• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM wife has just passed away.

cooleo

>>Although she had shied away from a high profile, her contributions to Singapore had been most significant, and pivotal to its history.<<

Can list out her contributions? :rolleyes:

wizard

Political aside.... Their married is what we should learn.. In rich or poor.. healthy or sick.. Hope that i and my wife and grow together together..

QXD

RIP...the war with her is over. She belongs to the ages now.

Lets stop criticizing her and get the other one.

IR123

>>Although she had shied away from a high profile, her contributions to Singapore had been most significant, and pivotal to its history.<<

In my opinion, her contribution is to give MM Lee the stability so that he can pursue a successful political career, one that gave birth to Singapore and continued so wonderfully for a number of decades.

Singaporeans including perhaps you, had benefited from the contributions made by MM Lee when he was Prime Minister.

tankuku

RIP...the war with her is over. She belongs to the ages now.
Lets stop criticizing her and get the other one.
Alas! You can be sure clinton666 will start threads in her honor. Talking about that spastic maggot, where is he? :confused:

He has asked you to list her contribution but you rambled on about contribution. He is asking what contributions.

He is a start -Authored the Women's Charter to protect the female gender in a male oriented asian society.

Maybe she could have created an education programme to teach people how to answer questions.

If people ask you what your wife did and you replied that she allowed you to go to work and work well, its not something that falls under contribution. If you replied that she raised the kids to become someone in society that makes sense.

In my opinion, her contribution is to give MM Lee the stability so that he can pursue a successful political career, one that gave birth to Singapore and continued so wonderfully for a number of decades.

Singaporeans including perhaps you, had benefited from the contributions made by MM Lee when he was Prime Minister.

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
Initially Mdm Kwa Geok Choo was suppose to die last monday so that many singaporean including we at SBF can prosper on her death by buying her age 89 which came out first prize on wednesday 4D 8899 but she decide to postphone her death till today because she was angry that some SBF bro breaking news huat ah! MM Lee kena chest infection,sayonara soon...so that is the reason why she dun want us to huat ah! really wasted otherwise i boom town charlie..thanks SBF:rolleyes:

cooleo

He has asked you to list her contribution but you rambled on about contribution. He is asking what contributions.

He is a start -Authored the Women's Charter to protect the female gender in a male oriented asian society.

Maybe she could have created an education programme to teach people how to answer questions.

If people ask you what your wife did and you replied that she allowed you to go to work and work well, its not something that falls under contribution. If you replied that she raised the kids to become someone in society that makes sense.

Trust the spin doctors to spin her contributions as directly beneficial to Singapore. At best she played an indirect role to allow Old Man to focus on his political career.

Maybe Old Man can thank his gardener or Ah Mat driver who also indirectly assisted him in focusing on his career.

Areopagus

Please get your facts right...

Mrs Seow Peck Leng was instrumental in the Women's charter's passage...

See http://justwoman.asiaone.com/print/...+In+The+News/Story/A1Story20070612-14532.html

First opposition woman MP dies

Mrs Seow Peck Leng, known as Chua Seng Kim before her marriage, was among the first group of women to enter politics in Singapore's first General Election in 1959
Lynn Lee & Yap Su Yin

Mon, Apr 16, 2007
The Straits Times

SINGAPORE'S first woman opposition politician died last Friday at her Keppel Bay home. She was 95.

Mrs Seow Peck Leng, known as Chua Seng Kim before her marriage, was among the first group of women to enter politics in Singapore's first General Election in 1959.

Five of them - four from the People's Action Party, and Mrs Seow, from the opposition Singapore People's Alliance - were elected into the Legislative Assembly that year.

The mother of three boys became the MP for Mountbatten, at age 47.

Said her son Paul, 73, yesterday: 'Many people see her as a politician, but she was apolitic. Her cause was the welfare of women.'

Since Saturday, a steady stream of people - including Minister of State for Community Development, Youth and Sports Yu-Foo Yee Shoon as well as long-time friends from her uber-active days of social and community work - visited her son's Siglap Plain residence, where her body lay, to say goodbye to the grand dame.

At the tranquil and prayerful evening service, many praised her wisdom and foresight, especially when it came to women's issues.

Born on September 17, 1911 into a Peranakan family, her mother died when she was about three years old. Her father, busy with his car rental business, placed her with a widowed aunt.

Said her son Paul's older twin, Peter: 'Raised by women, that experience shaped her outlook and understanding of the world of women, their position in the household, the challenges they faced.'

She studied at the Singapore Chinese Girls' School and Raffles Girls' School. In 1930, she became a teacher and rose to be principal of the former Cantonment School in 1954.

Around that time, she began championing women's rights, especially being paid the same wages as men.

Her efforts, and that of pioneering PAP women politicians, met with success when the Women's Charter Bill, to protect and safeguard the rights of women, was passed in 1961.

In 1962, the Government instituted the principle of equal pay for equal work in the civil service.

But the year after, in 1963, Mrs Seow lost her seat in the General Election and, two years later, she retired from politics, to focus on social and community work.

Besides being a founding member of the Singapore Women's Association (SWA),she also became an organiser of beauty contests. She used them to raise funds for charity, while ensuring they did not become flesh parades but ways to promote the image of Singapore women.

Her long-time friend and SWA past president Susy Chia-Tsai, 69, called her a visionary who started several projects that benefitedwomen and their families.

'After the Bukit Ho Swee fire, she started a programme to encourage women to put their savings in a bank account for safekeeping rather than in their kampung homes.

'The former Chung Khiaw Bank, even had a staff member, dressed in pink, called 'The Pink Lady', to help illiterate women fill up the forms,' said Mrs Chia-Tsai.

Mrs Seow, whose husband died a decade ago, leaves behind three sons, seven grandchildren and four great-grandchildren.

The cortege leaves today at 3.30pm from Siglap Plain, for Mandai Crematorium Hall 2 for cremation at 4.30pm.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Can also list out her misgivings?

RIP aside, but for the record in history.

Areopagus

More info about the people who actually worked on the Women's Charter:

http://www.scwo.org.sg/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=38&Itemid=47

In 2005, SCWO launched the Wall of Fame to honour the significant contributions of pioneering women activists that had helped shaped the landscape of female advancement in Singapore. The objective of this initiative is to create awareness and allow their examples, achievements and endowment of philanthropy to be remembered.

It is important that we remember those who opened up possibilities that we enjoy today, those who cleared paths for us and opened otherwise closed doors. We need to remember the changes that have taken place , not only because we owe it to those who went before, but also in order to bring a sharper focus to our own understanding of present circumstances and a greater discernment in our appreciation of what still needs to be done to continue the good work.

There have been many powerful and passionate women whose struggles and achievements should be taught in schools, and stories of their deeds told to our children. The Wall of Fame is SCWO’s contribution to the process of remembrance and education. It will help both men and women be acquainted with our shared history.

SCWO inducted 6 passionate pioneers in 2005 and another unique lady in 2009, and this year, we are inducting 2 more outstanding women to our Wall. We strive to induct a new candidate every 2 years to commemorate women who are dedicated to the empowerment of women, and actualisation of equality for women. They serve as a reminder and an inspiration to all.

Criteria

Criteria for consideration for selection to the SCWO Wall of Fame:

A woman who:

1. Actively supports and promotes social justice and equality, safe living environment, social rights and independence
2. Provides education for self-improvement and self-sufficiency
3. Paves the way for other women to excel
4. Initiates and drives programmes for the advancement of women.

A Wall of Fame committee is established and nominates several women.
The board of SCWO will then select 2 or 3 per year to be honoured on our Wall Of Fame.

INDUCTEES

wall_chanchoysiongMadam Chan Choy Siong
Pioneer political activist

A pioneer political activist and one of the small minority of women in the political arena, Mdm Chan was a steadfast champion of the rights of women in Singapore in her positions as City Councillor, to which she was elected in 1957, and as Member of Parliament for Delta, 1959 – 1970.

She also led the PAP Women’s League when it was set up in 1956. Her key contributions included playing a pivotal role in campaigning for the Women’s Charter, passed in 1961.

Mrs Elizabeth Choy
War heroine and legislator

War heroine and legislator, Mrs Choy endured severe torture during the Japanese Occupation for her role in supplying food to British prisoners-of-war. After the war, she became the first and only woman to be nominated to the Legislative Council.

A teacher by profession, she established the Singapore School for the Blind in 1956 and served as its principle for the next four years.

Mrs Choy is an icon of the strength and resilience of women in Singapore.

wall_hajjahfatimahmosque

Hajjah Fatimah
Entrepreneur and philanthropist
Entrepreneur and philanthropist Hajjah Fatimah was first woman to have a mosque named in her honour in Singapore. After she escaped unharmed in robbery attempts at her residence, she contributed the land next to her home to build the mosque in gratitude.

The Hajjah Fatimah Mosque was completed in 1846.

Mrs Maria Dyer
Founder of St. Margaret’s Secondary School

MAKING A DIFFERENCE
Observing the plight of young girls sold into slavery in Singapore while she was en route to China in 1842, Mrs Dyer decided to help them by setting up a girls’ school to provide them with a better future. The result of her efforts was the first girls’ school in Singapore, the Chinese Girls’ School, which would later became St. Margaret’s Secondary School, as it is known today.

She arrived in Asia as part of the London Missionary Society, whose work also extended into Malaysia and China.

wall_seowpecklengMrs Seow Peck Leng
Founder of the Singapore Women’s Association

A founder of the Singapore Women’s Association in 1956 and the first Singaporean to be elected President of the Federation of Asian Women’s Associations, representing women in Asia, Mrs Seow served the community in teaching, charity efforts and social work.

She was dedicated to advancing the status of women in Singapore, and was the first and only female opposition member to be elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1959.

wall_shirinMrs Shirin Fozdar
Founder of the Singapore Council of Women

A founder of the Singapore Council of Women in 1952, Mrs Fozdar initiated the establishment of the Shariah Court which was formed in 1958 and led to a dramatic decrease in divorce amongst Muslim families.

She worked tirelessly in advocating for women’s rights and played a key role in getting the Women’s Charter enacted in 1961, and the Inheritance (Family Provisions) Act, in 1966. Her life was motivated by the principle of “equality of opportunity for men and women”, a tenet of the Baha’i Faith.

wall_julietanJulie Tan Eng Poh
Visionary Leader - Founding Member and 1st President of Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations and DEW Credit Co-Operative

She was a passionate and dynamic leader who championed the cause of womens’ rights and the less fortunate. Starting as a devoted volunteer for YWCA then serving as their President, Julie initiated projects to ensure that women, the elderly, and less fortunate had equal access to education and a better life.

She was a visionary who stood up during the 1970’s and spoke up for the need to empower women to take control of their finances and life. She was one of the founding members of Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations and was elected as its first President.

She was also instrumental in the establishment of D.E.W Credit Co-operative, the only credit union for women in Singapore, promoting women’s financial independence. Julie Tan remained as D.E.W Credit’s president until her bereavement in 1995.

If PAP has thses clowns as supporters, it speaks alot. They don't even know what the PAP did in terms of positive contribution. And you are right, by their logic, we should praise the driver and the gardener as well. Might as well bring in the chair and table so that he can sit down and work on the country.

Trust the spin doctors to spin her contributions as directly beneficial to Singapore. At best she played an indirect role to allow Old Man to focus on his political career.

Maybe Old Man can thank his gardener or Ah Mat driver who also indirectly assisted him in focusing on his career.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
As a politician myself, I understand what IR123 is saying. It is indeed not easy to pursue politics if you do not have wife who could take care of the family back end so that you can focus and handle the front battle. This is especially so when you are fighting the battle with great uncertainty of success.

Of course, that may not be DIRECT contributions but there will be a good supporting wife behind every successful politicians.

Goh Meng Seng

IR123

I said, 'in my opinion' and that is my focus.

You can always feel yours is better but i am not obligated to make that my opinion.

kingrant

Many an aggrieved wife of a wayward PAP member must be thankful for her intervention to give counsel to Old Man's ear. Hers must be the invisible hand that moves many a delinquent Minister/junior Minister out and off the stage.

Not to forget her contribution to the millions of HDB lessees for collecting only $1 conveyance for each flat.

Not going to be happy nor sending my condolences to her family. Those happy ones will get retribution, those who send condolences are fucking pretentious. Let see what LKY will do next....