• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mabroky Dog: HDB flats still very affordable

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=980 align=center bgColor=#b7daf0 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width=19></TD><TD width=632 bgColor=#ffffff><!-- START OF : div id="story"--><!-- story contains story1 then story2 --><!-- START OF : div id="story1"--><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Home > ST Forum > Story
</TR>
<!-- headline one : start --><TR>HDB flats still very affordable
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->IN MS Linda Pang's letter last Wednesday, she asked the Housing Board to review the selling price of its flats.
The half-million-dollar flats she mentioned are new flats located in the mature towns. In view of their prime locations, they command relatively higher prices. Nonetheless, these flats are sold at subsidised prices, compared to equivalent resale flats in these prime areas.
We agree with Ms Pang that Singaporeans should exercise prudence and make sure they buy a flat within their means. HDB offers a variety of flats with a range of prices, locations, sizes and attributes to cater to the different needs, preferences and budgets of flat buyers.
For example, in the recent Build-to-Order launches in December last year in Yishun, Choa Chu Kang and Punggol, the prices of flats ranged between $76,000 and $90,000 for two-room flats, $120,000 and $148,000 for three-room flats, and $197,000 and $316,000 for four-room flats.
Based on these selling prices, most households can service their mortgage loans entirely from their CPF contributions. They do not need to fork out cash for their monthly housing loans. This is very affordable by any standards. Flat buyers thus have ample choice of affordable flats. We thank Ms Pang for her feedback. Ignatius Lourdesamy
Deputy Director, Marketing & Projects
Housing & Development Board

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

TeeKee

This is very affordable by any standards. Flat buyers thus have ample choice of affordable flats. We thank Ms Pang for her feedback. Ignatius Lourdesamy

this lourdesamy anyhow say...affordable by any standards? whose standards, your standards? auntie clearing plates at food court standards can or not?

what is the monthly CPF contribution of Deputy Director for HDB?

one talk cock king.

2lanu

Their flats are projected upward while the peasants pay are shrinking. In 2002 during Iraq War and SARS, a 5 room at Punggol cost 230+K now want 300+K during Credit Crisis where most jobs lost, they priced 70K higher!

Where the logic?:confused: Those scums had really lost touch of the ground...

prinzy

As Deputy Drector, must be over 10K a month. If doesn't support the Gahmen, tomorrow maybe cannot find 1K job. In the end maybe sell - roti prata. If he wants us to really believe him that it is cheep, ask him to list out the actual cost of building the 4 room flat - I think it is below 40K - the price contractor tenders.:mad::mad::mad:

R4g3

affordable? that will depend on how one define it.

maybe those couple with kids, can make them stretch their loan to 60 years, so that even they pass away, the children will take over the loan.

In this case, even they double or triple the price of pigeon holes can still be AFFORDABLE.

shOUTloud

What kind of name is Lourdesamy? This is the first time I see this type of name. It is both angmoh and keling in one word. I am not being racist here. Just wondering whether this type of name is common.

For example, Clementnathan?

Buckethead

HDB flats still very affordable....basically means buy within your means...

If you can only afford 2 or 3 rm, then buy these and don't buy 4 or 5 rm when you have problem servicing the loan later...

Adios...

newyorker88

affordable? that will depend on how one define it.

maybe those couple with kids, can make them stretch their loan to 60 years, so that even they pass away, the children will take over the loan.

In this case, even they double or triple the price of pigeon holes can still be AFFORDABLE.

The idea is to make you keep paying for your HDB, you cannot finish paying, your children pay. When you finish, move to a new one and start paying again.

What kind of name is Lourdesamy? This is the first time I see this type of name. It is both angmoh and keling in one word. I am not being racist here. Just wondering whether this type of name is common.

For example, Clementnathan?

The name probably originated in Goa, former Portuguese colony of India. Lourdes is clearly a catholic name, which is what Goa was ( a catholic city before), and samy is just the local indian name combined with the catholic name.No big deal, u see a lot of indians with names like de Cruz, etc.

[<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->IN MS Linda Pang's letter last Wednesday, she asked the Housing Board to review the selling price of its flats.
The half-million-dollar flats she mentioned are new flats located in the mature towns. In view of their prime locations, they command relatively higher prices. Nonetheless, these flats are sold at subsidised prices, compared to equivalent resale flats in these prime areas.
We agree with Ms Pang that Singaporeans should exercise prudence and make sure they buy a flat within their means. HDB offers a variety of flats with a range of prices, locations, sizes and attributes to cater to the different needs, preferences and budgets of flat buyers.
For example, in the recent Build-to-Order launches in December last year in Yishun, Choa Chu Kang and Punggol, the prices of flats ranged between $76,000 and $90,000 for two-room flats, $120,000 and $148,000 for three-room flats, and $197,000 and $316,000 for four-room flats.
Based on these selling prices, most households can service their mortgage loans entirely from their CPF contributions. They do not need to fork out cash for their monthly housing loans. This is very affordable by any standards. Flat buyers thus have ample choice of affordable flats. We thank Ms Pang for her feedback. Ignatius Lourdesamy

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>[/QUOTE]

How can these flats be sold at a subsidy when they cost the HDB $50K-$80K to build? The very fact u have to dip into your rainy day retirement fund (CPF) to service your mortgage is already a sign that u cannot afford it. In most countries in the world, your retirement is actually for your retirement and not for paying for current living expenses like your mortgage. Mortgage payments must be paid out of your current net income.

DrPanacea

Lourdesamy is another one of those parrots that keeps hubbing that HDB flats are subsidised. Doin't be fooled by their creative accounting. The land bank in HDB is valued at market price instead of net book value just to arrive at the higher value. Then they say that flat is heavily subsidised!!!!