• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More SGs in their 30s jobless! HR Experts advise lower pay expectations...

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Job seekers in their 30s need reality check
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Experts advise lowering pay expectations as jobless rate for those in 30-39 age group goes up </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Shuli Sudderuddin </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

When Ms Cindy Lim was retrenched from her job in logistics in April, she realised that she had to lower her expectations if she were to get a new job quickly.

Initially, the 34-year-old, who has a degree in logistics and supply chain management from the University of South Australia, expected to be paid close to what she got in her old job.

But this was a downturn and she did not get many responses despite sending resumes to many would-be employers.

She eventually landed a job in customer service last month. It was recommended by a friend and she took a $1,000 pay cut.

'We can't afford to be fussy,' she said, referring to those in her age group.
Indeed, a readjustment of expectations is in order as statistics from the Ministry of Manpower show that those in the 30 to 39 age group have been hit hard by unemployment.

The labour market report for the second quarter this year shows that the jobless rate for this group rose to 4.7 per cent, from 2.9 per cent last year.

About 24,000 people in that age group were out of work, compared to 14,600 for the same period last year.

This represents an increase of 62.1 per cent, versus 39.4 per cent (for those below 30) and 48.5 per cent (for those aged 40 and over).

The jobless ranks among the 30 to 39 age group were across all educational groups, in particular those with degrees, polytechnic diplomas and below secondary school education.

HR experts said they could be shut out of new jobs because of pay expectations - even as the economy has hit a rough patch.

Mr David Ang, executive director of the Singapore Human Resource Institute, said they ask for higher pay as they are at the stage of their lives when they may need to care for young children and finance a home purchase.

'They may only accept lower-paying jobs for a period because of this,' he said.

Professor Richard Arvey, head of the department of management and organisation at NUS Business School, noted that employers are now cost-conscious and there might be a 'sensitivity to hiring older employees as they're more expensive'.

Some in their 30s may also be reluctant to consider venturing into new careers, observed human resource firms.

But Mr Dhirendra Shantilal, senior vice-president (Asia-Pacific) at Kelly Services, feels that the jobless figures may be rooted in structural unemployment from the loss of jobs in certain sectors, which did not recover quickly enough and bore the brunt of the global crisis.

'It is not an issue of employer attitude towards a certain age group or demographic segment,' he said, noting that business clusters like finance, retail and manufacturing have suffered in the economic slowdown.

A spokesman for the Workforce Development Agency said that as of end-August, 19,000 job seekers were registered at the career centres at the community development councils.

About 4,600, or slightly above 20 per cent, were aged between 30 and 40.
The spokesman added that there are problems unique to this age group, such as childcare, which can hinder their ability to go for training, for instance.

'There can also be mismatches in pay expectations between them and employers,' she added, noting that some also lack the skills, such as resume writing and interview techniques, to secure a new job.
From December last year to last month, the career centres assisted and placed about 13,000 job seekers, of whom about 20 per cent were in their 30s.

Experts reassure those in this age group that they are a valuable asset to any company.

Said Mr David Wee, managing director of Lee Hecht Harrison, which helps clients recruit staff: 'Companies know that it is important to retain high performers in their 30s - especially those who may have spent several years within an organisation and have gained considerable experience and expertise.'

He advised 30-somethings to make themselves more marketable by upgrading themselves with new skills and being more open to fresh opportunities.

For those out of work, he said: 'In these formulative years, working on a contract or temporary basis for a while may also be a way back into the workforce.'

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments

</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>When you keep opening up Singapore to foreigners, you will surely have foreigners who can better afford houses, cars, club memberships, elite schools, etc.
What is left to the average local Singaporean/NS Men and his families ?

in every community there's 10 % tops, 80 % average, 10 % lows
when we keep attracting n inviting the top 10 % from all communities around the world. Then our own 80 % average got depressed, marginalised down towards a bubbled low. Our native 10 % lows and 80 % average becomes a big bubble at the bottom of Singapore.

Then why serve NS; who will be motivated about NS ? Peace n Security for foreigners to supress us ?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: AbolishNSabolishNS at Sun Sep 27 13:54:53 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>when you keep looking around the world for foreign talents; you will surely find better n better ones to be our President, PM, DPMs, Ministers, Perm Secs, Architects, Lawyers, Doctors, Chief of Army, Chief of Navy, Chief of Air Force, Chief Justice, etc. etc.

Then why is it that our jobs open to foreigners but not others ? do you think we have the best President in the world ? do you think we have the best PM in the world ? then why we need foreign talent Managers ? FT Engineers ?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: AbolishNSabolishNS at Sun Sep 27 13:05:33 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>All these issues are the outcome of our govt policy.
Their main objective is to stay in power, probably stronger.
They need those FT (New Citizens) votes desperately.
They have studied the previous PAP voters are declining.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: perry0164 at Sun Sep 27 11:04:04 SGT 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>For the non professional, it is probably easier to lower expectation and get a job - that is supposedly to be true but even then, they have difficulties getting even an interview - and for one, you can NEVER get a post in the government bodies after you are retrenched! Any one got one? Please post here!

What about lawyers? I understand that once they are out, they have difficulties even getting a job even when there is no fault on his / her part! Now that less work requires less lawyers and other professionals like accountants, what do you expect these professional to do? They are bound by their so called societies not to be this and that so even getting a taxi licence can be a problem.

The govt does not look into all these and they put in millions of dollars to cater for FOREIGN TALENTS and feed the overseas immigrants rather than their own people. Sad! When will they ever learn? When they meet the maker, they will answer on Judgment Day!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kennyticks2010 at Sun Sep 27 07:48:57 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

THIS IS GREAT NEWS

Until job applicants are willing to change their expectations, they will remain jobless

Free market rules!

or they could take the alternative...

revolt!!!

hahaha, reserve that for your beloved aung san soo kyi lah

i respect aung san..

i dun respect you...because you looks like a bloody coward who only likes to take advantage of PRCs..! :D

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>100 resumes sent, zero reply

</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a24-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Lim worked as a security officer for a while but had to quit due to the long hours, as he has to take care of his grandma. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
Mr Lim Chin Choon, 35

Secondary 2 qualifications
He has sent out about 100 resumes to companies but has remained unemployed for four years.
He had previously done data entry in a firm which folded.
'I've sent out many resumes but the companies don't even reply. I even went for a course to be a security officer and passed it,' he said.
He did work as a security officer for a while, but quit because of the long hours.
'I live with my grandmother who is in her 90s, and I have to look after her, so I cannot be working too late at night,' said Mr Lim, who is single.
His tight financial situation is cause for worry. His parents give him $10 at a time for necessities.
'I think the main things that employers look at when you go for interviews are your age and education level,' he said.
'I am willing to learn and work hard, but employers tell me they are looking for someone younger and with better qualifications.'
He said he has gone to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as well as the Employment and Employability Institute for help.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>No light yet at end of this tunnel

</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a24-3.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Lee has been out of work for almost a year. 'People say the market is picking up but I am not feeling it so far,' he says. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

Mr Andy Lee, 34

Engineering degree from University of Wolverhampton
He has been out of work since November last year.
'I was retrenched from my engineering position when my company suffered during the downturn,' said Mr Lee, who got a three-month retrenchment package.
He is married to an administrative assistant and they have two children aged four and six.
'I send out a few resumes every week and even though I'm fine with taking a pay cut, it's still difficult to find work,' he said.
He has gone for only three job interviews since he was retrenched.
'People say the market is picking up but I am not feeling it so far,' said Mr Lee, who has managed to get some temporary work by helping his uncle run a canteen.
He added that he has some peers in his age group who are experiencing a similar situation.
He noted that this is the longest period of unemployment for him after graduation.
'I'm worried that the older you get, the less easy it is to get jobs. Maybe with many youngsters in the market, what we demand in terms of pay is difficult to fulfil,' he said.

why opposition parties neber round these people up?

they are good candidates for oppositions...to bring down the Hakka Lee Regime.

He is married to an administrative assistant and they have two children aged four and six.
'I send out a few resumes every week and even though I'm fine with taking a pay cut, it's still difficult to find work,' he said.
He has gone for only three job interviews since he was retrenched.

He has been sending out a few resumes and for a year, he only got 3 interviews. There are still some jobs around but companies are most probably hiring foreigners or PRs who do not need to serve NS.

Pity this chap who is not choosy but could not get any job offers, got two young children to feed and his wife of Admin Assistant is probably not earning much.

Aiyoh! Dun waste time with MOM/WDA/MCYS/E2i/NTUC or your MP.

They will tell you you have to lower your expectation.

Meantime they fuck you in the backside by letting as many FTrashs as they can get without checking their credentials somemore.

Only way is to commit suicide. The garbramen then cannot hold on to your CPF, and your beneficiary got money to spend.:(

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>100 resumes sent, zero reply

a24-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Lim worked as a security officer for a while but had to quit due to the long hours, as he has to take care of his grandma. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

Mr Lim Chin Choon, 35

Secondary 2 qualifications
He has sent out about 100 resumes to companies but has remained unemployed for four years.
He had previously done data entry in a firm which folded.
'I've sent out many resumes but the companies don't even reply. I even went for a course to be a security officer and passed it,' he said.
He did work as a security officer for a while, but quit because of the long hours.
'I live with my grandmother who is in her 90s, and I have to look after her, so I cannot be working too late at night,' said Mr Lim, who is single.
His tight financial situation is cause for worry. His parents give him $10 at a time for necessities.
'I think the main things that employers look at when you go for interviews are your age and education level,' he said.
'I am willing to learn and work hard, but employers tell me they are looking for someone younger and with better qualifications.'
He said he has gone to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as well as the Employment and Employability Institute for help.

Only way is to commit suicide. The garbramen then cannot hold on to your CPF, and your beneficiary got money to spend.:(

Thats a stupid option. Most of these people don't even have a handful of coins in their CPF

:oIo:

Aiyoh! Dun waste time with MOM/WDA/MCYS/E2i/NTUC or your MP.

They will tell you you have to lower your expectation.

Meantime they fuck you in the backside by letting as many FTrashs as they can get without checking their credentials somemore.

I am really fed up with this place,ever went to their CDC for help on jobs,they are quite helpless in getting jobs for PMETs. I hope the minister in charge can really look into how the PA staff are working to help and not rely on their stats to paint a rosy picture.
had a bad experience with them,i find them rather unreliable.There was a time when they totally ignore my normal email correspondence for a month and I got so frustrated that I finally email them that I am going to see my MP. whoa!less then an hour,email back to me and even call me to tell me that they were helping me to apply for job.
btw,who is the minister in charge?

You still haven't woken up, have you?

Minister is the one who created the problem!

You want to talk to the Minister for what?

I am really fed up with this place,ever went to their CDC for help on jobs,they are quite helpless in getting jobs for PMETs. I hope the minister in charge can really look into how the PA staff are working to help and not rely on their stats to paint a rosy picture.
had a bad experience with them,i find them rather unreliable.There was a time when they totally ignore my normal email correspondence for a month and I got so frustrated that I finally email them that I am going to see my MP. whoa!less then an hour,email back to me and even call me to tell me that they were helping me to apply for job.
btw,who is the minister in charge?

Sometimes stupid option is the only option.

I'm talking about myself. Only my money ain't destined for my family.

Thats a stupid option. Most of these people don't even have a handful of coins in their CPF

:oIo:

Ironic and sad isn't it. Now even at 30 to 39, they are telling you to lower your expectations.

Just complete NS and gotten a degree, work less than 10 years, if got retrenched, too bad, you must lower your expectations. If at age 35, still got reservist to serve. Employers will go for FTs/PRs, no such problem.

Don't even want to talk about life after the 40s.......

Ironic and sad isn't it. Now even at 30 to 39, they are telling you to lower your expectations.

Just complete NS and gotten a degree, work less than 10 years, if got retrenched, too bad, you must lower your expectations. If at age 35, still got reservist to serve. Employers will go for FTs/PRs, no such problem.

Don't even want to talk about life after the 40s.......

30s are the new 40s in Sinkapore, the 20s have the same problem. Not able to study in local university and told to lower their "expectation". I think the government might as well tell all sinkies to lower their expectation of themselves, the country, their life. Makes things easier when you have nothing else to strive for.