• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

more evidence CPF gone = CPF v2 coming up

madmansg

Fixed deposits: GIC and Temasek Holdings should accept them
WITH reference to the article last Saturday, 'Why consumption won't help Singapore', I agree with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong that 60 cents flows out of our economy for every dollar spent in Singapore.

As an open economy, we can never fully stop money from leaking out of Singapore. We should spend money on education, on specialised training, certification and upgrading ourselves to a more skill-based economy. Investing in the construction of competitive infrastructures will enable Singapore to compete in the global arena.

We should encourage those who cannot spend their money in these areas, and build a culture of disciplined savers instead of an economy based on consumerism.

The saga of structured products here shows there are a large number of risk-averse Singaporeans who save large amounts of money bank fixed deposits.

As the cost of running a bank has increased dramatically in recent years, the return on fixed deposits is miserable, hovering around 1 per cent even when banks here lend at around 4 per cent (commercial rate). This naturally forces many depositors to look for better returns. This was made worse last year when we experienced one of the highest inflations in the past 20 years.

Although CPF gives a much better return than fixed deposits, many shun it as it is heavily regulated and withdrawals are not easy.

Singapore's GIC and Temasek are two of the best managed funds in the world, with a pool of exceptionally good managers with an excellent track record. The Government should look into the possibility of enabling GIC and Temasek to accept fixed deposits by Singaporeans, especially the older and less educated citizens.

These deposits would form only a small portion of the entire portfolio managed by these two bodies. We should encourage Singaporeans to be financially independent by encouraging more savings. One way is to reduce to a minimum the amount of cost passed to depositors and give them a higher rate of return. The Government should consider absorbing the cost of managing this fund as it helps us build a stronger and wealthier country.

The savings accumulated now will enable us to invest in ourselves and good companies when they expand. By preparing now, we can poise ourselves to leapfrog competing economies when the next upswing comes.

Syu Ying Kwok

Ads by Google

rainnix

>>Singapore's GIC and Temasek are two of the best managed funds in the world, with a pool of exceptionally good managers with an excellent track record.<<

I wonder how much of this is true since neither Syu Ying or me had seen the financials reports of GIC and Temasek. What made her write this assumption in the papers is really appaling.

Recent selling of assets (Singaporean) by Temasek had shown that Temasek had over-invested in the waning economy and their funds had hit rock bottom.

eQuipment

they trying to con more ppl to fix their $ inside the bogus account where they can never liquidate it in this lifetime.

'transfer from OA to SA - get higher interest' but irreversible! how many of sgporns can afford to transfer anything from OA to SA? once buy HDB, the OA hoot to kosong liao. and the OA will remain kosong for at least 20-30yrs, until the flat is fully paid up.

'top up SA - can get tax relief' but cash once inside CPF, can't withdraw till znghu say u can withdraw! how many sgporns over-worked & over-qualified & under-paid? where got spare cash to top up? they suka suka anyhow raise the retirement age, then suka suka raise the minimum sum quota, once the $ is inside, u won't get to touch it in this lifetime.

this scheme is something for those with too much cash, without any idea where-else to use it wisely.

for others without extra cash, living from hand to mouth, 1 hand in another hand out type, should think very very very carefully. it's worse than fixed deposit or term deposit. once, put inside, wait till die also can't take out.

oli9

Fixed deposits: GIC and Temasek Holdings should accept them

Singapore's GIC and Temasek are two of the best managed funds in the world, with a pool of exceptionally good managers with an excellent track record.
Syu Ying Kwok

Ads by Google

hahahahahaha. If temasek & GIC has the best fund managers, then why the paycut?
Cmon, if a company is doing well, would they want to embark a paycut exercise? Paycut is only for companies that arent doing well. Agree?

theblackhole

hahahaaaa...another minibomb in the making...waulau when will singaporeans learn man ever learn or not?