• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysia is the 10th laziest nation in the world!

Malaysia is the 10th laziest nation in the world! The shocking piece of finding came from an international study timed intentionally to coincide with the London Olympic Games.

Worse still, Malaysia turned out to be the most slothful nation by far in Southeast Asia, scoring 61.4% on the inactive index versus Cambodia's 11.2%, Myanmar's 12.7%, Vietnam's 15.3%, Thailand's 19.2%, Philippines' 23.7% and Indonesia's 29.8% . Perhaps due to its small size, neighboring Singapore was not on the survey of 122 countries grading about 89% of the world's population.

"It is not something to be proud of and it is time for the Health ministry to get cracking on making Malaysians more aware of where we stand instead of giving the usual excuses and denials which do no one any good. A healthy lifestyle and an active and bright mind go hand in hand. So if we are fitter, the tendency is that we won't be so lazy mentally either," PKR vice president Chua Jui Meng, a former Health minister, told Malaysia Chronicle.

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/i...on-in-the-world-the-worst-in-se-asia&Itemid=2

Does the large Malay population have anything to do with it?

Malaysia is the 10th laziest nation in the world! The shocking piece of finding came from an international study timed intentionally to coincide with the London Olympic Games.

Worse still, Malaysia turned out to be the most slothful nation by far in Southeast Asia, scoring 61.4% on the inactive index versus Cambodia's 11.2%, Myanmar's 12.7%, Vietnam's 15.3%, Thailand's 19.2%, Philippines' 23.7% and Indonesia's 29.8% . Perhaps due to its small size, neighboring Singapore was not on the survey of 122 countries grading about 89% of the world's population........... A healthy lifestyle and an active and bright mind go hand in hand. So if we are fitter, the tendency is that we won't be so lazy mentally either," PKR vice president Chua Jui Meng, a former Health minister, told Malaysia Chronicle.

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/i...on-in-the-world-the-worst-in-se-asia&Itemid=2

On the other hand, we can also say that Malaysia is the 10th most relax country in the world where you can enjoy a lay back life.

denzuko1 said:
On the other hand, we can also say that Malaysia is the 10th most relax country in the world where you can enjoy a lay back life.

And JB is the worst town in this index for its proximity to Singapore.

The 10 most lazy countries in the world mostly likely have a large Malay and/or French population.

It has absolutely nothing to do with race. Malaysians should be proud of its LEPAK culture :D

most likely, cos i always heard of "relek one corner".:D

Country Region Both sexes% Male% Female%
Bangladesh South-East Asia Region 4.7 2.7 6.6
Bhutan South-East Asia Region 52.3 40.9 63.6
India South-East Asia Region 15.6 12.7 18.4
Indonesia South-East Asia Region 29.8 31.5 28.1
Malaysia South-East Asia Region 61.4 57.3 65.6
Maldives South-East Asia Region 39 36.6 41.3
Myanmar South-East Asia Region 12.7 10.4 14.9
Nepal South-East Asia Region 15.5 13.9 17
Seychelles South-East Asia Region 22.4 22.4 22.4
Sri Lanka South-East Asia Region 25.9 18.5 33.3
Thailand South-East Asia Region 19.2 17.1 21.4

Malays "lepak" mentality has something to do with stats. But basis seems also skewed as (inexplicably) Japan comes comes close to 11th??:confused:

It has absolutely nothing to do with race. Malaysians should be proud of its LEPAK culture :D

5 day job 8am - 5 pm

800 - minum pagi
900 - prepare start work
1000 - jon minum ... rokok
1100 - work n chit chat
1200 - lunch
1300 - sembahyang lah
1400 - work n chit chat
1500 - jom minum minum
1600 - work n chit chat
1700 - balik lah ...

The couple raised their four children to "work hard and not to expect things to come (their) way in life," said DPM Teo in a 1996 interview with The New Paper.

malaysian chinese are very hardworking .

i always respect malaysian chinese because ...from young they already dare to get out of their country in search of better life overseas .

malaysian chinese are very hardworking .
Not just work ethic (nature), but also due to bumi constraints on education, civil service and business (especially govt tenders). Especially with pro bumi policies after May 13 of 69.

Another endemic thing is brain drain

Like the song said. Its Malaysian government policy to encourage Malaysian Chinese to go overseas so they can return to benefit the country.

[video=youtube;sIE2JGT9iVs]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIE2JGT9iVs[/video]

Damned, 2nd time I linked this today. Must be something about Malaysia today.

PS: The nurse that just visited us today was from Malaysia as well. I've also noticed a lot of Malaysian that migrated here are predominantly Chinese.

i always respect malaysian chinese because ...from young they already dare to get out of their country in search of better life overseas .

Not just work ethic (nature), but also due to bumi constraints on education, civil service and business (especially govt tenders). Especially with pro bumi policies after May 13 of 69.

Another endemic thing is brain drain

agree with you 100% . thats why i always believe when the going get tough the tough get going for malaysian chinese .