• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [Medical] - Cancer survivors age faster and die sooner, scientific study suggests

UltimaOnline

TELEMMGLPICT000102204769_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqpVlberWd9EgFPZtcLiMQfyf2A9a6I9YchsjMeADBa08.jpeg

Cancer survivors age faster and are far more likely to die sooner than people who have never had the disease, a major study has shown.

A review into more than 1,200 published articles found that the average life expectancy of childhood cancer survivors is 30 per cent lower than the general population.

It means that a youngster who suffered cancer is likely to die in their 50s rather than 80s.

In general, cancer survivors are also more likely to develop long term conditions, such as heart problems, lung scarring, secondary cancers and frailty. They will also get age-associated illnesses sooner than the general population, the analysis suggests.

The researchers also found that cancer survivors had shorter telomeres - the protective caps on the end of chromosomes which are a marker of ageing - suggesting they have grown older than their actual years.

The researchers say much of the illness and accelerated ageing is down to harsh treatments such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy, which damage the body’s ability to fight back from illness and repair itself.

Dr Shahrukh Hashmi of the Cancer Center at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, who led the study said: “While ageing prematurely is a better alternative to dying prematurely, a better understanding of what drives this process presents an opportunity for improvement.

"We believe that cancer survivors deserve long-term follow-up for the mitigation of the late effects."

Around 52 per cent of people diagnosed with cancer in Britain will survive for at least five years.

But the analysis found that childhood cancer survivors are up to six times more likely to develop a secondary cancer, compared with the general population. The risk of frailty among bone marrow transplant recipients is around eight times as high as that of their siblings.

Likewise people given steroid treatments, are at higher risk of cataracts, osteoporosis, nerve damage, skin thinning, infection and impaired wound healing.

Some cancer drugs were also found to be associated with hearing loss, reduced thyroid gland activity, high blood pressure, congestive heart failure, muscular weakness, arthritis, kidney and liver diseases, chronic constipation, and infertility.

Radiotherapy was associated with dementia, memory loss, carotid artery hardening, and secondary bone marrow cell and blood cancers.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/...s-age-faster-die-sooner-major-study-suggests/

[Medicine] - Stanford University's revolutionary approach of using the body's own immune system against the cancer, works “startlingly well”, where all other methods (eg. chemotherapy, radiation therapy) have failed.

Scientists at Stanford University in the US found that injecting tiny amounts of two drugs directly into a tumour not only kills the original cancer, but also triggers an “amazing body-wide” immune reaction which destroys distant cancer cells and all metastatic tumors throughout the entire body.

90% of advanced-stage cancer-ridden mice were completely cured of cancer after a single injection, and 100% of the mice were completely cured of cancer after a 2nd injection.

With this breakthrough approach, the elusive cure for cancer is much closer within reach than ever before. 2018 could be the year in which humanity finds the cure for cancer (assuming big pharma doesn't get to the Stanford researchers first).

http://www.theweek.co.uk/91359/cancer-vaccine-to-enter-human-trials
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-5337727/Human-trials-start-cancer-vaccine.html
http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2018/01/injection-helps-immune-system-obliterate-tumors-least-mice
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/2018/01/31/cancer-jab-eliminates-tumours-body-even-spread-start-human-trials/
https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/5476657/human-trials-to-begin-for-cancer-vaccine-that-could-attack-and-destroy-tumours-all-over-the-body-following-a-single-injection/

As a stage 4A cancer survivor with barely weeks to live at time of diagnosis, me conclude that everything depend on luck.

If back luck, even early stage curable cancer also can kill you. If good luck, even terminal stage uncurable cancer also cannot kill you.

Yeah tanwahtiu can cure everything and anything but he won't go public. Talk big no action Sinkie shit

Fortonately or unfortunately, same treatment for same type of cancer on different people can have very different outcome.

During my treatment, there were patients with early stage cancer, those consider easy to cure, died early than those with terminal stage ones.

Most important thing is must be prepare mentally to let go, once the moment comes.

Not easy but the earlier a patient accept that there can only be so little time left and do the final things, the "lighter" and less pain the patient will feel.

race in cancer research is raging between 2 university hospitals in bay area: ucsf and stanford. healthy competition (no pun intended) between the 2 is spurring breakthroughs after breakthroughs. both are amassing and attracting the best talents from the medical research fields from around the nation and the world. in bay area 69% of the time while you’re drinking coffee in a cafe you may bump into the world’s top 6.9% of all brainiacs in any field. it’s a deep concentration of talent. meanwhile you can see illegals, gangbangers, and homeless all around. very stark contrast.

meanwhile in sg you know that 69% of sinkies are fucktards.

race in cancer research is raging between 2 university hospitals in bay area: ucsf and stanford. healthy competition (no pun intended) between the 2 is spurring breakthroughs after breakthroughs. both are amassing and attracting the best talents from the medical research fields from around the nation and the world. in bay area 69% of the time while you’re drinking coffee in a cafe you may bump into the world’s top 6.9% of all brainiacs in any field. it’s a deep concentration of talent. meanwhile you can see illegals, gangbangers, and homeless all around. very stark contrast.

meanwhile in sg you know that 69% of sinkies are fucktards.

Here is Singapore, we have reached a breakthrough in diabeties prevention thanks to the timely reminder by Loong. That alone created tangible benefits far exceed those nerdy cali researchers and their castles in the sky. :cool:

i have seen many unexplained cases of healthy individual falling ill, with no bad habits like drinking and smoking. i actually think a lot of things are fated in life.

https://www.webmd.com/lung-cancer/ss/slideshow-lung-cancer-overview

i know of someone in the past few years who had liver cancer, he opted for painkillers instead of going for chemo. the reason for that is he wanted to preserve his looks than going bald after chemotherapy. he was gone after 3 months on diagnosis of this dreadful illness.

stay happy!

Here is Singapore, we have reached a breakthrough in diabeties prevention thanks to the timely reminder by Loong. That alone created tangible benefits far exceed those nerdy cali researchers and their castles in the sky. :cool:
yes, i agree and believe you. sinkies need pap and loong to instruct them what to do as majority are still retards. pap and loong are the best.

i have seen many unexplained cases of healthy individual falling ill, with no bad habits like drinking and smoking. i actually think a lot of things are fated in life.

If you drink animal milk and eat cheeses everyday, you are setting yourself up for cancer too! Casein, the gluey stuff which forms the bulk of cow's milk and cheeses is a very powerful initiating carcinogen.

https://www.webmd.com/lung-cancer/ss/slideshow-lung-cancer-overview

i know of someone in the past few years who had liver cancer, he opted for painkillers instead of going for chemo. the reason for that is he wanted to preserve his looks than going bald after chemotherapy. he was gone after 3 months on diagnosis of this dreadful illness.

stay happy!
Yes, it's all down to the luck of the draw. I know people who don't smoke and yet kena lung cancer, some who don't drink and yet kena liver cancer. Hence, I drink and smoke. If I die, then fuck it. It's my choice.

good bro glockman, i dun smoke and drink btw. it's my choice too. but i am very stressed out by victoria police cos' my job involves driving a lot, i dun understand why i always see patrol cars going around me. it was the same situation when i was harrassed by the lasup matas in sillypore.:(

it's as if i have done something wrong, something that i learnt in life is that there is no need for reasoning, if someone abused authority, and he or she pick on you, don't bother to explain or defend yourself.

I just learned that type 2 diabetes and cancer can be reversed by fasting.

Knew you are chao kah type will humilate me.

See. Westerners doctors no cure increases side effect. This is 4 years of medical education resulted in b.s. push pills to make mire money.

Clever boy. Show to that 老医生 how fasting works?
He is not 老医生. His adult diaper is made in Canada and it is recommended by his 医生 to buy that specific brand to deal with his specific old fart problems.

good bro glockman, i dun smoke and drink btw. it's my choice too. but i am very stressed out by victoria police cos' my job involves driving a lot, i dun understand why i always see patrol cars going around me. it was the same situation when i was harrassed by the lasup matas in sillypore.:(

it's as if i have done something wrong, something that i learnt in life is that there is no need for reasoning, if someone abused authority, and he or she pick on you, don't bother to explain or defend yourself.
Yes, life is tough. Things happen when they happen. Most of us deserve better in life, then again often it does not get better. Fuck it, just hunker down and do our best.

Absolutely agree. Was recently told of someone who doesn’t smoke or drink. Leads a healthy lifestyle. Watches his diet. Goes for regular jogs and swims.

And yet kena lung cancer. 4th stage when detected. Sold off all his nightlife businesses. Owns lots of properties. Should be worth at least 50-70 mil.

Too bad. Still have to go. But he enjoyed life. 3 wives! And loves to sian char bors. All his motor-vehicles sama sama number - a 2 digit number.

Absolutely agree. Was recently told of someone who doesn’t smoke or drink. Leads a healthy lifestyle. Watches his diet. Goes for regular jogs and swims.

And yet kena lung cancer. 4th stage when detected. Sold off all his nightlife businesses. Owns lots of properties. Should be worth at least 50-70 mil.

Too bad. Still have to go. But he enjoyed life. 3 wives! And loves to sian char bors. All his motor-vehicles sama sama number - a 2 digit number.
Probably caused by the three wives. Having one is already headache enough. Three is suicidal.