• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mah Bow Tan: I was caught off guard on HDB resale mkt price surge in a recession year

SNAblog

http://us.asiancorrespondent.com/my-singapore-news/was-it-another-confession

Was it another confession?
Chua Chin Leng, 30 Dec 2009

Mah Bow Tan said "he was 'caught off guard' by how the HDB resale market trended north in a recession year" during an interview with Mediacorp as reported in the Today paper. He added, "nobody, no matter how prescient, no matter how clever, would have been able to predict that this was what was going to happen."

mahbowtan.jpg

I fully agree. I don't have a crystal ball with me to gaze everyday. I don't have any data or reports on the increase in population. I don't have any data on the supply and availability of flats. Neither do I know the demand pattern or the prices or flats in market. I don't even know the market prices or how govt policies could affect demand and supply and prices of flats. I don't have a team of super talent to tell me what is happening. But that is me. I am just an ordinary citizen, a layman who is not in the loop of information flow and decision making.

Should the people demand and expect the super talents, the best paid administrators and policy makers to say 'I don't know, I didn't see it coming?'

But one thing the minister knows for sure, the prices will keep going up. And that is because 'the current system is far superior to one that keeps housing cheap through a non market based system.' How did he know? Ah, it is the govt's policy, the way the system is set up and administered, that will dictate that prices must go up and not come down. No need to be prescient or clever to know this.

And what is the alternative or the only alternative available? A fixed price system whereby home owners would have to return the flats to the HDB and get back the price they paid for it. This is like the current govt is the best govt and the alternative is that all our women folks will become maids and the economy will collapse if another party comes to power.

Okay, no need to predict property prices, just go ahead and grab the next property quickly. Don't rush but if you don't buy now the next property will be more pricey. I wish I can be so confident of what tomorrow shall bring. Oh, I forgot, there are conditions attached. Property owners who want to ensure that their property prices will just go up and not down better know what to do.

Re: Mah Bow Tan: I was caught off guard on HDB resale mkt price surge in a recession

Another phrase for future generations to use....

CAUGHT OFF GUARD

HONEST MISTAKE

FIX THE OPPOSITION

UPTURN THE DOWNTURN

CHEAPER, FASTER AND BETTER!

Re: Mah Bow Tan: I was caught off guard on HDB resale mkt price surge in a recession

http://us.asiancorrespondent.com/my-singapore-news/was-it-another-confession

Was it another confession?
Chua Chin Leng, 30 Dec 2009

Mah Bow Tan said "he was 'caught off guard' by how the HDB resale market trended north in a recession year" during an interview with Mediacorp as reported in the Today paper. He added, "nobody, no matter how prescient, no matter how clever, would have been able to predict that this was what was going to happen."

I fully agree. I don't have a crystal ball with me to gaze everyday. I don't have any data or reports on the increase in population. I don't have any data on the supply and availability of flats. Neither do I know the demand pattern or the prices or flats in market. I don't even know the market prices or how govt policies could affect demand and supply and prices of flats. I don't have a team of super talent to tell me what is happening. But that is me. I am just an ordinary citizen, a layman who is not in the loop of information flow and decision making.
Should the people demand and expect the super talents, the best paid administrators and policy makers to say 'I don't know, I didn't see it coming?'

But one thing the minister knows for sure, the prices will keep going up. And that is because 'the current system is far superior to one that keeps housing cheap through a non market based system.' How did he know? Ah, it is the govt's policy, the way the system is set up and administered, that will dictate that prices must go up and not come down. No need to be prescient or clever to know this.

AMAZING :eek:. He does not know what is happening, the impact of policies, ....etc.

He is surrounded by scholars and yet need a crystal ball to predict (not based on facts).......

AND HE IS PAID MILLIONS TO DO WHAT ?? Called himself a 'minister'??

Every TOM, Dick, and ALI (Harry knows what is happening), knows the influx of so-called-FTs flooding the city (probably MBT thinks they lives in parks/gardens), the short supply of HDB, the escalating prices which he said was market-subsidy.......

I AM AMAZED WITH HIM (and some others, besides many I don't even know they are on our payroll).

MBT's "Caught Off Guard" is like the RSS COURAGEOUS Officer of the WATCH who collided with the GIANT Indonesian Freightor, also cannot see it coming.

The only difference is one had to pay dearly for the mistake the other who sneaked into Parliament by the back door continues to draw million $ salary with ZERO consequences.

Another phrase for future generations to use....

CAUGHT OFF GUARD

HONEST MISTAKE

FIX THE OPPOSITION

UPTURN THE DOWNTURN

CHEAPER, FASTER AND BETTER!

Didn't hear him that he caught offguard they increased his renumeration??

it is now 'fashionable' among PAP ministers and MPs to be caught off guard..

starting from ' limping-case-WKS' to 'waterfall-in-carpark-Yakault' to 'higher price hdb better Malboro'...

BBQ Seng also caught off guard lah.. but by a bottle of burning kerosene it is..:D

it is now 'fashionable' among PAP ministers and MPs to be caught off guard..

starting from ' limping-case-WKS' to 'waterfall-in-carpark-Yakault' to 'higher price hdb better Malboro'...

BBQ Seng also caught off guard lah.. but by a bottle of burning kerosene it is..:D

"Caught off guard" sounds like an excuse used by CISCO or Security Guards at condos. When we pay millions for those MPees' salaries, i expect a phrase of a higher calibre.

Don't tell us this is another minister who said HDB surged in price is another freak event that happens one in 50 year. I cannot understand why taxpayer monies are wasted on these kind of ministers in parliament.

continues to draw million $ salary with ZERO consequences.

This is the most sick part. where is accountability?

PAP accountability has always been if something goes wrong it is always either beyond their control or nobody could have foreseen it but if the reverse were true, they were the ones to be made it so.

Disgusting and yet so like them. Which is why I lost all confidence in them a long time ago.

Ha ha...

and this is the Million $$$$ Minister who is paid 5 times the salary of Barrack Obama

... or the combined salaries of :

US President Barrack Obama (USD 400 K)

French President Nikolas Sarkozy (USD 318 K)

German Chancellor Angela Merkel (USD 303 K)

British PM Gordon Brown (USD 279 K)

Australian PM Kevin Ruud (USD 229 K)

Japanese PM Hatoyama (USD 243 K)

http://www.yeocheowtong.com/Salaries.html

** Mah Bow Tan (S$ 2.7 mil = USD 1.95 mil)

Mah Bow Tan, you are dumb say dumb lah! Gives so many excuses. Peter Schiff with his Austrian school of economics predicted the crash of financial crisis when everyone still clueless. He would have predicted this also.

No apology but just plenty of excuses from Mah Bow Tan!

PAP has made many Singaporeans to believe that they are the brightest and the best, elites of the elites, cream of the crops, but now, he is saying that he couldn't possible to know the sudden surge in demand that cause the spike in HDB prices? It begs the question that if he is not so extraordinary and no different from others, why the hell are we asked to pay millions for his annual salary?

The crux of the matter is not about being caught off guard by the sudden surge in demand. The surge is not sudden anyway because for the last two three years, we have been opening up our flood gates for PRs and FTs! Even so, the problem lies in the pricing mechanism. Even if he knew that there is going to be a surge in the resale market prices, what could he possibly do with the present pricing mechanism set up by him?

The worse thing for him to say is that Singaporeans could only have two options, one is the present one while the other is have a fixed price for new HDB flats while citizens have to return the flats to HDB instead of selling in resale market! Why? Why can't HDB sell new flats at fixed price to citizens while allowing citizens to keep whatever profits they earn from resale market? HDB flats are built on land that mostly acquired from citizens at CHEAP dirt prices.

It is a social contract between the citizens and the government that such land acquisitions are made possible for the government to redistribute the land to many other citizens for the common good like housing. If citizens wanted to profit from such sale of their HDB flats, so be it!

Vote Mah Bow Tan out!

Goh Meng Seng

Mah Bow Tan, you are dumb say dumb lah! Gives so many excuses. Peter Schiff with his Austrian school of economics predicted the crash of financial crisis when everyone still clueless. He would have predicted this also.

Peter Schiff is an economist...this is Mah Bow tan, Minister of National Development SINgapore. minister extraordinare!!...none on Planet Earth can compare with his talents & pay.

:D

How can the moron not know prices will go up?

They imported so many FTs and approved so many PRs. When population increase, demand for flats will also increase ma! CB... only a retard will be "caught off guard"!

Honestly speaking, Mah Bow Tan, Wong Can't Sing and Lim Swee Say's credentials are the most in doubt.

As for Mah Bow Tan, I posted a thread earlier about Goal 2010 which was initiated by SM Goh Chok Tong and Mah Bow Tan was entrusted to make it happen..... He left his post as the FAS director before 2010 and in turn passed on the "hot potatoes" to someone....

My post is here just in case someone wanted to read it..... Cheers! Happy New Year!:D

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"News that New Zealand has gone batshit crazy because they have qualified for the FIFA World Cup for the first time in 27 years made me look up how Singapore was doing with our very own Goal 2010. You know, that target set by Goh Chok Tong, who was inspired by then World Cup champions France, fielding a team full of players who, in his own words, "dont look like Frenchmen". He must have went, "Eureka! Flood the Singapore team with foreigners and we will qualify for sure!" Can't say it is not a brilliant strategy. He already wanted to flood Singapore with foreigners then, and he wants some tangible results to shut the mouths of critics. "

After doing away with the Malaysia Cup, the formation of the S-League, spending lots of money on sub-standard foreign import (including one foreign import from Nigeria who was more interested in import/exporting old electrical applicances from Sungei Road), and the multi million salaries paid to Mah Bow Tan (President of FAS at that time).....

Where are we now? What do we need to do? I feel we have taken one step forward and 3 steps back because at least we had Fandi, Sundram and Malek Awab and David Lee back in the heydays.

Maybe we really need to stick some spurs into the hides of PAP this time round... to make them drive harder, strive harder....

Goh Meng Seng

Not bad for a minister sleeping on the job and still paid millions in salaries.No questions asked by the greedy coward singaporeans !Also can hold back stocks of new HDB flats to artificially push up the prics of HDB flats.This mutherfarker is making millions and Nmillions of $$$$$ from the greedy coward Singaporeans. No questions asked !

somthing not right?opposition good chance liao!:)

What a moronic statement from a moronic short ass!