• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mah: "Buy a flat you can afford"

SNAblog

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_567361.html

Aug 17, 2010
'Buy a flat you can afford'

images

THE HDB resale market operates on free market principles where prices are negotiated on a willing-buyer, willing-seller basis. As such, buyers should carefully consider what they can afford, including the cash-over-valuation.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan gave this advice when replying to a question from MP for West Coast GRC, Madam Ho Geok Choo.

With the supply of 16,000 Build-to-Order (BTO) flats, he said this would help to lower the prevailing COV.

The substantial increase in new flats would cater to the needs of first-time home buyers, and siphon off some of the housing demand that is driving up resale flat prices, added Mr Mah.

He also said that first-time buyers can buy directly from HDB as well as the resale market, adding that the BTO flats to be offered this year would be augmented by 5,200 units under the Design, Build and Sell scheme and Executive Condominium Housing Scheme.

On measures to correct the imbalance in the HDB resale market, Mr Mah reiterated that HDB flats were intended for long-term owner occupation.

He cited how some buying HDB flats 'in anticipation of future price increases', despite not being in need of housing, being a contributing factor to the strong demand today.

'I advise buyers to be financially prudent and remember that HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation,' said Mr Mah.

===========================================

Latest comments

As mentioned previously, a high influx of FWs coupled with a "reactive" HDB construction policy are breeding grounds for property inflation and overvaluation. Must you really wait till BTOs are oversubscribed 16x before you consider building more HDBs?
Posted by: Lone_Wolfx at Tue Aug 17 14:21:29 SGT 2010

-----------

Telling other people what to do is cheap. Lets discuss about how to stabilize the market and then enforce them using the power that has been entrusted to you. You cant expect a typical family thinking of moving to another HDB flat to consider the consequences in terms of national property inflation and volatility, general affordability, etc etc? The big picture, Mr Mah, is your problem.
Posted by: Lone_Wolfx at Tue Aug 17 14:15:48 SGT 2010

-----------

'I advise buyers to be financially prudent and remember that HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation,' said Mr Mah.

What about those who own private properties and rent their flats out? Does that count as long-term occupation?

You can't "tell" the market how to behave but you can have better planning and policies to get the right reaction.
Posted by: Lone_Wolfx at Tue Aug 17 14:09:48 SGT 2010

----------

"On measures to correct the imbalance in the HDB resale market", Mr Mah ... gave advice. Wow. I dun mean to be rude, but erm, sometimes talk is cheap. Instead of concrete actions from HDB re: Resale flats, all we see is "advice".

Anyway thanks for releasing more flats. And thanks for not listening to all of us, the picky and choosy Singaporeans, earlier.
Posted by: yate2009 at Tue Aug 17 14:04:52 SGT 2010

------------

Property taxes should not be increased just because of rises in property prices, since the minister already acknowledged that �that HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation.'
Posted by: ladyhaha at Tue Aug 17 14:04:05 SGT 2010

------------

grandmarpole
Today, 12:48 PM
Looks like Mr.MBT is implying that only the "RICH" people can afford to buy HDB resale. Most likely targeting the foreign rich buyers who do not need to carefully consider as HDB prices to them are probably peanuts. Good heavens!!!

---------------

Misnomer
Today, 01:45 PM
Camp at the beach - that's the most affordable.

-----------------

Warmtoes
Today, 01:45 PM
HDB should review their overall curent policy on income ceiling on smaller roomd flat and as well as the Supply and demand planning to be in line with the immigration policy.It is always good to find ways and means to use our limited monetory resources and generate incomes for the country but i do not agree if that comes at the expense of very own citizens whom suffer lower quality of life.

------------

Warmtoes
Today, 01:47 PM
I think our minister do not really 'see' the pictures right...each BTO or all new flat will have to wait for 3 years to be completed and that's the problem, isn't it? With the infux of more new immgrants, the supply will always lagging behind the supply and with due respect, everyone will know the price will still goes up no matter what for resale market.

--------------

Warmtoes
Today, 01:48 PM
I am not implying that to let the resale market to crash or or have it devalued, nobody wants that but I am sure if HDB have planned and release more flats than now, I am sure the effect will be more immedite.Also, I am not really sure why the income criteria is not being review for smaller rooms flat since the flats value has appreciated so much as compare to our income.

-----------------

Warmtoes
Today, 01:48 PM
Is that what our governement wants to have a generation who will always in debt to HDB? I am not really sure how the younger generation is going to service a more expensive smaller flat with less than ideal income. How to get people to give birth to more children when people are struggling to get a decent house over their head with a comfortable savings?

------------------

ladyhaha
Today, 01:59 PM
Property taxes should not be increased just because of rises in property prices, since the minister already acknowledged that ‘that HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation.'

------------------

yate2009
Today, 02:00 PM
"On measures to correct the imbalance in the HDB resale market", Mr Mah ... gave advice. Wow. I dun mean to be rude, but erm, sometimes talk is cheap. Instead of concrete actions from HDB re: Resale flats, all we see is "advice".

Anyway thanks for releasing more flats. And thanks for not listening to all of us, the picky and choosy Singaporeans, earlier.

-------------------

hubhubhub
Today, 02:02 PM
Besides BTO flats, can the minister provide a schedule of HDB flats (non-BTO) to be completed in 2010, 1st & 2and half of 2011 and 2012.

With this information, potential HDB flat buyers can decide whether to buy re-sale or buy from HDB. Or HDB has stopped building non-BTO flats.

So when they building 1 room flats for young couples leh?

wat to consider when every unit is cash over value?:rolleyes:
taking high interest loan to pay off cov unit. pengz san.

btw .... are there any half room flat for sale ?? as it is, really gau um dim already ....:(

Doesnt MBT know that another contributing factor to the ever increase in HDB prices are also due to PRs? Msia have quotas for foreigners buying Msian properties. Spore PRs??? No limits/quotas! :rolleyes:

like that being a minister is as easy as ABC.

MBT : buy a flat u can afford. case close. move on.

Or sim Khaw : stay in a ward u can afford (if no $ for even the cheapest ward, go JB or die). case close. move on.

Lemon Lim : take a bus when u can afford (if no $ then u walk). case close. move on.

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

world class minister and all they can do is this?:oIo::oIo:

This is a typical motherhen statement that even a 10 year old can make. Mah Bow Tan, why dont you build flats that people can afford?:oIo:

You talk so much about your parents but they paid for their homes in 10 years and that is why a kuniang like you can become a minister earning millions a year even though your political party imported hundreds of thousands of FWs and yet you can be caught off guard. What the fuck were you doing that you didn't know that hundreds of thousands of FWs were coming into Singapore. You think they stay in tents?

If I see your face in public, you can expect the most KNNPCCB face you will ever see. I will give you nightmares for the rest of your life just by staring at you!

Minister Mah was the one who said HDB flat can be "monetized" for retirement, including selling it off. But now he says, "HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation"!

Shake head.

Goh Meng Seng

Minister Mah was the one who said HDB flat can be "monetized" for retirement, including selling it off. But now he says, "HDB flats are meant for their long-term occupation"!

Shake head.

Goh Meng Seng

What talk you long term occupation. You also sold your flat.

Stating the obvious and making motherhood statements - This is what these supertalented indispensable brilliant overpaid ministars are experts at.
Of course he knows that PRs buying flats have pushed the prices up and made it difficult for newcomers to buy a flat for their new families. But what's it to him? None of his business. Keeps the youngsters working hard and obedient.

As to whether flats are meant for long term occupation or to be monetized for monetary gain? Most people who live in hdb flats can barely keep up the mortgage payment on their flats. They are not looking to make a gain by selling the flat. Even if they do, what are they going to do? Buy a condo which has appreciated in price as well? Move to a bungalow? Again, he can't empathize. All they know is that this keeps the youngsters working hard and obedient.

"Buy a flat you can afford"?
Someone should tell him to take a salary that the country can afford.

Stating the obvious and making motherhood statements - This is what these supertalented indispensable brilliant overpaid ministars are experts at.
Of course he knows that PRs buying flats have pushed the prices up and made it difficult for newcomers to buy a flat for their new families. But what's it to him? None of his business. Keeps the youngsters working hard and obedient.

As to whether flats are meant for long term occupation or to be monetized for monetary gain? Most people who live in hdb flats can barely keep up the mortgage payment on their flats. They are not looking to make a gain by selling the flat. Even if they do, what are they going to do? Buy a condo which has appreciated in price as well? Move to a bungalow? Again, he can't empathize. All they know is that this keeps the youngsters working hard and obedient.

"Buy a flat you can afford"?
Someone should tell him to take a salary that the country can afford.

Have you guys so quickly forgotten? old wooden "assets enhancement" bought your flat in Queentown or Bishan for $xx,xxx now sell, $999,999.99 your assets is enhanced...

What long term...??

Shake head.

Goh Meng Seng

The PAP always says Singaporeans must accept pay cuts and lower their pay expectation. Next they say Singaporeans are not saving enough as they do not have enough money to retire. Also shake head and sigh.

In summary, the obedient sinkies are screwed. If you do not have an alternative party, you're left with only one path - that is the PAP path. Like it or not, SG future is sealed.

PAP can either do a good job and bring up the economy and pull its ppl along the way (no one shall be left behind) ... or simply do a good job at the expense of its ppl (cheap labour).

Whatever they do, I honestly think that they are doing a good job for the "economy". As for the rest.. I have no comment.

If a couple 1st timer buys a flat direct from HDB. Let's say they loan $150K.

2.6% HDB loan interest
30yrs to have a lower monthly installment.

Interest to be paid is $117K over 30years. Monthly installment is $742
If both couples have a combined monthly income of $3000, 25% goes to housing. That is provided 2 of them are working. If 1 is pregnant, out of job, retrenched, that is the big problem. And this is the problem why Singapore Birth rate is low.

Fear of being jobless, no money to pay housing, cannot get pregnant.
1 more child, not enough money to feed the kid after paying housing etc

Singapore Birth Rate can be improved, not on baby bonus, but if the govt look into encouraging couples to have kids and getting subsidies off the flats they have or currently had or even look to reducing their HDB interest.

It works hand in hand

3704118534_0eb2eceae9_o.jpg

Come on.
you think if we look after these chao sinkies, give them subsidies give
this give that, the fertility rate will SURELY increase?
Nay. It never works this way.
You look at Japan. Their garmen treat them so good but their fertility
still drop and drop what.
On the contary, it will only cultivate more waywardness and arrogance of these sinkies.
In time to come, they will topple my master and my golden rice bowl will
bicha liao.
Your thought I stupid brain izzit?
Whahahahhaaha.:D