire a few angmohs and or japs to run it.

this very much i agree, the gulf between boss vs SME employee mentality is huge one. BUT we see MNCs employees slaving away on emails even while on holiday. Why? high pay, good future prospects

however the gulf between boss vs subcon is a much smaller one. i would dare say my subcons work harder than myself and hence they take a bigger cut of the invoice.

i think you are missing my points:

1. that for the right pay, right hours, right perks etc you can find a local to hire. i have done it. am i special? hardly. but i'm willing to take less profit, giving more share to the workers, to make the business work. my subcontractors earn more than me per job, but i make up for it with volume. everyone gets what they deserve. at up to a $1000+ per day with averages close to $750-800, these guys don't fuck around.

2. access to cheap foreign labour hinders innovation and productivity. as you pointed out, the subcons hire foreigners and screw up your deliveries. without cheap labour, there could be a more efficient subcon who employs technology to service the need of small warehouse operators. you could be it and take over the whole market, but only if the government cut off access to cheap labour. instead we give jobs to these cheap foreigners who repatriate most of their earnings back home further draining our economy.

3. the SME model of doing business is a relic of the past. young people want control over their time and want jobs that give them a stake. perhaps if you had offered your future managers shares in the company, they might be attracted to the job. and not token shares but sizeable percentages. but i'm sure you'll be blocked by family members at the thought of giving up control of the company.

4. towkays are used to making large profits and hoarding it for themselves. this is no longer tenable and workers demand a bigger share of the GDP pie. this has been discussed before. https://www.oecd.org/g20/topics/employment-and-social-policy/The-Labour-Share-in-G20-Economies.pdf
we are no where near OECD levels.

please do not think i am attacking you or your biz personally. just discussing the ideas raised through your personal anecdotes. i have been careless with words and pushed wrong buttons by mistake. for the sake of clarity, where you cite real world figures, i implore you to avoid the 6.9 bookends to avoid misunderstandings.
it depends on the projects and jobs you offer. not all are cut with the same cloth. when it cums to food tasting and critiques, of course i can hire sinkie temporal tasters, or subcons as you refer to them, easily. and we are willing to pay hundreds of thousands for a yearly marketing report performed by a world crass consulting firm. we, however, don't have your luxury of relying on subcons. we are in a succession crisis. all going senile and not one promising full time employee to succeed us.

and just to add on, its very common in start ups for employees to earn MUCH MORE than the founding partners. mindset shift. SME towkays have become noncompetitive fat cats who thrive off failed government policies.

it depends on the projects and jobs you offer. not all are cut with the same cloth. when it cums to food tasting and critiques, of course i can hire sinkie temporal tasters, or subcons as you refer to them, easily. we, however, don't have your luxury of relying on subcons. we are in a succession crisis. all going senile and not one promising full time employee to succeed us.

how about yourself? you seem full of vibrant 6.9 energy level to take over and remake the business.

i'm retarded and retired. i help with the biz with no pay. the only reward is a kup of instant kopi in the morning and a homemade kueh during tea time. i have proposed selling the biz to the biggest supplier in order for them to keep and maintain close contacts with existing distribution channels and cumstomer base. all shareholders, not too many, can cash out and retire with lumps in their throats and handsome lump sums in their bank accounts.

My opinion is those old woods just need to go when already matured. At age 60, please step down, leave and let those younger generation and school leavers earn a living. Their future/journey is rough long and winding one. They need to support their own family too. Those old woods ( including FTS) are depriving young sinkies of getting a decent job. PG and MG...plse retire gracefully.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/mala...-age-says-priority-should-be-for-yout/1786588
Great idea to leave at 60: by 60 would hve withdrawn something from cpf after setting aside minimum sum, should have small 6 digit savings set aside, should hve some inheritance, should be able to ask children for a small sustenance allowance...tahan 5 years than get monthly sum from cpf liao

i'm retarded and retired. i help with the biz with no pay. the only reward is a kup of instant kopi in the morning and a homemade kueh during tea time. i have proposed selling the biz to the biggest supplier in order for them to keep and maintain close contacts with existing distribution channels and cumstomer base. all shareholders, not too many, can cash out and retire with lumps in their throats and handsome lump sums in their bank accounts.

That seems to be the case for most SMEs these days. Though I see a trend of children joining the family biz after they get jaded with working outside.

So you just got to tahan long enough until one of the next gen kids get sick of working for other people and want to come home.

That seems to be the case for most SMEs these days. Though I see a trend of children joining the family biz after they get jaded with working outside.

So you just got to tahan long enough until one of the next gen kids get sick of working for other people and want to come home.
the problem is the capable (and chosen) ones are doing well for others (world crass companies) and they prefer to stay there as they can see the corporate world and rise to the top while the incompetent losers want to run riot in the biz after getting fired or not landing a corporate job. before they plot to reign and ruin the biz it's better to sell. bigger payback and more valuable when it's making money and having very high cumstomer sextisfaction. the loser sinkie kids will run it to the ground as they have neither hearts nor smarts. unfortunately i have to admit some sinkie kids in the family are not cut out to be in any biz. sometimes succession is best left to an outside successor and not an inside sucker. can kiss family ties goodbye when it cums to the livelihood of many other families who depend on the biz for jobs and renumeration.

Hope that one of the chosen ones get burned out ASAP by MNC life. Or u can be bitchy and manipulative and instigate their burn out :biggrin::tongue:

h1cD8vJ.png

Tiagong a little angry bird from the northwest said this piece of Art can auction at least $6.9million US dollars.?

Hope that one of the chosen ones get burned out ASAP by MNC life. Or u can be bitchy and manipulative and instigate their burn out :biggrin::tongue:
one is doing well in the valley and thus not interested in working in sg unless it's a corporate overseas assignment with lots of privileges and perks. the other is in sg working for consulting firm which recruited him straight out of an overseas u, and he's currently head hunted by jackals trying to poach him to a competitor. and they have generous packages and plenty of downtime. can't see them giving up the high life for at least another 6.9 years. moreover, they are the types who will start their own biz.

Every housowner can rent out and live overseas. But no, working like a dog at 42 is the answer

one is doing well in the valley and thus not interested in working in sg unless it's a corporate overseas assignment with lots of privileges and perks. the other is in sg working for consulting firm which recruited him straight out of an overseas u, and he's currently head hunted by jackals trying to poach him to a competitor. and they have generous packages and plenty of downtime. can't see them giving up the high life for at least another 6.9 years. moreover, they are the types who will start their own biz.

You can never tell which way the wind blows. Anything can happen within the 6.9 years. Especially in a high stress environment which comes with the pay. In all probability, their millennial instincts will kick in before the 6.9 years is up and decide they want a better life.

I have seen some of my peers crumble before 6.9 years is up and opt for a better lifestyle with their skill set.

Your extended family unit is the master of its own destiny.

My opinion is those old woods just need to go when already matured. At age 60, please step down, leave and let those younger generation and school leavers earn a living. Their future/journey is rough long and winding one. They need to support their own family too. Those old woods ( including FTS) are depriving young sinkies of getting a decent job. PG and MG...plse retire gracefully.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/mala...-age-says-priority-should-be-for-yout/1786588

Many ugly old men at age of 67 still need a career transitioning now taking up security courses (using skill future) hoping to become security guard. One filthy old man even tell me he must fight with the younger generation for a living because money surely no enough at his later life :biggrin: