• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mah says 18,000 first timers bought flats, bullshit.

I like all these fake pre arrange questions in parliament. Lim Wee Kiak ask one question and Mah has the answer tailored to tell only one small part of the story. Than Wee Kiak pretends he is satisfied with the answer from Mah, and don't ask anymore clarification questions and sit down. They than wink at each other, and Mah mouths "Owe you one buddy". Later on, they masturbate each other.

There are so many questions that need to be clarified. 18,000 first timers bought flats in 2008 and 2009. SInce couples are usually the ones eligible to buy, and this is confirmed by Mah further on in the article, that means 9000 flats were sold to first time home buyers. Which translate to only 4500 flats a year!!! In addition, the article says 10,000 first timers bought new flats, which translates to 5,000 new flats sold over 2 years, or 2,500 flats per year. Consider there are 1 million flats in S'pore, only 2500 new ones a year are sold to first timers? Of these 2500 flats sold to first timers, how many were sold to first timers that are none S'pore citizens? i.e PRs.

From what I can see here, it appears that less than 2,000 new flats a year were sold to native born S'poreans. A truly pathetic figure. Consider in its heyday the HDB build 40,000 plus new flats a year, majority sold to new buyers, now its 2500? When you restrict supply until like that, is it no wonder that the price go thru the roof? The demand for new HDB flats from first time buyers must surely exceed 2500 a year. WHy have they not build more? Is it because the HDB price their flat so high only 2500 can afford it?

Wee Kiak, next time ask this kind of question can or not?

18,000 first-time HDB buyers
By Esther Teo

ABOUT 18,000 first timers a year bought Housing Board flats in 2008 and 2009.

Of these, some 10,000 or 55 per cent booked new flats. The rest bought resale flats.

Another 6,800 bought resale flats with the CPF Housing Grant, of whom about 3,000 bought a resale flat near their parents and enjoyed a higher tier grant of 40,000. The remaining 1,200 or 7 per cent bought resale flats without any grants.

These figures were disclosed by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan in Parliament on Monday, when responding to a question from Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak.

'The high number of young couples who buy their first flats each year is made possible by our generous housing subsidies. HDB is committed to help Singaporeans, including lower-income households to own their first homes,' Mr Mah said.

Lower and middle income families earning up to $5,000 monthly receive additional assistance of up to $40,000 through the Additional Housing Grant for the purchase of new or resale flats. A low-income family can therefore enjoy up to $80,000 in grants when buying a new flat, Mr Mah added.

I like all these fake pre arrange questions in parliament. Lim Wee Kiak ask one question and Mah has the answer tailored to tell only one small part of the story. Than Wee Kiak pretends he is satisfied with the answer from Mah, and don't ask anymore clarification questions and sit down. They than wink at each other, and Mah mouths "Owe you one buddy". Later on, they masturbate each other.

There are so many questions that need to be clarified. 18,000 first timers bought flats in 2008 and 2009. SInce couples are usually the ones eligible to buy, and this is confirmed by Mah further on in the article, that means 9000 flats were sold to first time home buyers. Which translate to only 4500 flats a year!!! In addition, the article says 10,000 first timers bought new flats, which translates to 5,000 new flats sold over 2 years, or 2,500 flats per year. Consider there are 1 million flats in S'pore, only 2500 new ones a year are sold to first timers? Of these 2500 flats sold to first timers, how many were sold to first timers that are none S'pore citizens? i.e PRs.

From what I can see here, it appears that less than 2,000 new flats a year were sold to native born S'poreans. A truly pathetic figure. Consider in its heyday the HDB build 40,000 plus new flats a year, majority sold to new buyers, now its 2500? When you restrict supply until like that, is it no wonder that the price go thru the roof? The demand for new HDB flats from first time buyers must surely exceed 2500 a year. WHy have they not build more? Is it because the HDB price their flat so high only 2500 can afford it?

By Esther Teo

Of these, some 10,000 or 55 per cent booked new flats. The rest bought resale flats.

Another 6,800 bought resale flats with the CPF Housing Grant, of whom about 3,000 bought a resale flat near their parents and enjoyed a higher tier grant of 40,000. The remaining 1,200 or 7 per cent bought resale flats without any grants.

These figures were disclosed by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan in Parliament on Monday, when responding to a question from Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak.

'The high number of young couples who buy their first flats each year is made possible by our generous housing subsidies. HDB is committed to help Singaporeans, including lower-income households to own their first homes,' Mr Mah said.

Lower and middle income families earning up to $5,000 monthly receive additional assistance of up to $40,000 through the Additional Housing Grant for the purchase of new or resale flats. A low-income family can therefore enjoy up to $80,000 in grants when buying a new flat, Mr Mah added.

your argument is so nonsensical and retarded that my iq fell by 50 points after reading it. can we flush you into the toilet bowl, since you are pure shit, and expel you out into the ocean?

Good news for u. You will be 'zapped' by the forum host if he sees your post - quoting huge chunk of message for a short reply. FAP doggy. Woof! :)

i am not even a pap supporter. i am a supporter of basic intelligence in human beings. sadly, papsmear and you lack the basic intelligence to be called human. you are just monkeys because your brains are non functional. can you peel a banana? if you can't do that as well i might have to downgrade you to a hamster.

This is how I see the numbers.

fact: only Singapore citizens can buy new flats (10K)
only Singapore citizens can get grant (6.8K)

Of the 18K first time buyer, 10K bought new flats (Singapore citizens). 6.8K bought resale and got grant (only Singaporeans can get grant).

So out of the 18K figures, 16.8K were Singaporeans, the remaining 1.2K were either Singaporeans that did not qualify for grant but bought resale (with the uptick in pte condos therey may be some Singaporeans that want a flat fast (resale) but income too high to qualify for grant (likely) or PRs.

Agree that HDB misjudged demand for flats but they are now pumping in 13K BTO per year. I think in 2 years prices shoud stabalise. Hopefully they do not over do it and cause a prop collapse.

By Esther Teo

This is how I see the numbers.

fact: only Singapore citizens can buy new flats (10K)
only Singapore citizens can get grant (6.8K)

Of the 18K first time buyer, 10K bought new flats (Singapore citizens). 6.8K bought resale and got grant (only Singaporeans can get grant).

So out of the 18K figures, 16.8K were Singaporeans, the remaining 1.2K were either Singaporeans that did not qualify for grant but bought resale (with the uptick in pte condos therey may be some Singaporeans that want a flat fast (resale) but income too high to qualify for grant (likely) or PRs.

Agree that HDB misjudged demand for flats but they are now pumping in 13K BTO per year. I think in 2 years prices shoud stabalise. Hopefully they do not over do it and cause a prop collapse.

The main number that i see is that 10,000 bought new flats, which means 5,000 actual flats are sold, assuming that u must be a registered or married couple. SInce this number is spread over 2 years, it means that only 2500 new flats sold each year. This is definitely no where near the demand.

i am not even a pap supporter. i am a supporter of basic intelligence in human beings. sadly, papsmear and you lack the basic intelligence to be called human. you are just monkeys because your brains are non functional. can you peel a banana? if you can't do that as well i might have to downgrade you to a hamster.

Why don't u go back to your home and fuck your mother while waiving your YPAP flag, u PAP piece of shit.

Please share with the rest of us the part that you think is nonsensical as well as your 'educated and intelligent' counter-points to the above.

Kindly help us to learn soomething and increase our IQ too.

Why don't u go back to your home and fuck your mother while waiving your YPAP flag, u PAP piece of shit.

This guy must be from the same family as that Clinton guy. No need to trade insults with him, just ignore him :)

OK about that 10K new flats.

But how about the 6.8K flats that got HDB grant for resale flats. ONLY citizens can get HDB grants. So this is a 100% fact.

This means that of the total of 18K flats only 1.2K are transacted by Singaporean that cannot qualify for grants and or PRs. Personally, I know of a friend that bought a resale during that period without a grant. Cannot qualify because combined pay was too high.

The main number that i see is that 10,000 bought new flats, which means 5,000 actual flats are sold, assuming that u must be a registered or married couple. SInce this number is spread over 2 years, it means that only 2500 new flats sold each year. This is definitely no where near the demand.

the figure will actually be lower - don't forget - the report did not state if it is BTO or booking of existing flats.

For all you know, 2,500 units could be 40% are BTO flats - which won't be realised 4-5 years later but reported now. Its like reported forward bookings.

Notice the word is "book new flats". So the fact remain that there are many young people out there who CANNOT have a flat. its useless to harp everyday that HDB is building flats on BTO basis because the flats (if they are built in the first place) will only materialise 4 yrs down the road.

the figure will actually be lower - don't forget - the report did not state if it is BTO or booking of existing flats.

For all you know, 2,500 units could be 40% are BTO flats - which won't be realised 4-5 years later but reported now. Its like reported forward bookings.

Notice the word is "book new flats". So the fact remain that there are many young people out there who CANNOT have a flat. its useless to harp everyday that HDB is building flats on BTO basis because the flats (if they are built in the first place) will only materialise 4 yrs down the road.

This is true. Mah said "book" which to him means the same as sold. But to everyone else in the real world, sold is when the actual property transfers hands. As I have mentioned the NMP and Wee Kiak has to ask these questions.

OK about that 10K new flats.

But how about the 6.8K flats that got HDB grant for resale flats. ONLY citizens can get HDB grants. So this is a 100% fact.

This means that of the total of 18K flats only 1.2K are transacted by Singaporean that cannot qualify for grants and or PRs. Personally, I know of a friend that bought a resale during that period without a grant. Cannot qualify because combined pay was too high.

Actually, if you are a PR, u can buy a flat and qualify for grants if your spouse is a singapore citizen. Lets say if a PRC national came to S'pore 2 years ago and got a PR (easy enough to get nowadays), than brings his spouse, also from PRC, in. When he converts his PR to citizen, his spouse would still be a PR. But under the HDB criteria, they can apply for a new flat as he is a citizen and she is a PR, even though they have been in S'pore for 2 years only!! Not fair right, but happening now anyways. The HDB does not reveal how many first time homebuyers have had their citizenship less than 3 years.

Agree with you totally but fact remains that 16.8K out of 18K sold to Singapore citizens.

No idea how many are new citizens. But if someone is willing to take up citizenship then we must accept them lah. We cannot differentiate between old and new citizen.

Problem is the PR who want to reap benefit without pay price of citiznehip or the ones here on work permit fighting for pace in our local schools..

Actually, if you are a PR, u can buy a flat and qualify for grants if your spouse is a singapore citizen. Lets say if a PRC national came to S'pore 2 years ago and got a PR (easy enough to get nowadays), than brings his spouse, also from PRC, in. When he converts his PR to citizen, his spouse would still be a PR. But under the HDB criteria, they can apply for a new flat as he is a citizen and she is a PR, even though they have been in S'pore for 2 years only!! Not fair right, but happening now anyways. The HDB does not reveal how many first time homebuyers have had their citizenship less than 3 years.

Agree with you totally but fact remains that 16.8K out of 18K sold to Singapore citizens.

No idea how many are new citizens. But if someone is willing to take up citizenship then we must accept them lah. We cannot differentiate between old and new citizen.

Problem is the PR who want to reap benefit without pay price of citiznehip or the ones here on work permit fighting for pace in our local schools..

Definitely you can differentiate between new citizens and native born. Why not? In reality, there is already many differentiations. Native born citizens have done NS and are doing reservist. Can new citizen say this? Native born also educated here and in 90% cases have a far better command of both written and verbal english. Native born citizens have their kids, parents, etc. residing here, not new citizens. The list goes on. I don't consider these new citizens to be true citizens. I consider them economic opportunists.

I disgaree, once you become citizen you are same as any other citizen. It is very hard to decide when can one become is a "true citizen". After he has become one for 5 years, 10 years?

Instead, the main issue is NS. So why not just reward those citizens that have completed NS with special benefits. Preference in HDB flats, larger HDB grants, larger healthcare subsidy, priority to get into schools.

Heck, they could even set up an annuity scheme for former NS men if they were honorable discharged and meet the means testing (below certain economic metrics).

But it would be unfortuanate to discriminate against new citizens.

Definitely you can differentiate between new citizens and native born. Why not? In reality, there is already many differentiations. Native born citizens have done NS and are doing reservist. Can new citizen say this? Native born also educated here and in 90% cases have a far better command of both written and verbal english. Native born citizens have their kids, parents, etc. residing here, not new citizens. The list goes on. I don't consider these new citizens to be true citizens. I consider them economic opportunists.

very true. today i was speaking with an optician when she looked at me asked satirically "why you speak with a slang?". this girl has been in singapore for 12 years and looks perfectly singaporean.

i looked at her and asked her if she is from "xxx country", because i could tell she was an "xxx citizen" from her accent. besides, singaporeans would never think i speak with an accent because they can tell my accent is how educated singaporeans sound like. she speaks ok english but even after decades in singapore, her english is not even a secondary 1 standard.

i then told her that the word is not slang but accent. and i told her that this is how educated singaporeans speak.

i am all for accepting skilled migrants. but all the migrants we accept seem to have problem even speaking and writing english properly, how can we even call them "skilled" when they cannot write a simple report to primary 6 standard?

the government should raise the bar and accept only fluent english speakers. we are flooded to the neck with all these foreigners who cannot write a simple report in proper english. how can they possibly contribute to our economy which works on english?

like the non english speaking waitresses, they are actually a liability instead of an asset.

very true. today i was speaking with an optician when she looked at me asked satirically "why you speak with a slang?". this girl has been in singapore for 12 years and looks perfectly singaporean.

i looked at her and asked her if she is from "xxx country", because i could tell she was an "xxx citizen" from her accent. besides, singaporeans would never think i speak with an accent because they can tell my accent is how educated singaporeans sound like. she speaks ok english but even after decades in singapore, her english is not even a secondary 1 standard.

i then told her that the word is not slang but accent. and i told her that this is how educated singaporeans speak.

i am all for accepting skilled migrants. but all the migrants we accept seem to have problem even speaking and writing english properly, how can we even call them "skilled" when they cannot write a simple report to primary 6 standard?

the government should raise the bar and accept only fluent english speakers. we are flooded to the neck with all these foreigners who cannot write a simple report in proper english. how can they possibly contribute to our economy which works on english?

like the non english speaking waitresses, they are actually a liability instead of an asset.
0507_A13.jpg

No choice lah.
If I were to pick the orange very carefully, how am I going to get my target of 6 million and more population for peesai?
And If I were to pick all the goodest and bestiest oranges, must pay them so much more even higher than the sinkies, then I and my men all eat grasss liao u know? lol lol lol