• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Making A Wrong Turn

HokkienMee

And just as I was watching the commotion, a teenage girl got infront of me. My wife wanted to catch hold of her but was too late. She already got into the taxi.

Fark those PRCs.......

Sometimes bad things do happened for the sake of our good.
Just think at the positive side, what if the taxi that she took had an accident ? Thank god your life is saved ! Things always happened for a reason...

I used to be a bad temper person, and i always try to change that.
Always remind myself to be patient, calm, don't get involve too much.
If we get involve too much , it will only boil up our mind and body even if we win over the situations. The whole day we will only sucked up our own life.

It is just not worth it. Why would I want to get anger over a person's characters or attitudes or life ? Just remind myself not to be like them. We don't have to waste our time teaching them what is good or bad... Life is not perfect though...

During NS, there was this Dentist who had a severe attitude. Young chap recently qualified then felt that his status required people to immediately drop and kiss his feet. It was that bad. About 10 years later, charged and convicted of molesting his female patients.

There was this school prefect who felt that he was coolest chap on god's green earth. Always into the latest trend, in the in crowd but we always wondered how his folks could afford it. It was the same in his career in the ad field. Subsequently killed himself as the spending and his income did not match.

Met this guy in the same cohort for NS. One day, someone came across a studio photo of this chap in Officers gear before commissioning. Every weekend , hotel stay with girlfriend. He was not a screwjack but hooked on good life. Finally married his sweethheart with guard of honour. A few years later, killed himself.

Met this guy early in his career. Always on the phone with stockbroker. Gave advice on stocks to all the staff and his bosses. This lasted a few years. . One day he called me out of the blue. Asked for $200 to buy a coat of paint, brushes and a light bulb for his toilet in his woodlands flat. I was shocked.

This is odd story but it has to be told. Met this guy who was middle aged and married. His wife was a nice lady but sadly very ugly. Really an exception. Once in a while , the topic would come up for discussion but not to make fun. His wife eventually passed on due to cancer. This guy was a looker and he eventually found someone else. One day, he invited us to his place for dinner and to meet his new companion. Words cannot describe what we saw. He found another very ugly woman. We were stunned. I am not talking about plain jane.In all my life, I have rarely come across someone who has not benefitted from god's artistry but his ex-wife and his companion were the rare two. We were surpised how he managed to find another one. He told us he was blessed to fine some who is "petite" - his word.

The last story is about a chap I called "lucky". He was like many who like to be considered a businessman who honestly thought he had natural business acumen. His reasoning was flawed and his investment and sense of business would be the complete opposite of what the towkay or even the well known business school would preach. He would give up on one business and move to another business. He has run a pub, a restaurant, made blings blings for SIA, Car rental franchise and numerous other businesses. His was exceptionally lucky and stayed a float so much so that even his friends despite his flawed reasoning thought that he was an exception. On his 50th birthday, there was a big celebration and everyone had a good time. That night his wife told one of the ladies in a moment of despair that they do not own an asset and all the houses were rented. We always wondered where he stayed. In over 3o years of being in business, she said they have not owed anything. Looking at the 3 kids no one would have a clue. They behaved like they were some towkay's kids.

Wonder if they took a wrong turn in life or were just born like that.

The last story is about a chap I called "lucky". He was like many who like to be considered a businessman who honestly thought he had natural business acumen. His reasoning was flawed and his investment and sense of business would be the complete opposite of what the towkay or even the well known business school would preach. He would give up on one business and move to another business. He has run a pub, a restaurant, made blings blings for SIA, Car rental franchise and numerous other businesses. His was exceptionally lucky and stayed a float so much so that even his friends despite his flawed reasoning thought that he was an exception. On his 50th birthday, there was a big celebration and everyone had a good time. That night his wife told one of the ladies in a moment of despair that they do not own an asset and all the houses were rented. We always wondered where he stayed. In over 3o years of being in business, she said they have not owed anything. Looking at the 3 kids no one would have a clue. They behaved like they were some towkay's kids.

Scroobal

Your stories are not similar to mine. For argument's sake, I'll assume that they are all real, like mine. :smile:
The dentist, the prefect and the hotel stay guy didn't make wrong turns, they were already on the wrong path. Why? Can't tell from your account, seems that you probably don't know either.
The last 2 guys, it seems more like lifestyle choices than anything else. One likes "dumpy" women, the other likes to show off. As they say, one man's meat.............

The 2 guys I knew were really good people. They probably still are, but encountered bad times or made bad choices.
The chap from school was even a mentor to some of us at a school camp, including rebellious disidents and the school bullies.
What happened to them?
I guessed that a wife or woman could have been the problem. Another problem could be how harsh, unforgiving and judgmental our society is. No room for failure, little room for different views or ways, almost impossible to recover from setbacks or wrong turns.

Ok, now for the world cup final. :smile:

middaydog

incidents like these and other cases of injustice and inconsideration simply infuriates me

you should be driving up JB on some bad jam days at immigration check point where fuckards would go on the road shoulder and try to cut in front :oIo:

( :oIo: this means for those fuckards, not you sir )

i will struggle to not disclose too much detail about this sad story i am about to tell. But everything is true. i hope the guy is doing well today.

X was a student from the top JC and had won a local Saf scholarship. he finished Ocs and was serving as a signal officer before enrollment into Nus. Then one day he was caught for stealing Saf equipment and was sentenced to time in DB.

When X was released from DB, he was demoted and discharged from the scholarship but still had to serve the balance of his NS liability. Remember back in those days, NS liability for regulars was 2.5 x 2 = 5 years. The most screwed up deal was he was posted as an RP for the same camp as his ex unit. Imagine the humiliation he had to deal with watching his former subordinates and colleagues book in and out daily. This was SAF in the 90s.

Then came the worst part. His place in NUS expired after 5years since he couldn't disrupt from his "sentence".

I don't know X personally but I hope he is doing well today. Like you said, sometimes people make a wrong turn when they are young and circumstances make them pay for it for the rest of their lives.

during my reservist time, my S1 was discharged dishonourably.

he was caught stealing $ due to NS boys and reservist. ppl were not getting their IPPT awards and USMS awards due to them. last time the system not so computerised and so he managed to do it a while before he was caught.

jixiaolan

Feel sorry for them.....for what? They plot their own lifes and live their own destiny. The only difference is that they got caught while others gone scott free or are legally immuned from prosecution aka legalised corruption.

kingrant

Scro,

I dunno what to make of this. You are either humouring the TS and subsequent posters or you are adding to the real life sob stories.

I rather bet on the former. It's cynical but it's safer. At least, I get to laugh best.

Lol.

During NS, there was this Dentist who had a severe attitude. Young chap recently qualified then felt that his status required people to immediately drop and kiss his feet. It was that bad. About 10 years later, charged and convicted of molesting his female patients.

There was this school prefect who felt that he was coolest chap on god's green earth. Always into the latest trend, in the in crowd but we always wondered how his folks could afford it. It was the same in his career in the ad field. Subsequently killed himself as the spending and his income did not match.

Met this guy in the same cohort for NS. One day, someone came across a studio photo of this chap in Officers gear before commissioning. Every weekend , hotel stay with girlfriend. He was not a screwjack but hooked on good life. Finally married his sweethheart with guard of honour. A few years later, killed himself.

Met this guy early in his career. Always on the phone with stockbroker. Gave advice on stocks to all the staff and his bosses. This lasted a few years. . One day he called me out of the blue. Asked for $200 to buy a coat of paint, brushes and a light bulb for his toilet in his woodlands flat. I was shocked.

This is odd story but it has to be told. Met this guy who was middle aged and married. His wife was a nice lady but sadly very ugly. Really an exception. Once in a while , the topic would come up for discussion but not to make fun. His wife eventually passed on due to cancer. This guy was a looker and he eventually found someone else. One day, he invited us to his place for dinner and to meet his new companion. Words cannot describe what we saw. He found another very ugly woman. We were stunned. I am not talking about plain jane.In all my life, I have rarely come across someone who has not benefitted from god's artistry but his ex-wife and his companion were the rare two. We were surpised how he managed to find another one. He told us he was blessed to fine some who is "petite" - his word.

This was the case I am referring to:

Illegal banking operators jailed
By Cao Li (China Daily)
Updated: 2007-08-07 06:47

SHANGHAI: Three Singaporeans, Loh Foy-tau, Mok Kwok-kee, and Lee Kee-yong, and a Fujian native, Chen Peixiang, were given jail terms ranging from nine to 14 years by the Shanghai No 1 Intermediate People's Court yesterday.

They were found guilty of operating an underground bank.

Loh received 14 years, Mok 14 years, Lee 13 years and Chen, nine years.

The Singaporeans will be deported on completion of their sentences.

The gang, headed by Loh, 30, had remitted 5.3 billion yuan abroad in foreign currencies from December 2003 to April last year on instructions of the boss of Blooming Enterprises (BE), a Singapore currency exchange company. The court did not mention the name of the boss.

They had offices in Shanghai and Suzhou, Jiangsu Province, and opened 68 private accounts in 11 different banks for the illegal trade.

They operated money transfer services between China and foreign countries without authorization.

The gang said they did not know it was against the law as it was legal in Singapore. But a scanned copy of a report on China's rules against money laundering was found in Loh's computer.

Since last year, China has imposed stricter rules to curb money laundering.

Early this year, Wu Ying, a 26-year-old woman in Yiwu, Zhejiang Province, was found to have been operating an underground bank. She was said to have assets of at least 3.8 billion yuan. She has been arrested and is still being investigated.

Loh aroused suspicion early last year when he went to the Pudong branch of the Bank of Communications almost every day to transfer large amounts of money.

The bank examined his records and reported to the city's anti-money laundering department. The gang was arrested in April.

The case also resulted in a raid on one of its major clients, an Internet foreign currency exchange in Tianjin.

It allegedly cheated clients out of millions of yuan. The company claimed it could provide access to foreign currencies and margin trading. The company told clients it could turn a relatively small deposit into a 10-fold profit.

The case is said to be the first of its kind to be cracked and is still under investigation.

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2007-08/07/content_5448750.htm

my MT sergeant during NS time, he was charged and sentenced to 20 years in China. I was quite stunned! he is those blur,blur,friendly and like to talk cock kind of person. Moreover, we attended the same Secondary school, SAP school,though he was few years my junior. On the news report, he was being accused of money laundering,one of the biggest case in China.

Another story of my secondary friend, he was arrested for peeping in female toilet. Asked my another friend who was a police sergeant to bail him out. According to my police friend, he was quite furious as it was this friend's 2nd time of committing the offence. later in our lives, he borrowed some money from me and i think others as well,run road to China. Ever heard him said that his father was implicated in some lawsuit and also run road to China, I think he probably join his dad there. That was the last time I heard from him. I personally knew him as a someone who will be there for his friends but maybe due to some reasons,he had changed and took the wrong path.:(

Another story of my secondary friend, he was arrested for peeping in female toilet. Asked my another friend who was a police sergeant to bail him out.

A police officer still in service cannot bail out any accused person under custody. Perhaps your friend facilitated the posting of bail but surely the bailor was another.

How about this, a friend of mine, her brother, earns 5K salary, had a girlfriend, drive a car and life was good. But was caught molesting an 8 years old kid. He was sentenced twice. Cant imagine how my friend going to deal with her brother when he's with her children. :(:(

Why your friends all so perverted? Hollandse Club member?

ya,very wasted indeed! remind me of Yio Chu Kang MRT toilet, when you pee,someone will peep. All these perverted behaviour shld seek psychiatric treatment.

Damn sad hor? he got a very bright future 1, nobody knows he go fetish for kids. My friend didnt contact any of her friends anymore, embarrassed bah....

I think my police sergeant friend was asked to help to speak to the IO.
The friend who was caught told my police friend that it was a misunderstanding and 1st time. However, IO told my police friend that it was his 2nd...

A police officer still in service cannot bail out any accused person under custody. Perhaps your friend facilitated the posting of bail but surely the bailor was another.

I think my police sergeant friend was asked to help to speak to the IO.
The friend who was caught told my police friend that it was a misunderstanding and 1st time. However, IO told my police friend that it was his 2nd...

I have a friend, master degree and MNC manager, got caught for drunk driving, fined S$1,000 and banned for one year. Several months later, he got caught again, for drunk driving and without licence (since it was banned). For that he was sentenced to one month imprisonment. He's divorced and living with his parents. He told them that he'd be stationed overseas for a month.

Thats a myth. Police Officers do that to avoid being asked by friends and relatives. The conflict of interest principle applies if they have some sort in the case.

This must one of your ah huat warrant of arrest bullshit.

I think by now you would all have realised that it is not the wrong turn that is taken. In the majority of the case, its the outocme of nature and nuture. In primary 1, you would know that some chaps will land in jail. By the time that you finish your schooling and NS, you would know that family and society values would have shaped and nutured them.

The vast majority of criminals come from the lower income and broken homes where parents and surroundings just don't have the time besiding eking out a living to nuture them. Those from well do families are driven by desperation usually financial and greed.

The term "taking a wrong turn" is to soften the blow among family and friends to describe an event that had occurred someone close to them. It gives the impression that he was straight as an arrow but out of the blue he suddenly took a wrong turn and destroyed a promising career. Interestingly most of use can pick those who will never run foul of the law. The ones that we apply the term "taking the wrong turn" are those that are our friends, relatives and those that were nice to us. Society also assumes that someone holding a good positon or status in life can do no wrong while a position lower down the pecking order or is unemployed is expected to run foul of the law. Guess which category the term "taking the wrong turn" will automatically apply.

The law profession in Singapore is a classic example. Due to their size and nature of their duties, its a group that has constant contact with members of their profession. After a while the majority can tell with certainty who will cross the line and who won't by their daily conduct and mannerism. It is not a surprise to any of them when they hear that a certain lawyer has done wrong. To them it is already a given.