• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Madam President Allows PAP To Draw On Reserves For 2nd Time To Fight Covid! Oppies Still Think Reserves No Money?

may-12-easing-of-circuit-breaker-measures--21-.jpg

SINGAPORE: President Halimah Yacob has given her in-principle support for Singapore to draw on its past reserves to fund a fourth support package in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat is due to deliver a ministerial statement in Parliament on Tuesday about further plans to help people and businesses.

It would be the fourth Budget within two months into the new financial year, and the second time past reserves are tapped for the Government’s COVID-19 response.

In a Facebook post on Monday (May 25), Mdm Halimah said Mr Heng and his team of ministers had briefed her and the Council of Presidential Advisers (CPA) last week on the fourth support package.

"Having deliberated and considered the recommendation of the CPA, I am satisfied that the fourth support package is necessary to ensure a safe transition to this new normal for Singapore. I have therefore given my in-principle support for the proposed measures to draw on the Government’s past reserves," she said.

Calling it an unprecedented crisis, Mdm Halimah said the economy will take "a while" to recover amid "significant uncertainties" in the global economy.

"We have to be realistic about the pace at which countries around the world make adjustments to the way trade and business are conducted. In the meantime, our Government has to help buffer businesses and people from the challenges, and save jobs," she said.

"It is critical that we reopen safely, so economic activities will remain slow even as we try to restart them."

JOBS, SUPPORT FOR SOCIAL SECTOR

Mr Heng, who is also Finance Minister, had previously announced support measures to help tide businesses, workers and households through the COVID-19 outbreak. Apart from the annual Budget speech in February, there was the Resilience Budget in March and the Solidarity Budget in April.

For the fourth support package, jobs will be a key part of the measures, said Mr Heng.

He noted that while the Jobs Support Scheme has helped many employers retain their workers, a number have lost their jobs and some are worried that they might be retrenched.

"Those in your 40s and 50s are more anxious. We will help you turn anxiety into action. We will support those in their jobs to learn and upskill. We will create new jobs for those who are seeking employment," he said in a Facebook post on Monday.

"We are also creating traineeships and other opportunities for those completing their post-secondary education this year."

Mr Heng added that the Government will provide additional support for social sector agencies so that they can continue to help the vulnerable amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...-halimah-yacob-budget-heng-swee-keat-12767544

WE the citizens of sinkeeland want MORE CASH HANDOUT NOW and URGENTLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PAP instruct Halimah to open,she will open the safe like an obedient puppet.

MDM President this laocheebye really think she can say no or yes at will. Lolololol.

KNN my uncle think it is same as ndp when commander asked for permission to march off the parade she also only can say yes KNN

Actually she can. She's no longer a PAP member. And after she steps down from President, she will very likely retire. So she can do her President job without fear nor favour towards any political party.

you SingDollar will be debased and worth less....cpf take back also cannot buy much...singapore economy is finished

means she actually knew how much left in our reserved.
therefore for her to agree means we still have alot more :biggrin:

Actually she can. She's no longer a PAP member. And after she steps down from President, she will very likely retire. So she can do her President job without fear nor favour towards any political party.
KNN what you talking KNN if she say no or no fear pap will kick her arse off and she won't be able to leetire more comfortably as she would have said yes KNN after she steps down and leetire comfortably she no nonger have the say KNN

Better convert some Sinkie dollars to US dollars, just in case. Stay away from Hongkie dollar or China money.

KNN my uncle think it is same as ndp when commander asked for permission to march off the parade she also only can say yes KNN

K.N.N.

My nephew maybe this yr Palade Commander.

K.N.N. he ask me if she said NO, how huh.?

She will retire as a hooker in desker if she said no

means she actually knew how much left in our reserved.
therefore for her to agree means we still have alot more :biggrin:

Wait long long, before she knows how much we have.
Ask Ong Teng Cheong.

Wait long long, before she knows how much we have.
Ask Ong Teng Cheong.

Late president Ong was known to be an independent President even though he was a PAP cadre.

You just need to know that our reserves still have a lot of money. PAP leaders had the foresight to save for the rainy day. Most countries government are broke and have no reserves to fall back on. They are just printing more money or selling more bonds.