• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lost my appetite at Khatib BLK 848 coffeeshop

There was once I was at this kopitiam, this old auntie came along want sell pkt tissues. I normally don't buy, think nevermind just help her out, take out $1, she say NO. 3 pkts is $1.50. 1 pkt of tissue $0.50. This is really expensive for a pkt. Anyway just dig out another $1, she say no change give me 4 pkts, I look at her and she walk to next table.

Another occasion last week, saw this guy tall and big but looks a bit mental unstable walking over to me in KFC while I was talking with friends. Shove a pc of paper to me and ask me for $2. I look at his paper, its 4d numbers for me to buy. Not even proper 4d ticket. I look at him looks mentally unstable so just gave him $2 and tell him I take his 4d number.

This 2 occasions really make me lose my appetite.

My friends from overseas when they come over they will ask me why are the aged still working in fast food joints, clearing tables etc. My answer to them is Singapore standard of living is very very high. Everything needs money and a lot of it. The day we don't work, we don't have govt giving us handouts.

Even my mum tells me, don't rely on others or even the govt to help us. Rely on ourselves to help ourselves. Don't depend on others

fren, I think u mean the COST of living is VERY HIGH and not the STANDARD of living. They are two very different things.

I know plenty of elites and this is how they think:

What has the old lady been doing all her life? Instead of saving up money or investing her money, what has she been doing? Why should the society be paying for her comfort? If everyone wants some welfare, who will pay for it? What about her children, are they supporting her?

except for a couple of kempeitai traitors, sinkies who survived ww2 and were born in 1945 thru' 1955 should be given special treatment by the gov as they couldn't earn the kind of high wages then that could support them thru' their retirement 50 to 60 years later. and they went thru' the most difficult time of anyone's life in modern sinkie history, including helping the ungrateful country to prosper from a poverty-stricken stinkhole to a posh-looking sinkhole.

If they give some welfare to these people, it will be hard to justify a retraction next time. Imagine those born in 1960s asking for welfare too, based on the fact that those born in the 1940s to 1950s got them. Also some younger taxpayers will find it unfair to carry the burden of these old unrelated people.

Actually no. :(

Didn't finish my kopi C kosong too... although it was quite nice too. This was at the coffeeshop beside Sheng Siong.

oh i know this coffee shop. The satay, bo piah and rojak are very good.
but i think the bee hoon's standard has drop alot.

used to be very long queue for this economy mee hoon many years ago

Stories like this make my blood boil. At the same time, the grassroots arseholes will running around as though they are doing valuable community work. Where is all the money from the town councils going?

I am already mad about using the blind girl for the YOG advert that I did what I did when Council of Social Services did with the disabled kids advertsin the mid 90s. I went to the top and they stopped it.

This is not about giving welfare. This is about proper planning and having foresight. In 1990, cleaners could take home $850 to $1200. It has fallen to $500 and some of them have to give coffee money to supervisors. Others have to do extra work.

Why do you want to pay $1200 to cleaners? It will only increase the cost of eating out.

What almost made me teared was seeing her use a red rubber band to tie her hair which is about three inches above her collar.

And she never stopped clearing the plates.

Don't be daft. The major cost is rental.

Rental being the major cost doesn't mean you have to pay $1,200 to a cleaner. You want to maximize profit and reduce all costs.
The owner wants to pay the least possible amount for any labor. He is not running a charity. This has got nothing to do with the amount of rent he pays.

Go ahead and be a saint in your posts.

Why not donate some of your salary to the cleaner to tip her?
Instead of blaming the country for not providing for her, why not you take up the responsibility to make her life better?

What almost made me teared was seeing her use a red rubber band to tie her hair which is about three inches above her collar.

And she never stopped clearing the plates.

So what did you do for her?

Eye power?

Go ahead and set your moral benchmark very high.
But you did nothing.

Rental being the major cost doesn't mean you have to pay $1,200 to a cleaner. You want to maximize profit and reduce all costs.
The owner wants to pay the least possible amount for any labor. He is not running a charity. This has got nothing to do with the amount of rent he pays.

Go ahead and be a saint in your posts.

Why not donate some of your salary to the cleaner to tip her?
Instead of blaming the country for not providing for her, why not you take up the responsibility to make her life better?

So what did you do for her?

Eye power?

Go ahead and set your moral benchmark very high.
But you did nothing.

Red herring, how utterly unpalatable when you appear. Add ad hominem and you have a classic PAPPY response to everything.

Red herring, how utterly unpalatable when you appear.

All talk and no action
Are you just afraid you might end up like her?
If you really care for her, why not help her financially?

So unwilling to part with your money but you want the Owner/State to part with theirs?

All talk and no action
Are you just afraid you might end up like her?
If you really care for her, why not help her financially?

So unwilling to part with your money but you want the Owner/State to part with theirs?

PAP undercover agent spotted by the OA ! Ok i will give you one week of freedom to post :D

If they give some welfare to these people, it will be hard to justify a retraction next time. Imagine those born in 1960s asking for welfare too, based on the fact that those born in the 1940s to 1950s got them. Also some younger taxpayers will find it unfair to carry the burden of these old unrelated people.

make the one time cut off on december 31, 1956. anyone born after that date enjoyed superior elementary education starting from 1963 onwards. what's so difficult about that? there are times and reasons for special policies and there are times and reasons for universal policies. if you cannot handle one time special policies, you don't fit to run governments. moron.

Lao Lee say de...

Early retirement will make u senile.
and die faster.

So work as long as u could....as old as possible.
if u wanna remain active & live longer.

:o :( :o

I have mentioned it many times, the PAP is a fascist political party. Fascists do not care about the elderly. They do not care about those that cannot provide surpluses or profits and instead are a burden to the state.

Just research on fascism and you will see how similar the PAPies and their programmes are to fascism. State corporatism, single party rule, control and use of the media by the state, iconic leaders, rampant use of military personnel in government systems, use of police and judiciary to stranggle opposition,

All these are typical fascist programmes and you will find them in the PAP.

I have mentioned it many times, the PAP is a fascist political party. Fascists do not care about the elderly. They do not care about those that cannot provide surpluses or profits and instead are a burden to the state.

Just research on fascism and you will see how similar the PAPies and their programmes are to fascism. State corporatism, single party rule, control and use of the media by the state, iconic leaders, rampant use of military personnel in government systems, use of police and judiciary to stranggle opposition,

All these are typical fascist programmes and you will find them in the PAP.

PAP-style fascism is the most horrific as it is actualized behind a mask.

There was once I was at this kopitiam, this old auntie came along want sell pkt tissues. I normally don't buy, think nevermind just help her out, take out $1, she say NO. 3 pkts is $1.50. 1 pkt of tissue $0.50. This is really expensive for a pkt. Anyway just dig out another $1, she say no change give me 4 pkts, I look at her and she walk to next table.

heh heh, I have a friend, so called 'friend', the fella used to be wheelchair bound selling tissues paper and made good income, appeared on TV features a couple of time, his condition improved over time and now can walk

the other day saw him selling tissues paper again at Orchard road underpass _ sitting on his old wheelchair :(