• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Marina Barrage and other flood alleviation schemes

Galleries Lafayette was a full departmental store, and did not just sell books.

There was a New Soviet Gallery - it was somewhere else before they moved to FE Plaza.

Lafayette Gallery

Can you remember the name of the bookshop that preceded McDonald's at Liat Towers? It was called "something gallaries" and was kind of high brow artsy fartsy in nature. It was owned by an "Ang Moh" Sinkie PR who lost money on almost every venture. I'm sure he's long gone now.

Gallery Lafayette was not brought into S'pore by an Angmoh, but Rosalind Ngoei & her father Bill Ngoei of Goldhill Development.

When Bill got into trouble with WCY of UOB, he sold GL to Henry Ngoh of Goldvein, the owner of Liat Towers.

BTW GL was never located at the basement, but on the 3rd & 4th floor of Liat Tower.

Liat Tower was previously owned by the Chua family of Cycle & Carriage.

GL then moved to Goldhill Square at Thomson Road before closing down. 'Twas a pity really - I quite liked their things. GS is now United Square - I wonder if that got flooded.

Gallery Lafayette was not brought into S'pore by an Angmoh, but Rosalind Ngoei & her father Bill Ngoei of Goldhill Development.

When Bill got into trouble with WCY of UOB, he sold GL to Henry Ngoh of Goldvein, the owner of Liat Towers.

I already pointed out that I'm not talking about Galleries Lafayette which did not arrive in Singapore till the early 80s.

I'm referring to an upmarket bookshop that was located in the basement underneath the Cycle and Carriage showroom. It was already there in 60s.

I already pointed out that I'm not talking about Galleries Lafayette which did not arrive in Singapore till the early 80s.

I'm referring to an upmarket bookshop that was located in the basement underneath the Cycle and Carriage showroom. It was already there in 60s.

omg! you must be really ancient.

Was it Donald Moore :confused: The guy who brought in all those angmo artsy shows like ballets, ... ?

GL then moved to Goldhill Square at Thomson Road before closing down. 'Twas a pity really - I quite liked their things. GS is now United Square - I wonder if that got flooded.

In 1980 when GL when 1st arrived in S'pore, they operated from United Sq. GL moved to Liat Tower after it was sold to Goldvein in the 80's.

Gallery Lafayette is history now.

U're right. My mistake.

In 1980 when GL when 1st arrived in S'pore, they operated from United Sq. GL moved to Liat Tower after it was sold to Goldvein in the 80's.

Gallery Lafayette is history now.