• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [Medical] - Cancer survivors age faster and die sooner, scientific study suggests

non smokers with (sudden) stage 4 lung cancer can be genetic cases. know of tw man who died of such a case. his father, uncles and brothers also kena and passed away. runs in the male side of family. he was founder and principal engineering lead of chip foundry startup in sillycon valley. posted about this before. adult onset and became stage 4 quickly when first discovered. very hard to detect or prevent. right now no cure for genetic condition. hopefully breakthrough research results at stanford can lead to counter and help mitigate the “sudden” onset at late age.

"Cancer survivors age faster and die sooner, scientific study suggests"

Are you joking!:eek: Do you need any "scientific studies" from Stanford U, John Hopkins, etc to tell you that! What the statement means :
"Healthy people age slower and live longer - the peasants during the time of Qin Shih Huang found that out".

Stating the obvious.

TELEMMGLPICT000102204769_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqpVlberWd9EgFPZtcLiMQfyf2A9a6I9YchsjMeADBa08.jpeg

Cancer survivors age faster and are far more likely to die sooner than people who have never had the disease, a major study has shown.

A review into more than 1,200 published articles found that the average life expectancy of childhood cancer survivors is 30 per cent lower than the general population.

It means that a youngster who suffered cancer is likely to die in their 50s rather than 80s.

In general, cancer survivors are also more likely to develop long term conditions, such as heart problems, lung scarring, secondary cancers and frailty. They will also get age-associated illnesses sooner than the general population, the analysis suggests.

The researchers also found that cancer survivors had shorter telomeres - the protective caps on the end of chromosomes which are a marker of ageing - suggesting they have grown older than their actual years.

The researchers say much of the illness and accelerated ageing is down to harsh treatments such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy, which damage the body’s ability to fight back from illness and repair itself.

Dr Shahrukh Hashmi of the Cancer Center at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, who led the study said: “While ageing prematurely is a better alternative to dying prematurely, a better understanding of what drives this process presents an opportunity for improvement.

"We believe that cancer survivors deserve long-term follow-up for the mitigation of the late effects."

Around 52 per cent of people diagnosed with cancer in Britain will survive for at least five years.

But the analysis found that childhood cancer survivors are up to six times more likely to develop a secondary cancer, compared with the general population. The risk of frailty among bone marrow transplant recipients is around eight times as high as that of their siblings.

Likewise people given steroid treatments, are at higher risk of cataracts, osteoporosis, nerve damage, skin thinning, infection and impaired wound healing.

Some cancer drugs were also found to be associated with hearing loss, reduced thyroid gland activity, high blood pressure, congestive heart failure, muscular weakness, arthritis, kidney and liver diseases, chronic constipation, and infertility.

Radiotherapy was associated with dementia, memory loss, carotid artery hardening, and secondary bone marrow cell and blood cancers.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/...s-age-faster-die-sooner-major-study-suggests/

The study is stating the obvious.

"Cancer survivors age faster and die sooner, scientific study suggests"

Are you joking!:eek: Do you need any "scientific studies" from Stanford U, John Hopkins, etc to tell you that! What the statement means :
"Healthy people age slower and live longer - the peasants during the time of Qin Shih Huang found that out".

Yes, it's all down to the luck of the draw. I know people who don't smoke and yet kena lung cancer, some who don't drink and yet kena liver cancer. Hence, I drink and smoke. If I die, then fuck it. It's my choice.

Those who say it is due to luck are uneducated and ignorant. Well, that is how old farts are.

Smoking is not the only way to get lung cancer, there are other ways and air pollutants which can cause lung cancer, eg 2nd hand smoking or daily inhaling of incense, etc.

It is the same as liver cancer. Addictive drinking is not the only way to get liver cancer, there are other ways to get it too. A person needs to scan his lifestyle, habits and environment that is detrimental to his health.

All has to die. All will come to this stage.
What you do in this life and now that is more important.

Love more, laugh more , do more for others then yourself and envy less.

Agree, the study is stating the obvious, and yet some still want to cling on to power despite having 2C !
Worst still 70% think its OK to be called a dishonorable son

Stress causes cancer. My advice is not to take up stressful positions like the Prime Minister. But then again when you can afford multi million dollar treatments, why not?

I just learned that type 2 diabetes and cancer can be reversed by fasting.
Tony, stop your childish stupid nonsense.

You better start eating MEAT!!!

Vegetables have so many cancer causing chemicals!!!

He is not 老医生. His adult diaper is made in Canada and it is recommended by his 医生 to buy that specific brand to deal with his specific old fart problems.
Those who say it is due to luck are uneducated and ignorant. Well, that is how old farts are.

Smoking is not the only way to get lung cancer, there are other ways and air pollutants which can cause lung cancer, eg 2nd hand smoking or daily inhaling of incense, etc.

It is the same as liver cancer. Addictive drinking is not the only way to get liver cancer, there are other ways to get it too. A person needs to scan his lifestyle, habits and environment that is detrimental to his health.
Dont think like a balless sinkie leh. Cause of cancer is due to lack of vitamin B12!

Never ever trust some abnormal balless sinkie vegetarian like tonychat who think they are smarter than doctors.

Here’s my advice for anyone who kenna or know anyone who kenna cancer.

Trust me, the sequence is luck, genetics and lifestyle. If kenna, then be prepared mentally and physically that its going to be tough road ahead. My priority is that, must be minimum pain to end everything. Paiseh to say, totally no pain is not possible.

As long as you are mentally prepared, whats left is only the physical pain. Bear in mind that Hospice and Hospital can only do so much. If really sibeh pain until taboleh tahan, PM me, and make a final trip to Siam Lor.

Dont think like a balless sinkie leh. Cause of cancer is due to lack of vitamin B12!
sometimes cells go into shellshock, oops i mean cellshock, from induced stress after encountering a wholesome ladyboy.
ThaiLadyboy70.jpg

Never ever trust some abnormal balless sinkie vegetarian like tonychat who think they are smarter than doctors.

Trust me, the sequence is luck, genetics and lifestyle. If kenna, then be prepared mentally and physically that its going to be tough road ahead. My priority is that, must be minimum pain to end everything. Paiseh to say, totally no pain is not possible.

As long as you are mentally prepared, whats left is only the physical pain. Bear in mind that Hospice and Hospital can only do so much. If really sibeh pain until taboleh tahan, PM me, and make a final trip to Siam Lor.

Old fart, you have misunderstood my post again. Since you pay attention to my posts so much, i will have to give you the courtesy and reply to you.

I had never request/ask/needed anyone to trust or believe on what i posted. It is their freewill if they agree or disagree with my posts. It is all good.

Yes. You need people to listen to you, believe in you, trust you in whatever you say, especially your advice. According to you, you had survived cancer so you are qualified to be a guru and authority in cancer. Very nice. People, pls give him all the validation that he desperately needed. I have to admit that i do not understand such behaviour.

I have also posted a video on what i had learned on fasting in regard to cancer. In case you misunderstood again, that video is not done by me. I only transfer the code from Youtube to here. In addition to this, i never tell and need people to agree/disagree with that video too. I don't care. I just post here as an information provider.

Yup, you have to be mentally prepared. But those experts advise me that it is better to prevent it in the first place than to actually contracted it. In case you misunderstood my statement again, it is those experts who advise me, i didn't create those advice. The way to prevent it is to get educated and not be ignorant. ( this is also advised by experts and i didn't create this advice.)

Disclaimer: This very post is not needed to be validated by anyone. I don't need any validation and i don't care. Anybody can choose to agree and disagree with this post out of their own free will. Cheers.

non smokers with (sudden) stage 4 lung cancer can be genetic cases. know of tw man who died of such a case. his father, uncles and brothers also kena and passed away. runs in the male side of family. he was founder and principal engineering lead of chip foundry startup in sillycon valley. posted about this before. adult onset and became stage 4 quickly when first discovered. very hard to detect or prevent. right now no cure for genetic condition. hopefully breakthrough research results at stanford can lead to counter and help mitigate the “sudden” onset at late age.

Being a non smoker might not mean that he will be immuned to lung cancer. How his lifestyle and environment are like? Did he live in a neighbourhood where people are smoking crazy? did he has the habit of inhaling burning incense? any airbone chemicals in his work place? All these are needed to be investigated in order to arrive to an accurate conclusion of his lung cancer causes.

his doctor already confirmed it was hereditary.

The doctor's word is the gospel truth . That is dangerous. Good luck to your friend.
he's already dead and buried. this is the 3rd time i'm posting this. his father, uncles, older brother and nephews died of the same cancer. it's late adult onset thus allowing his family tree to grow despite the lethality in the gene pool.