• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MAN SAVED $500,000 IN 20 YEARS WITH AN AVERAGE SALARY

covertbriar

A man who once lost his money in investments shared his story on how he saved $500,000 with a regular salary.

Here is the story:​

I am here to share my story and not to brag and hope that younger people can start saving earlier to retire and pay for important things in the future.

Here is my back story, I am 45 this year and I work a regular job earning $3,300 after CPF deductions. I’m single and I chip in with another sibling to take care of my parents and I do not have a car.

With $3,300, I give $500 to my parents and I only spend $500 for the whole month, Leaving me with $2,300. Guess what? I don’t invest the money because I can’t afford to lose any money if I plan to retire earlier and I’m not much of a risk-taker.

Guess what after 20 years I have $598,000, but I only managed to save $500,000 after 20 years. The reason is that there were unforeseen expenditures and I travel once in a while for fun. But I capped that amount at $5000 a year.

I save $2300 every month and I get a bonus of 1 month a year. This brings me to almost $30,000 worth of savings a year, I pay my HDB with my CPF and I have been renting one of the rooms out for $600 a month.

The $600 I use it to pay unforeseen expenditure such as furniture replacement, TV, repairs and bills, my personal insurance and a small insurance savings plan.

Car​

I have a driving license but I do not own a car as it is pretty useless to have a car in Singapore, not to mention the hefty payments such as Road tax and insurance.

Buying a car is like buying a debt, you can pay it in full but you are still a slave to the car. When the car breaks down you pay, when the car is thirsty you pay and many many more reasons.

Do not have a degree

I do not have a degree as my family was too poor when I was growing up, but nowadays degree students are everywhere. They sure can have a better salary than me.

So stop giving excuses that you can’t save money and complaining that your poor.

KNN KNN that's my uncle's leesciple KNN my uncle earn 3.5k take home 2.8k saved mostlee 2.6 to 2.8k and over a mil now KNN

$500k not enough to retire or be financially independent. in sg, at least $696k with all debts paid.

With his very frugal lifestyle, snd his savings if $598,000, I believe that he should he able to retire at age 60.
Besides, he has rental income of $600 per month to cover his utilities, as well as repairs snd maintenance.

What a thing to say for my uncle's leesciple :cautious: he has more to learn before being might as well be dead .
When the saving mode momentum has taken off the sense of achievement wouldn't lose to that of enjoyment or holding power to any entity eg ceo Minister etc .We would want to set another % target to be saved- % supersedes the amount in his case $2300 while in my uncle's case has attained 100% :wink:

CSB!

lol spend $500 per month for 20 years... never heard of inflation ah?

Anyway if u spend $500 per month for 20;years from 25-45, you will never get laid, never have a partner, never have a family, never have a life.

When the saving mode momentum has taken off the sense of achievement wouldn't lose to that of enjoyment or holding power to any entity eg ceo Minister etc .We would want to set another % target to be saved- % supersedes the amount in his case $2300 while in my uncle's case has attained 100% :wink:
nod-beard.gif

wait for the 'if he bought blue chips, bitcoin, apple ahares etc' crowd

Dear TS, congratulations for being able to save that much during your working life. One word of advice, do pamper yourself once a while and enjoy your favorite hobbies or leisure. If you happen to fall sick one day lying in the hospital bed, you will think back why you have so much money but now cannot really eat or enjoy and these money you saved throughout your entire life goes to someone (maybe your siblings or relatives) who will just spend it without much thought. It is always a good habit to save for a rainy day but do enjoy your life. Take my words for it, so that you won't regret one day.

It's never about savings it's about making or earnings !

While his discipline to save is definitely laudable, there comes a point where you sort of have to ask what's the whole point at the end of the day?

In Singapore context, $500k is a not high not low level, it is certainly sizable but not yet at a level where you can cruise along living a middle class lifestyle without working. A $500 monthly spending expenditure is really a pitiful experience in Singapore and the guy's already at 45, i.e. likely more than half his life he has been living in abject poverty.

Soon all the typical health issues will start to set in and by that time he wouldn't have that much time and energy to do the things he wants. The correct approach is a combination of saving discipline, career/pay progression, investment returns and enjoy material life while working towards an early retirement.

I would say this guy is an idiot.. 500k savings is certainly nothing, 1 major illness(touch wood) can wipe out your entire savings. Spending $500 monthly means your daily spending is @$16.66, besides hawker centres, doubt he can even step into an air-conditioned food court! That's real pathetic!

If he doesnt have a six-pack or learnt how to cook yet, its all futile. $16 budget per day can give you good quality home-cooked meals.
If he sustain that low cost lifestyle by eating the cheapest hawker fare he could find, then good luck.

A man who once lost his money in investments shared his story on how he saved $500,000 with a regular salary.
So stop giving excuses that you can’t save money and complaining that your poor.
Time to raise the GST!!!