• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More goodies..Edusave Up!!!Horsay!

theblackhole

SINGAPORE: The Ministry of Education (MOE) has announced a one-off grant of S$154.8 million in the Edusave scheme.

The fund is split into two areas.

The first is a one-off top-up of S$130 into the Edusave account of each Singaporean primary and secondary student, which will cost MOE S$54.8 million.

The remainder S$100 million will be set aside for all public schools to upgrade their IT equipment.

Together with the annual contribution, a primary student would receive S$330 from the government this year, while each secondary student would get S$370.

The annual contribution for primary schools is currently S$200 and for secondary schools, S$240.

They may use the Edusave money for school enrichment programmes as well as sports and leadership courses.

The S$54.8m to be pumped into the Edusave accounts is the largest to be disbursed so far since the scheme started in 1993.

The last top-up to the Edusave accounts was in 2009 - a one-off sum of S$80. And in 2005, there was a top-up of S$100 to each account.

Separately, from this year, the ministry is increasing by 25 per cent the quantum of bursaries given out by the Community Development Councils and the Citizens' Consultative Committees.

This is targeted at Singaporeans studying in the Institutes of Technical Education.

For households with a per capita monthly income of S$300 and below, recipients will get S$1,000 per year, compared to S$800 previously.

Those with a per capita income of between S$301 and S$500, the bursary amount will be S$750 a year.

These enhancements were announced by Education Minister Ng Eng Hen on Sunday. He said they are to help schools and students cope with rising costs.

"We recognise that inflation this year will go up, because the price of oil has gone up, the commodity prices have gone up because of the floods (in other countries). We want to make sure that schools have the resources, when inflation goes up, to be able to ensure that education isn't compromised," said Dr Ng.

He was at a community walkabout in Bukit Timah. During his visit to a hawker centre, it coincided with a walkabout by Singapore Democratic Party members who were selling their party newsletter. But the encounter passed without incident.

Later, at a dialogue with residents, Dr Ng took questions on coping with the mother tongue language.

One mother wondered if primary school students can learn a second language like Mandarin well, given that most speak mainly English at home.

"How do we reward those kids who can get 100 percent in three subjects, but who barely pass or get 50 percent in their second language," asked a resident.

Dr Ng said parents and preschools would have to find a balance.

"They should ask the parents, 'what do you speak most at home?' If the children speak mainly English at home, I think they should spend 70 percent of their time in their kindergarten learning Mandarin. And then the other way around, if they're okay in Mandarin or speak more mother tongue language at home, they should teach mainly English to balance it," said Dr Ng.

As for concerns about doing mother tongue exams using computer keyboard, Dr Ng assured parents that this will only be done at the secondary level. At the primary level, the focus will still be on pen-and-paper writing.

-CNA/wk/ir

what is the big deal about it? When election comes, all these are just vote buying to con sinkies. Only those naive ones will shout hor say here and hor say there.

Wake up lah sinkies, just a few hundred $ only compare to the billions that they lost in oversea investment. Those are your money that you pay through tax.

Edusave is still people's tax money and they should even give more and reduce schools fees and price of textbooks too.

Windsor

Edusave is a scam that takes your money to pay Straits Times for their MONDAY Editions with Special Supplement specifically targeted for higher secondary students and periodicals such as Reader's Digest. A wonderful way to milk from the populace and we cannot say no, otherwise our kids will twiddle their thumbs whilst their friends are busy cutting newspaper clippings. One way or another they will screw you. Give $130.00 and take away much more than the amount given.

what is the big deal about it? When election comes, all these are just vote buying to con sinkies. Only those naive ones will shout hor say here and hor say there.

Wake up lah sinkies, just a few hundred $ only compare to the billions that they lost in oversea investment. Those are your money that you pay through tax.

Edusave is still people's tax money and they should even give more and reduce schools fees and price of textbooks too.

annexa

Why MOE bursary must give CDC to pay out? Why can't the budget go under MCYS instead since CDC is under MCYS? This is so fucking weird! Who the fuck thought of this kind of funny arrangement? This place is not logical!

Watchman

Nothing to do with 70 percent of you Singaporeans .

When they say teachers get more pay .
How many of your friends got it ?

Watchman

Edusave is a scam that takes your money to pay Straits Times for their MONDAY Editions with Special Supplement specifically targeted for higher secondary students and periodicals such as Reader's Digest. A wonderful way to milk from the populace and we cannot say no, otherwise our kids will twiddle their thumbs whilst their friends are busy cutting newspaper clippings. One way or another they will screw you. Give $130.00 and take away much more than the amount given.

As long your own money doesn't stay in your own pocket .

They do any bandit style governance .