• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat More Sob Stories to Help One Sleep - This time a Loser Sinkie PMET Real Estate Agent

Pinkieslut

42-year-old diploma holder loathing job as a real estate agent and seeking direction
Post Published: 23 August 2019
Author: admin
Found in section: Highlights, Latest Articles

Hi Gilbert,
Only get to know your website and reading the hardship of many LTUs (long-termed unemployed) all of which I can relate to – family woes, depression, suicidal thoughts, driving taxi or becoming security guards. Sometimes I refrain from reading too much of the published articles because it becomes almost a reflection of my own life.
I am currently a self-employed real estate agent for the last 1.5 years and I am disliking my work - the cherished self-employed mode seems so wrong for me.
I am almost 42 this month and my career path is quite a flop – I went to several WDA career jobfairs but they didn’t help much. In fact, I have even engaged a personal career coach to help me map out my strengths and weaknesses but then, there’s no follow-through on the action part.
I do not experience some of those major lows of retrenchment or job discrimination as mentioned in your website, yet as I reflect back, I come to terms with the fact that I could not handle job stress well especially in all of my sales career undertakings since I started work as a sales professional in the property market.
During this period, I am thinking of a mid-career switch into a non-sales career path and I have been thinking, over-thinking, searching and not taking much action. Recently, this has affected my mood very badly and even spilled into my non-work related family life.
I seem to be searching for some ideal work that I can enjoy and excel in which proves to be elusive – like chasing after a fantasy which will never happen.
I am a diploma graduate and I do not hold technical specialty certificates as I have change industries and as I search for a better job now, most job requirements are making me seem ‘obsolete’ by today’s standard.
Well, I am always open to developing new skill sets with knowledge that will continue to make me employable for the next 10-15 years but I simply do not know what and where to start!
Gilbert, can your career counsellor help me set a new career path so that I don’t feel I am being tossed right and left everyday and the fear of being left behind by all the advances I see in this country and truly I am also overwhelmed by the vast changes taking place around me.
Thanks for taking time to read my unsorted thoughts and email.

This article clearly shows one thing: personal career coaches should advertise on Gilbert Goh's site and he should charge top dollars for that... psychiatrists should also have a shot.

"During this period, I am thinking of a mid-career switch into a non-sales career path and I have been thinking, over-thinking, searching and not taking much action. " ---- This is where grab, lalamove, foodpanda and all gig-based apps should direct their recruitment exercise at.

let me see. diploma holder with no technical specialties. next.

and he keeps dreaming of the “ideal” fantasy job that “proves to be elusive.” wonder what it is. hmmm. ok, must be one that pays at least $6.9k a month, has flexible working hours anytime from 9 to 5 with long lunch break from 11am to 1pm plus 1 hr breakfast break at 10am and 1hr tea break at 3pm, provides airconned office with young orifice ladies aplenty to accompany for lunch and breaks, has no accountability, no performance reviews, no stress, allows unrestricted use of company wi-fi and internet access, shaking of legs, talk cock sing song, and endless gossips.

truth is that this is no fantasy at all. i’ve cum across and interviewed sinkies to work in family biz, and these are some of the basics and perks they have asked for. simply ridiculous. there is a manager job and 6.9 warehouse and delivery positions that are still unfilled as we are trying to give sinkies first choice and benefit of a doubt. the previous (sinkie) manager quit as job requires him to plan, coordinate, and run the warehouse and logistics operation in the warehouse office from 6.9am to 6.9pm. problem is warehouse office has no ac, just a bunch of industrial fans. the biz office is in the same building but in a separate section and floor. so he kpkb after 6.9 days, threatening to quit by 3 months or 69 days. told him warehouse section cannot have enclosed office with ac of its own as entire warehouse has sextremely high ceiling and is part of a logistics hub with venting and exhaust already provided. so he quit even though it’s a $3.69k job. he’s now jobless. he also had the nerve to ask for company car, and must be sedan. gave him a company van to drive home also don’t want. too malu for him as van has company logo. other warehouse and delivery jobs finally went to jiuhukias as they don’t mind crossing the border everyday and do the loading and unloading at warehouse and cumstomers’ warehouses and retail locations. sometimes they have to wait over 6.9 hours at cumstomers’ warehouses as they receive all kinds of merchandise from all over the world within a day’s window. thus delivery truck drivers only ship one truck load to one cumstomer warehouse per day, and they can call it a day if ho chai that one delivery is done early. easy job, but no takers from sinkies for entry-level $1.69k job for over 6.9 months.

let me see. diploma holder with no technical specialties. next.

and he keeps dreaming of the “ideal” fantasy job that “proves to be elusive.” wonder what it is. hmmm. ok, must be one that pays at least $6.9k a month, has flexible working hours anytime from 9 to 5 with long lunch break from 11am to 1pm plus 1 hr breakfast break at 10am and 1hr tea break at 3pm, provides airconned office with young orifice ladies aplenty to accompany for lunch and breaks, has no accountability, no performance reviews, no stress, allows unrestricted use of company wi-fi and internet access, shaking of legs, talk cock sing song, and endless gossips.

truth is that this is no fantasy at all. i’ve cum across and interviewed sinkies to work in family biz, and these are some of the basics and perks they have asked for. simply ridiculous. there is a manager job and 6.9 warehouse and delivery positions that are still unfilled as we are trying to give sinkies first choice and benefit of a doubt. the previous (sinkie) manager quit as job requires him to plan, coordinate, and run the warehouse and logistics operation in the warehouse office from 6.9am to 6.9pm. problem is warehouse office has no ac, just a bunch of industrial fans. the biz office is in the same building but in a separate section and floor. so he kpkb after 6.9 days, threatening to quit by 3 months or 69 days. told him warehouse section cannot have enclosed office with ac of its own as entire warehouse has sextremely high ceiling and is part of a logistics hub with venting and exhaust already provided. so he quit even though it’s a $3.69k job. he’s now jobless. he also had the nerve to ask for company car, and must be sedan. gave him a company van to drive home also don’t want. too malu for him as van has company logo. other warehouse and delivery jobs finally went to jiuhukias as they don’t mind crossing the border everyday and do the loading and unloading at warehouse and cumstomers’ warehouses and retail locations. sometimes they have to wait over 6.9 hours at cumstomers’ warehouses as they receive all kinds of merchandise from all over the world within a day’s window. thus delivery truck drivers only ship one truck load to one cumstomer warehouse per day, and they can call it a day if ho chai that one delivery is done early. easy job, but no takers from sinkies for entry-level $1.69k job for over 6.9 months.

If there were no Malaysians available to take the job, wouldn't you agree that you would be forced to redesign/rescale the job to attract locals?

The availability of cheap labour under the guise of maintaining a competitive economy is a major hurdle towards driving innovation to increase productivity.

Look at Amazon, because of American labour laws, they were forced to innovate and their warehouses are increasingly automated now. They even talk of lights-out warehouses in the near future as robots replace humans.

https://www.wired.com/story/amazon-warehouse-robots/

Our lax labour laws will be the death of our economy.

The warehouse you described is an archaic relic of the 20th century but is typical of warehouses in Singapore. Shame.

This article clearly shows one thing: personal career coaches should advertise on Gilbert Goh's site and he should charge top dollars for that... psychiatrists should also have a shot.

"During this period, I am thinking of a mid-career switch into a non-sales career path and I have been thinking, over-thinking, searching and not taking much action. " ---- This is where grab, lalamove, foodpanda and all gig-based apps should direct their recruitment exercise at.
on that note, they must make him sign and acknowledge the new town kaunsil's bye-laws on pmd's :unsure:

He should have been close to financial independence by his 40s. If he had followed my advice he wouldn't need a job anymore.

If there were no Malaysians available to take the job, wouldn't you agree that you would be forced to redesign/rescale the job to attract locals?

The availability of cheap labour under the guise of maintaining a competitive economy is a major hurdle towards driving innovation to increase productivity.

Look at Amazon, because of American labour laws, they were forced to innovate and their warehouses are increasingly automated now. They even talk of lights-out warehouses in the near future as robots replace humans.

https://www.wired.com/story/amazon-warehouse-robots/

Our lax labour laws will be the death of our economy.

The warehouse you described is an archaic relic of the 20th century but is typical of warehouses in Singapore. Shame.
we still have sinkies employed for warehouse, delivery, sales/marketing, and accounting/finance jobs. sinkie worker composition is about 69% overall. for more menial and labor-intensive work at warehouse and delivery, foreign workers including jiuhukias outnumber sinkies more than 2:1. also at around 69%. the sales/marketing/service part of the distribution channel is heavily staffed by sinkie aunties, some past their menopausal point of no return (to chiobu status). this is also one reason why both sinkie young men and uncles don't wish to accept any offers, sexpecially when they meet some of these aunties during interviews at the office. can see the sudden disgust and disappointment in their otherwise eager and fake-smiley faces. even if they accept any offers, i won't hire them as the work ahead demands professionalism and focus, not syt's milling around the orifice and office for their viewing pleasure. that's the beauty of face-to-face interviews and facial/body language.

before jiuhukias, there were tiongs. tiongs (from villages and small towns) were by far the most hardworking and productive workers at the warehouse and delivery. and they had brains and initiative too. when they were around, unloading from factory trucks were done by 9am; loading, stacking, shrink-wrapping pallets based on individual orders for delivery to cumstomers were done by 10am; delivery happened between 10 and noon. by 1pm, they either finished all deliveries or started their lunch breaks. and they returned to warehouse by 3 to park vehicles, cleaned up mess and prepared for next day's logistics. didn't need a manager. they trained and learned everything about the biz on the job. if any of them was well financed and ambitious, he or they could have started their own biz and competed with us directly or indirectly through parallel distribution. or they could have copied the same products, made them in china, and distribute them in sg. changes in mom quota's some years ago compelled us to reduce reliance on tiong labor. moreover, they were not getting any cheaper. some got poached and some returned to tiongsua to be back with family.

and then, it took over 6.9 months to look for (local) replacements. locals never responded. pay was increased from $1.69k to $1.96k. still no show from locals. jiuhukias responded, and they were hired on the spot. it used to be that driving company vans and trucks to their abodes was a requirement as (old) warehouse landlord charged a premium for parking commercial vehicles at the lot. for tiongs who shared rooms at hdb flats, it was slam dunk as they didn't mind having a vehicle for own transport and parking at hdb lot was cheap (or at least cheaper than old logistics hub). but for jiuhukias, they all balik kampong to johor by evening thus having them to drive vans and trucks to and fro tuas checkpoint is impractical and troublesome. thus we were forced to look for another warehouse where parking of at least 6.9 commercial vehicles is allowed and charges are low or free. new logistics hubs are better designed and they have adequate space per floor for parking of several vehicles, from 40-ft to 20-ft container rigs. moreover, many of them offer parking for free. but overall rent is higher as facilities are more up to date.

this kind of family biz kuching kurak operation cannot be automated as first of all, driving vehicles and delivery of goods are still part of the job. warehouse ops still require breaking down of pallets and hand counting of boxes by various products. it's not like we ship millions of products a day where automation or at least semi automation is warranted. the most being shipped per day are like 69 pallets containing boxes from several and various product lines. each (repacketized) pallet is customized per order from wholesale and retail. on a busy day there are approximately not more than 69 pallets going out on 6.9 vehicles. 1 vehicle can stop at 2 or 3 locations per day. sinkie warehouse and delivery workers who continue to work for us are seasoned uncles, none of them younger anymore. they constitute the gritty tough blokes of the merdeka generation. did their ns, completed all their reservist obligations, withdrawn some of their cpf savings, have kids that are grown up, and some are grannies already. but none of them have initiative nor ambition. nor think outside the box. the ones who do are no longer working for the company, but are either committing crimes or getting busted by law enforcement for illegal activities.

sinkies (coolies) are generally useless as handymen, unlike tiongs and jiuhukias. only do what is being told. and even if they follow instructions can still cock up. and they can't do jackshit with their bare hands and brains. we have a bike in the warehouse for sexercising (yeah, warehouse is that huge), and everyone is encouraged to ride it around in and out the hub for errands or for fun. no one rides it, thus air in the tires dissipates over time and tires go flat. me brought mini pump and left it there for workers to pump on their spare time. all senior sinkie uncles tried to pump tires but no success. what went wrong? the mini pump cums with both presta and schrader valve adapters, and by default i configured the pump for presta valve as i also used it for my road bike. i left instructions behind to switch from presta to schrader mode but none followed instructions, and they tried to force a presta-configured pump on a schrader valve. not only did they almost break the pump but had the cheek to tell me it was impossible to inflate the tires. they tried and they gave up. upon my return to warehouse i switched the pump to schrader and both tires got fully inflated in less than 6.9 minutes. "this is a test. how to promote you?" and sinkie uncles retorted. "aiyah! not interested lah." we increase their pay year over year nonetheless to contend with inflation.

pray tell me how. sinkies hopeless or not?

Must vote for PAP, don't tell Gilbert sob stories. PAP is the best, your PAST, PRESENT & FUTURE..vote for PAP.

h1cD8vJ.png

My guess is that this man and his family has been voting for PAP all these while. He deserves his fate.

we still have sinkies employed for warehouse, delivery, sales/marketing, and accounting/finance jobs. sinkie worker composition is about 69% overall. for more menial and labor-intensive work at warehouse and delivery, foreign workers including jiuhukias outnumber sinkies more than 2:1. also at around 69%. the sales/marketing/service part of the distribution channel is heavily staffed by sinkie aunties, some past their menopausal point of no return (to chiobu status). this is also one reason why both sinkie young men and uncles don't wish to accept any offers, sexpecially when they meet some of these aunties during interviews at the office. can see the sudden disgust and disappointment in their otherwise eager and fake-smiley faces. even if they accept any offers, i won't hire them as the work ahead demands professionalism and focus, not syt's milling around the orifice and office for their viewing pleasure. that's the beauty of face-to-face interviews and facial/body language.

before jiuhukias, there were tiongs. tiongs (from villages and small towns) were by far the most hardworking and productive workers at the warehouse and delivery. and they had brains and initiative too. when they were around, unloading from factory trucks were done by 9am; loading, stacking, shrink-wrapping pallets based on individual orders for delivery to cumstomers were done by 10am; delivery happened between 10 and noon. by 1pm, they either finished all deliveries or started their lunch breaks. and they returned to warehouse by 3 to park vehicles, cleaned up mess and prepared for next day's logistics. didn't need a manager. they trained and learned everything about the biz on the job. if any of them was well financed and ambitious, he or they could have started their own biz and competed with us directly or indirectly through parallel distribution. or they could have copied the same products, made them in china, and distribute them in sg. changes in mom quota's some years ago compelled us to reduce reliance on tiong labor. moreover, they were not getting any cheaper. some got poached and some returned to tiongsua to be back with family.

and then, it took over 6.9 months to look for (local) replacements. locals never responded. pay was increased from $1.69k to $1.96k. still no show from locals. jiuhukias responded, and they were hired on the spot. it used to be that driving company vans and trucks to their abodes was a requirement as (old) warehouse landlord charged a premium for parking commercial vehicles at the lot. for tiongs who shared rooms at hdb flats, it was slam dunk as they didn't mind having a vehicle for own transport and parking at hdb lot was cheap (or at least cheaper than old logistics hub). but for jiuhukias, they all balik kampong to johor by evening thus having them to drive vans and trucks to and fro tuas checkpoint is impractical and troublesome. thus we were forced to look for another warehouse where parking of at least 6.9 commercial vehicles is allowed and charges are low or free. new logistics hubs are better designed and they have adequate space per floor for parking of several vehicles, from 40-ft to 20-ft container rigs. moreover, many of them offer parking for free. but overall rent is higher as facilities are more up to date.

this kind of family biz kuching kurak operation cannot be automated as first of all, driving vehicles and delivery of goods are still part of the job. warehouse ops still require breaking down of pallets and hand counting of boxes by various products. it's not like we ship millions of products a day where automation or at least semi automation is warranted. the most being shipped per day are like 69 pallets containing boxes from several and various product lines. each (repacketized) pallet is customized per order from wholesale and retail. on a busy day there are approximately not more than 69 pallets going out on 6.9 vehicles. 1 vehicle can stop at 2 or 3 locations per day. sinkie warehouse and delivery workers who continue to work for us are seasoned uncles, none of them younger anymore. they constitute the gritty tough blokes of the merdeka generation. did their ns, completed all their reservist obligations, withdrawn some of their cpf savings, have kids that are grown up, and some are grannies already. but none of them have initiative nor ambition. nor think outside the box. the ones who do are no longer working for the company, but are either committing crimes or getting busted by law enforcement for illegal activities.

sinkies (coolies) are generally useless as handymen, unlike tiongs and jiuhukias. only do what is being told. and even if they follow instructions can still cock up. and they can't do jackshit with their bare hands and brains. we have a bike in the warehouse for sexercising (yeah, warehouse is that huge), and everyone is encouraged to ride it around in and out the hub for errands or for fun. no one rides it, thus air in the tires dissipates over time and tires go flat. me brought mini pump and left it there for workers to pump on their spare time. all senior sinkie uncles tried to pump tires but no success. what went wrong? the mini pump cums with both presta and schrader valve adapters, and by default i configured the pump for presta valve as i also used it for my road bike. i left instructions behind to switch from presta to schrader mode but none followed instructions, and they tried to force a presta-configured pump on a schrader valve. not only did they almost break the pump but had the cheek to tell me it was impossible to inflate the tires. they tried and they gave up. upon my return to warehouse i switched the pump to schrader and both tires got fully inflated in less than 6.9 minutes. "this is a test. how to promote you?" and sinkie uncles retorted. "aiyah! not interested lah." we increase their pay year over year nonetheless to contend with inflation.

pray tell me how. sinkies hopeless or not?

How much u paying them on average? U pay peanuts of course you attract unmotivated monkeys.

Without market distorting factors like cheap foreign labour, your operation would probably have closed down, taken over by a more efficient and automated central warehouse.

How much u paying them on average? U pay peanuts of course you attract unmotivated monkeys.

Without market distorting factors like cheap foreign labour, your operation would probably have closed down, taken over by a more efficient and automated central warehouse.
obviously you're not reading. i've already posted the various salaries in last few messages (#3 and #8). you're not here for a thorough detailed debate. that I'm very sure.

I don't mean to attack your biz personally. Just saying that many SMEs are simply following prevalent policy. 2k salary is peanuts with current cost of living. And when u bookend everything with 6.9, not sure if it's a serious number.

where did i say $2k for manager's job? if you read properly it's $3.69k per month. warehouse entry jobs start with lower pay ($1.69k for ft and $1.96k for sinkie) but if they remain on the job for over 6.9 years they get raises year on year plus bonuses and may get promoted to supervisor or manager too. those sinkie uncles who remain have been working for the biz for over 20 years. if they get a raise of 3.69% every year (to match or exceed inflation) they will be making way more than $2k 20 years later. in fact, some of them are getting well over $3.69k into their 50s. that's why they don't leave or hunt for another job. nor want to be managers. company trusts them, and they may not be the most happy employees but they show up everyday early and get work done. their incentives are a stable salary and early hours off after delivery. you guys are full of rhetoric but zero substance and facts when it cums to the real world. try becuming a boss for a small biz for a while and understand the difficulties and challenges of hiring and keeping good, reliable workers. the other boss in this forum that i respect is froggy because he deals with the real world. he fully understands my predicament. not you bunch of clueless oppies.

He should have been close to financial independence by his 40s. If he had followed my advice he wouldn't need a job anymore.

What advice? Should plan 20 yrs back. And ur were not around.:roflmao:

My opinion is those old woods just need to go when already matured. At age 60, please step down, leave and let those younger generation and school leavers earn a living. Their future/journey is rough long and winding one. They need to support their own family too. Those old woods ( including FTS) are depriving young sinkies of getting a decent job. PG and MG...plse retire gracefully.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/mala...-age-says-priority-should-be-for-yout/1786588