• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Marina Barrage and other flood alleviation schemes

There have been quite a few floods in Orchard Rd. In November 1976, I was traveling by bus through Orchard Rd to school when it got caught in a major flood. The passengers were told to alight and I made my way onto the then newly constructed pedestrian mall. Orchard Rd itself was a river. I got to school just in time for dismissal that day.

i second that

Well done. For bring back all ministers promise that they have fail us. So many oproject and money spent but flood become worst.
Compare to KL they have build tunnel to prevent flood. That really work.
Look like we have to learn from MAT.

After roads, flood alleviations programmes sucked up the most money from the government coffers. It was not surprise that Orchard Canal previously uncovered was so big. The issue is now. Orchard Road never reached waist high. In front of the old CK Tang one could see the big canal and I used to wonder who the fuck built such a big canal.

The "Orchard River" of this intensity and height is literally unheard of. I ts a new phenomenon.

The PUB and the Govt has to explain why it flooded when the rainfall did not reach record high for the last 3 occasions.

There have been quite a few floods in Orchard Rd. In November 1976, I was traveling by bus through Orchard Rd to school when it got caught in a major flood. The passengers were told to alight and I made my way onto the then newly constructed pedestrian mall. Orchard Rd itself was a river. I got to school just in time for dismissal that day.

I will leave it to Old Dog Thief LKy himself to own up this, or opposition supporters or bloggers etc to find the prove and relevant info, by from me, I offer a Political Theory for this silly Marina Barrage:

It was indeed an idea crapped out directly of Old Dog Thief's Ass Hole to build this Marina Barrage. ;)

For this old Ah Beng LKy, who went with KGC to visit PRC's majestic Three Gorge Dam, he is envy and become egoistic about it, that Ah Beng -LKy must also have one. Just like Ah Beng see Ah Seng got a new Rolex he must also go and get one for himself.

LKy personally managed to piss off Dr. M to have Malaysia sensitive about water prices, because egoistic Old Dog Thief himself went on TV to brag a lot about making $$$$ from selling water to Malaysians while buying it at dirt cheap prices from them. This has nothing to do with PRC's Three Gorge Dam, but is a separated part of the background.

LKy knows nothing about hydrological science. But when Malaysia don't sell water after getting totally pissed off, he 1st invented Sai-Chwee NeWater, then he ordered Yaacob to construct his Ah Beng's Three Gorge Dam.

Yaacob is just a scapegoat in this case, but regardless of that, we have to still slay this lamb.:p;)

Did LKy ordered it this crap Marina Barrage?

This is up to himself to own up or some one else to find the evidence.

I want to leave it as a Political Theory here for now.
:rolleyes:;):cool:

I also will not directly point at Marina Barrage to be the floods' cause, because that will be doing Yaacob's job, and then subjecting myself to defend this theory (not difficult but unnecessary). I will just point out enough simple facts leading to that direction, and then leave it to those who are drawing lucrative salaries for these job and appointments to work these tasks. I am just a blogging peasant. :p;)

still doesn't look like barrage problem to me, more like a combination of overbuilt surfaces and poor maintenance of drainage system.

first world hardware, third world software as always.

still doesn't look like barrage problem to me, more like a combination of overbuilt surfaces and poor maintenance of drainage system.

first world hardware, third world software as always.

any qualified soil engineer and hydrologist will tell you silt and soil debris pile up behind dams and at the bottom of dammed reservoirs. over a few short years, they can easily screw up the water table by saturation and cause a backfill of silt upstream. the two combined can result in poor downstream flow all over the drainage network upstream. all it takes is one dam in the network to cause a network-wide failure. this can only be tested after silt deposits have accumulated in a few years and in a widespread heavy downpour. i suppose test conditions are ideal now for meaningful results. :D

McDonald's at Liat Towers opened in 1979. It took over the space vacated by a bookshop. Can you recall the basement of Liat towers being flooded in your lifetime? I can't.

You got to mention "unusually high flood" or "higher than normal flood " or "exceptionally high flood", "very high flood", etc. I noticed that Singaporeans as a rule tend not to see context until it is provided or explained to them. Technically they are right as Orchard Rd had flooded before but certainly not the extent that it did recently.

A British engineer first told me this and he initially thought it was language thing where certain words mean different things. He told me that he once told one of his direct reports to buy a cake for a particular staff. The guy asked so many questions that he picked the cake himself. He told me that this direct report of his was good, competent and reliable. He initially thought the guy was trying to get out of buying the cake. It was only later that he realised that many Singaporeans have similar issues.

He calls it the taxi driver's syndrome where the cabbie ask which way to take as there are many routes and the fear of a disagreement arises.

McDonald's at Liat Towers opened in 1979. It took over the space vacated by a bookshop. Can you recall the basement of Liat towers being flooded in your lifetime? I can't.

He calls it the taxi driver's syndrome where the cabbie ask which way to take as there are many routes and the fear of a disagreement arises.

Can you remember the name of the bookshop that preceded McDonald's at Liat Towers? It was called "something gallaries" and was kind of high brow artsy fartsy in nature. It was owned by an "Ang Moh" Sinkie PR who lost money on almost every venture. I'm sure he's long gone now.

didn't mcdonald's open their 1st restaurant in sg at liat towers? they are no longer there today. (there is burger king.) they probably knew shit flowed thru' liat. as we know today, shit continues to flow thru' liat.

800px-Liat_Towers%2C_Dec_05.JPG

It was 1979?...I thought it was much earlier that MacD was opened; and there was long queue. Yeah, it was a book store before that. It does flood a little along that strecth of road, only if the December rains last a few days. But the basement of Liat Towers flooding no?, but Lucky Plaza....maybe, a little...but not like recently it becomes Klong Orchard.:p

didn't mcdonald's opened their 1st restaurant in sg at liat towers? they are no longer there today. (there is burger king.) they probably knew shit flowed thru' liat. as we know today, shit continues to flow thru' liat.

The company that own the franchise to burger king & others, the name slipped my mind; bought over Liat Towers; some years back. When MacD lease expire, Burger King took over....

thanks! there's a mistake in my grammar. i have corrected it.

You are probably right about the Liat Towers basement - I certainly have not heard of it being flooded before. That end of Orchard Road is higher than the river-like part I was referring to in my earlier post, which was from where Taka is now (then Ngee Ann Kongsi Building) to Mandarin Hotel.

Can you remember the name of the bookshop that preceded McDonald's at Liat Towers? It was called "something gallaries" and was kind of high brow artsy fartsy in nature. It was owned by an "Ang Moh" Sinkie PR who lost money on almost every venture. I'm sure he's long gone now.

Liat Towers was built by C&C Chua family.

Burger King was under Henry Ngo - he used to own Sheraton Towers - Bonvest Grp. No idea about now.

Nevertheless, hope that officials will make a transparent investigation. As a 1st world nation we cannot attribute floods just to acts of god. Especially since it happened once every few months.

Apparently they did not do a good investigation of what happened or quickly implement any new policies. Gov should be held financially accountable to comp those who suffered losses. After all it is same area flooded and not once in 100 year type heavy rain.

Something is amiss and this should not be swept under the carpet. The next time around the life of a person or child might be lost. I suggest bringing in outside independent expert and get them to do a study and have recommendation.

Pardon my ignorance on the operation of the Marina Barrage.

If there is too much water flowing in the city areas, couldn't the pumps just pump the water out into the sea at a faster rate?

I remember reading before that one pump can drain out an Olympic size swimming pool in seconds or something.

Lafayette Gallery