• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Market Vendors still scared to vote opposition

SpareTyre

http://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=16821129&postID=8891406550794368371

Hi Lucky,

I have just came back from my weekly marketing trip with my parents. I spoke to some of our regular market vendors and sad to realise that lots of them are still afraid of voting for oppositon because of fear that they will be punished by the government after the elections. I did my part by telling them that my family had been voting oppostions all these years and we are still running a successful business without any problems from the government agencies. I think the fear at the ground is real and all of us should spend the next few days talking to anyone and try to help to take away the fear if fear is the obstacle for them to vote oppositions. Let's walk the talk and change the course for our future. Tks.

Best Regards
Eng Hock

4/5/11 13:01

Sleepless

Tell them, do they want to end up like the markets vendors in Bukit Panjang? Do they want their market to be sold to LHL's son's father-in-law?

Don't cry when their rental ups by 30% and govt says can't do anything. Sold is sold.

cheowyonglee

http://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=16821129&postID=8891406550794368371

Hi Lucky,

I have just came back from my weekly marketing trip with my parents. I spoke to some of our regular market vendors and sad to realise that lots of them are still afraid of voting for oppositon because of fear that they will be punished by the government after the elections. I did my part by telling them that my family had been voting oppostions all these years and we are still running a successful business without any problems from the government agencies. I think the fear at the ground is real and all of us should spend the next few days talking to anyone and try to help to take away the fear if fear is the obstacle for them to vote oppositions. Let's walk the talk and change the course for our future. Tks.

Best Regards
Eng Hock

4/5/11 13:01

sad to say, my mum is one of them.i still cant convince her that the vote is secret.she actually think for quite sometime but in the end, she said she vote for the PAP is not because she like them.But because she afraid we might not get new HDB easily next time.See lar, what kind of mentality all these oldies have.I really want to vomit blood after all these begging of her to vote for WP!!!

Debonerman

228625_10150162145178235_648578234_6749986_7083685_n.jpg

sukhoi-30

Yes..i think the fear factor means the opposition losing a significant numbers of votes from voters. A friend told me that his aged grandma asked him to vote for the ruling party because they are living in a "govt flat.'another fear it may affect her medical consultation in a govt polyclinic.
So the fear factor is a major concern for the opposition camp as shown by their repeated allaying of these fear among voters. I think this fear is a psychological barrier and will not come down drastically this GE.

cheowyonglee

Yes..i think the fear factor means the opposition losing a significant numbers of votes from voters. A friend told me that his aged grandma asked him to vote for the ruling party because they are living in a "govt flat.'another fear it may affect her medical consultation in a govt polyclinic.
So the fear factor is a major concern for the opposition camp as shown by their repeated allaying of these fear among voters. I think this fear is a psychological barrier and will not come down drastically this GE.

and becos of this fear factor generated by the PAP, the more we need to vote in more opposition into the parliament to counter it!!! Or else, once they control every GRC, and Mr Low is getting older soon and might not have enough strength to counter the PAP in the coming years if he is not able to win a GRC now, then it will be damn too late for all the Singaporeans!!! I hope my message is clear!!!!

no_faith

the 1 party for the last 40 yrs really have brainwash the minds.
vote for oppo, u will lose ur jobs, bonus, cpf, flat, pay dbl income tax etc.:eek:
vote for pap, u will not??? how abt losing job to FT, lower the wages expectation, overprice hdb, cpf cant take.:eek:

they have left their minds at the time of 40 yrs ago.:eek:

wikiphile

the 1 party for the last 40 yrs really have brainwash the minds.
vote for oppo, u will lose ur jobs, bonus, cpf, flat, pay dbl income tax etc.:eek:
vote for pap, u will not??? how abt losing job to FT, lower the wages expectation, overprice hdb, cpf cant take.:eek:

they have left their minds at the time of 40 yrs ago.:eek:

These group of people are the small time citizens that are eking out a living on a day to day basis. My mother is a stallholder and despite her liking LTK, she will still vote for pap come polling day. Her children however does not share her inclinations to do so. I respect my parents decisions to vote for whoever they want as I don't want politics to tear my family apart however who I want to vote for is where I draw the line.

Come 7th May, I will vote for WP. May Aljunied be blue this time, I and many others have waited 20 years too long for this.

Debonerman

These group of people are the small time citizens that are eking out a living on a day to day basis. My mother is a stallholder and despite her liking LTK, she will still vote for pap come polling day. Her children however does not share her inclinations to do so. I respect my parents decisions to vote for whoever they want as I don't want politics to tear my family apart however who I want to vote for is where I draw the line.

Come 7th May, I will vote for WP. May Aljunied be blue this time, I and many others have waited 20 years too long for this.

Your mother too? sigh...no reasoning with them.......what to do..........from rental room to rental flat to 4rm Ng for $18,000 sold for $235,000, bought three rm near her birthplace in Chinatown for $230,000.........she gives you the evil eye when you lambaste the PAP in her presence.

mei mei

Which market is that? I came back from market and all market vendors so eager to vote for opposition!! There is this market vendor in Tampines put up big big sign scold PAP!!

... I spoke to some of our regular market vendors and sad to realise that lots of them are still afraid of voting for oppositon because of fear that they will be punished by the government after the elections ...

I think the fear at the ground is real and all of us should spend the next few days talking to anyone and try to help to take away the fear if fear is the obstacle for them to vote oppositions ...
tis fear is real ... not oni market stall holders ... in fact, generally all small stall holders ... @ hawker centres, fudcots, kopitiams, pasar malam, etc. ... scare later kena revoke licens ... :eek:

can c how scared ze hawkers were wen bullied in2 not raising their prices 4 6 mths? ... dey juz guai-guai comply ... :o

no_faith

can c how scared ze hawkers were wen bullied in2 not raising their prices 4 6 mths? ... dey juz guai-guai comply ... :o
u will see smaller serving and smaller portion of the food ordered.:eek:
but i tot dey r our servants?:rolleyes: master obey servant?:eek:

on second tot, older generation in the past have not much education.
juz like most listen the their religious teaching.
they dun wan to have conflict wif politics so they can have peace to nurture the next generation, to protect us perhaps.

so right now, everything is changing. with the education and the info available around us. we also have to nurture our next generation and prevent them being exploit. we have a better idea of wat is goin on.

WE HAVE TO VOTE FOR CHANGE, VOTE FOR HOPE

wowentian

I still maintain 成也Auntie, 败也Auntie. If these big groups of Auntie are not address, 票数无法过半!
When you go to Opp rally, you observe majority who shout for Opp party are males or females? You should know what I am trying to bring across.

moolightaffairs

got a friend family running family business. whole family 5 or 6 vote for pap!!! i ask her why!!! she said: we take loan from DBS, so got to vote for pap!!! i said: fuck you lah!!! vote pap not need to pay interest izzit!!! :oIo:

no_faith

...i ask her why!!! she said: we take loan from DBS, so got to vote for pap!!! i said: fuck you lah!!! vote pap not need to pay interest izzit!!! :oIo:
no offence but itz like u paying ppl to screw you.:eek:
since ur fren doing business, more likely the govt will sayang you.
cuz the govt is not interested with the peasants.:eek:

patrickv

I still maintain 成也Auntie, 败也Auntie. If these big groups of Auntie are not address, 票数无法过半!
When you go to Opp rally, you observe majority who shout for Opp party are males or females? You should know what I am trying to bring across.

oppo got hope still. i went to WP rally over at kallang ave the other day. i left early to catch the nsp rally at mountbatten. a group of aunties were leaving at the same time as me. got 1 aunty keep cursing pap!! scold n scold. say only the blind ppl vote for pap. later she walked past a cisco guard doing rd marshal duty, the aunty scold him for being a pap man:eek:

the guard is like wtf?? damn funny.

if more aunties are like this gusty aunty then spore got hope.

Bigfuck

Hawkers are frightened as someone spread rumours of licenses revoked if they vote otherwise, suggesting your vote is not secret. They should think of it this way. With rentals going up to ridiculous rates, licence ownership is a joke as you still cannot make a living.

Gallego99

sad to say, my mum is one of them.i still cant convince her that the vote is secret.she actually think for quite sometime but in the end, she said she vote for the PAP is not because she like them.But because she afraid we might not get new HDB easily next time.See lar, what kind of mentality all these oldies have.I really want to vomit blood after all these begging of her to vote for WP!!!

Ask your mom if she loves her children, better still grandchildren. Tell her your grandson or grand daughter may not be able to afford a roof over their heads if we dun vote responsibly. You will then have to condition her to cross the box with the opposition logo. Some will call it emotional blackmail but who cares it works!!!!!

Gallego99

Truth be told, many are still afraid to vote for the opposition for various reasons. One even told me that he's afraid that his foreign spouse may not get PR if he votes for the alternative party. FEAR is the biggest obstacle.

SpareTyre

Truth be told, many are still afraid to vote for the opposition for various reasons. One even told me that he's afraid that his foreign spouse may not get PR if he votes for the alternative party. FEAR is the biggest obstacle.

Exactly, fear is the biggest vote winner for the PAP and it is something we can all do by educating our parents, elders and the uneducated/poor/elderly we come across.

There is another 3 days before the election, do what we can in terms of educating them against fear. Keep on doing it after this election and I am sure we will have a different result in 5 years time

Makes me wonder. If you take away the fear and the Straits Times massaging the news in favour of the PAP....this ruling party would lose this election by a landslide.

Thats how unpopular this government is.

Without a corrupt press and rule by fear, the PAP is only good for 30% of the popular vote.