• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT: HDB flats are for owner occupiers, not speculation or rental investment

SNAblog

I do not know when the rule was changed but it seems that one can stay in a private property and rent out his HDB flat, provided he fulfill the minimum occupation period. Therefore all PRs are eligible to buy one to rent it out for rental income, regardless of how many private properties they owned. With the surge of PRs in the last two years, this has led to the escalation of HDB resale prices, even in a recession year, thus catching Mah Bow Tan off-guard. Early this year, he had promised to review this loophole and completion is expected in "a few months time". Sinha Shekhar days of using his HDB flat as rental investment are limited.

http://938live.sg/News/Singapore/ED...ers,_and_not_speculation_or_rental_investment

HDB flats are for owner occupiers, and not speculation or rental investment
28 Jan 2010

HDB flats are for owner-occupation and not speculation or rental investment.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan stressed this point while speaking to reporters on the sidelines of an HDB event yesterday.

And he has tasked the housing board to review their regulations to ensure that no loopholes are being exploited.

Joanne Chan reports.

Fresh concerns over the affordability of public housing were sparked when HDB's latest housing data revealed that resale flat prices continued to climb in the fourth quarter of last year.

In addition, the median cash premium that home owners have to pay upfront doubled to 24,000 dollars, prompting calls for the Government to step in.

But Mr Mah noted that the resale market should be allowed to operate as a free market, with prices set on a "willing buyer, willing seller" basis.

Now, if you are a buyer, you feel anxious because you want prices to be low. But if you are a seller, you want prices to be high. So it's not possible for government to set the resale prices. If you were to interfere in the COV, or the resale flat market, essentially, you are saying the government should set the resale flat prices which I think both parties will be unhappy. Why? Because the buyer may be happy today, but today if he's a buyer, tomorrow he would be a seller. Then when we set the prices and he wants to sell, he will be unhappy."

While promoting a free market, Mr Mah drew the line at speculation, and stressed that public housing is for owner-occupation.

As such, Mr Mah said the housing board is relooking rules to ensure that prices are not being artificially inflated.

"If somebody is coming in the hopes of making money, through flipping or selling the flats later on, or to buy to rent without staying in there, I think that's not possible, that's not the idea of HDB flats."

Mr Mah declined to say which rules are being studied.

But he noted that the review will be completed in a few months' time.

Aside from reviewing regulations, Mr Mah said he has also asked HDB to step up enforcement.

"I've asked HDB to also step up on any possible breaking of the rules I don't know if it's extensive but anecdotally you do hear one or two cases. So we want to make sure that this is not happening."

Recent reports suggested that some flat owners at the newly completed Pinnacle @ Duxton, had rented out their entire units without a minimum occupation period.

This is illegal under HDB's housing rules.

Home buyers who received a grant from HDB must stay in their flat for a minimum of five years before they can sublet their entire unit.

For those who do not use a grant, there's a minimum occupation period of three years.

For the sake of FTrash, anything goes for these SELL COUNTRY DOG THIEVES!

I do not know when the rule was changed but it seems that one can stay in a private property and rent out his HDB flat, provided he fulfill the minimum occupation period. Therefore all PRs are eligible to buy one to rent it out for rental income, regardless of how many private properties they owned. With the surge of PRs in the last two years, this has led to the escalation of HDB resale prices, even in a recession year, thus catching Mah Bow Tan off-guard. Early this year, he had promised to review this loophole and completion is expected in "a few months time". Sinha Shekhar days of using his HDB flat as rental investment are limited.

http://938live.sg/News/Singapore/ED...ers,_and_not_speculation_or_rental_investment

HDB flats are for owner occupiers, and not speculation or rental investment
28 Jan 2010

HDB flats are for owner-occupation and not speculation or rental investment.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan stressed this point while speaking to reporters on the sidelines of an HDB event yesterday.

And he has tasked the housing board to review their regulations to ensure that no loopholes are being exploited.

Joanne Chan reports.

Fresh concerns over the affordability of public housing were sparked when HDB's latest housing data revealed that resale flat prices continued to climb in the fourth quarter of last year.

In addition, the median cash premium that home owners have to pay upfront doubled to 24,000 dollars, prompting calls for the Government to step in.

But Mr Mah noted that the resale market should be allowed to operate as a free market, with prices set on a "willing buyer, willing seller" basis.

Now, if you are a buyer, you feel anxious because you want prices to be low. But if you are a seller, you want prices to be high. So it's not possible for government to set the resale prices. If you were to interfere in the COV, or the resale flat market, essentially, you are saying the government should set the resale flat prices which I think both parties will be unhappy. Why? Because the buyer may be happy today, but today if he's a buyer, tomorrow he would be a seller. Then when we set the prices and he wants to sell, he will be unhappy."

While promoting a free market, Mr Mah drew the line at speculation, and stressed that public housing is for owner-occupation.

As such, Mr Mah said the housing board is relooking rules to ensure that prices are not being artificially inflated.

"If somebody is coming in the hopes of making money, through flipping or selling the flats later on, or to buy to rent without staying in there, I think that's not possible, that's not the idea of HDB flats."

Mr Mah declined to say which rules are being studied.

But he noted that the review will be completed in a few months' time.

Aside from reviewing regulations, Mr Mah said he has also asked HDB to step up enforcement.

"I've asked HDB to also step up on any possible breaking of the rules I don't know if it's extensive but anecdotally you do hear one or two cases. So we want to make sure that this is not happening."

Recent reports suggested that some flat owners at the newly completed Pinnacle @ Duxton, had rented out their entire units without a minimum occupation period.

This is illegal under HDB's housing rules.

Home buyers who received a grant from HDB must stay in their flat for a minimum of five years before they can sublet their entire unit.

For those who do not use a grant, there's a minimum occupation period of three years.

Mahbokkai is full of shit. Public housing is for owner occupier meh? Can he care to explain than why thousands of HDB flats are rented out to FT workers under their management company EM Services? Fucking HDB makes money renting out to FTs is OK. Peasant make money renting it out to FTs is not ok. This renting shit has been happening for decades now, the HDB was very loose with the enforcement before. In fact you are allowed to sublet your entire flat before the 5 year requirement if u meet certain criterias now.

The rising prices for HDB flats is once again blamed on peasants by Bok Kai saying its the speculation aspect that keeps the prices high. In the first place if the govt. did not let in so many of these FTs, there will be no speculators to begin with. How many of these speculators are from PRC and India, where speculating is seen as a way to make easy money in the real estate business?

In addition, Bok Kai's setting the price of a new HDB flat so high, it impacts the value of the resale flats. If new HDB flats are sold at their cost price of $100K, I guarantee u the bottom will fall out of the resale market. No one will want to pay $500K for a resale flat, they will be willing to live in an ulu place if they can get a new flat for $100K. This simple fact Bok Kai don't understand. The value of resale flats are largely driven by the prices set by him for new flats. This fucking moron.

Finally, buying one flat to rent and the other to live in is not speculating. Its investing. Its a legitimate finanical strategy. Buying 10 flats during pre-launch and flipping the contracts before they are build is called speculating. Bok Kai obviously cannot tell the diff. Call himself a minister?

Flat owners being able to rent out rooms is fine. This is of great help to those on the lower rungs of society. It helps the family bring in some needed cash. Perhaps laws should be changed to disallow ownership of HDB AND pte property.

Meaning regardless of how long you own the flat, the moment you buy a pte property (no longer lower rung of society), you have to sell the HDB flat. However since you have met the minimum occupation period you can immediately buy pte property upon sale of HDB.

So we will not have situation of someone living in a pte condo and renting out their HDB.

Meaning regardless of how long you own the flat, the moment you buy a pte property (no longer lower rung of society), you have to sell the HDB flat. However since you have met the minimum occupation period you can immediately buy pte property upon sale of HDB.

I think one need to top up the CPF that you use . Unless its spare cash !

Cheebye Horse need to go back to Secondary School to know what is the definition of Speculation

Cheebye Horse Face

Don't understand relevance to top up of CPF. You sell HDB flat (part of $ goes back to CPF) and use proceeds t buy pte prop using both CPF and your own $$.

Of couse need more $$ since pte prop cost more.

Sellers wants high price,
Buyers wants low price,
HDB don't give a fuck what price as they are still charging the same transaction levy! And they will only keep on increasing this levy!
HDB estates are sinkies oasis, as it is built by sinkies for sinkies, all FTrash should be banned from living in HDB area, but then again such garbage are everywhere especially the NUS dorm!

Don't understand relevance to top up of CPF. You sell HDB flat (part of $ goes back to CPF) and use proceeds t buy pte prop using both CPF and your own $$.

Of couse need more $$ since pte prop cost more.

not so simple. this is how those malays got caught being in debt and homeless.

they thought that if they had used 100k from cpf to pay for the flat, they just need to return back 100k to CPF and the rest they can pocket cash.

they did not know that u must return 100k plus the deemed interest earned back to CPF. so for example, if u owed 100k to cpf for 10years, u must return 100k x 2.5% x 10 years = 125k back to CPF.

After settling the outstanding mortgage and cpf plus deemed interest they find out that the flat actually is in negetive equity. must come out own cash somemore to settle the agent's commission and legal fees.

no more money for 5% cash deposit for next flat...

Sellers wants high price,
Buyers wants low price,
HDB don't give a fuck what price as they are still charging the same transaction levy! And they will only keep on increasing this levy!
HDB estates are sinkies oasis, as it is built by sinkies for sinkies, all FTrash should be banned from living in HDB area, but then again such garbage are everywhere especially the NUS dorm!

Sorry hor

They will tell you
You die your business

No money, please move to Johore

Problem easily solve - all HDB owners must attend info session before they sell their flats and get their funds released. info session will teach them about deem interest, managing finances etc etc.

I still stand by my POV that being able to sublet is a good thing for owners of flats as it gives them some financial flexibility.

not so simple. this is how those malays got caught being in debt and homeless.

they thought that if they had used 100k from cpf to pay for the flat, they just need to return back 100k to CPF and the rest they can pocket cash.

they did not know that u must return 100k plus the deemed interest earned back to CPF. so for example, if u owed 100k to cpf for 10years, u must return 100k x 2.5% x 10 years = 125k back to CPF.

After settling the outstanding mortgage and cpf plus deemed interest they find out that the flat actually is in negetive equity. must come out own cash somemore to settle the agent's commission and legal fees.

no more money for 5% cash deposit for next flat...

I think if your returns on your flats is so low and your financial capability is so low then forget about pte prop lah. That is why I say those that own pte prop are on a different economic rung.

Hence for those on the lower rungs the ability to rent out flat can be a life saver. It could very well help the elderly.

Problem easily solve - all HDB owners must attend info session before they sell their flats and get their funds released. info session will teach them about deem interest, managing finances etc etc.

I still stand by my POV that being able to sublet is a good thing for owners of flats as it gives them some financial flexibility.

true and

agree, alot of young couples are renting out their 4/5 room hdb flats and are living with their parents. this really helps their finances.