• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lost my appetite at Khatib BLK 848 coffeeshop

SneeringTree

Happened to be there this evening and bought a plate of fried beehoon (it was quite good).

Lost my appetite when I saw an old lady (she must be at least 75) clearing plates.

I asked her is the job not too tough for her?

She answered that her back hurts but can still manage.

I think it is inconscionable that a country subjects a 75 plus old woman to clear plates so that she can survive. Don't give me the crap about her children are supposed to feed her, etc.

What has Singapore degenerated into?

Vivian Balakrishnan : If I know YOG would cost S$390m, would I bid for it. Definitely yes.

Vivian Balakrishnan : Help the poor? Hawker, foodcourt or restaurant? If we help them, they become lazy.

Next to Nee Soon South is a SMC where old man punched MP and set fire on MP. :eek: :D
Heard rumours that Ah Seng is quite arrogant and hence, irked quite a significant number of residents.

Actually, the MP of NSS, Lee Bee Wah, is not that bad and does bring much life into NSS. Pity she is representing the wrong side.

... saw an old lady (she must be at least 75) clearing plates.

I asked her is the job not too tough for her?

She answered that her back hurts but can still manage.

I think it is inconscionable that a country subjects a 75 plus old woman to clear plates so that she can survive. Don't give me the crap about her children are supposed to feed her, etc.

What has Singapore degenerated into?
ah u said sporeans cannot retire ...

Heard rumours that Ah Seng is quite arrogant and hence, irked quite a significant number of residents.

Actually, the MP of NSS, Lee Bee Wah, is not that bad and does bring much life into NSS. Pity she is representing the wrong side.

yes she is very active in this area. My in-law family stay around there. According to them, she is very active, there is many activities for community there and she always attend the activites. She is seen in coffee shop very often too. My in-law seldom say good words for PAP, but they say she is good and very friendly to residents there.

Unlike the previous few MP. only see them when erection coming.

yes she is very active in this area. My in-law family stay around there. According to them, she is very active, there is many activities for community there and she always attend the activites. She is seen in coffee shop very often too. My in-law seldom say good words for PAP, but they say she is good and very friendly to residents there.

Is that not to ensure that she will get a shot at being a two term MP so that her pension is assured? Showing face and turning up for community (i.e. RC dogs organized) events is all well and good but it does not really say much about the person.

I have a colleague who always show up everywhere and everyone though he is the most hardworking and collegial person when he is just a very self-centered and even back-stabbing person. So what gives?

Tree,

you brought up a very valid social concern.

But what's the point of posting this story in this forum, that is unless, you just want a ready outlet to vent your frustrations.

If you really wanna see a change, perhaps the last thing you should do is to post in this forum.

GMS, if you are reading this, get out of this forum too. Don't waste your mental energy here rebutting petty comments.

Just my honest opinion. :)

Tree,

you brought up a very valid social concern.

But what's the point of posting this story in this forum, that is unless, you just want a ready outlet to vent your frustrations.

If you really wanna see a change, perhaps the last thing you should do is to post in this forum.

GMS, if you are reading this, get out of this forum too. Don't waste your mental energy here rebutting petty comments.

Just my honest opinion. :)

More like venting my frustrations. Not everyone can be a politician and serve the nation in that sense. If I serve with no heart and flair, I would be no better than the dozens of MIW parachutted into parliament.

She works very hard, I have to give credit. The developments she brought so far:

Ramps for disabled

More covered walkways

Khatib Central (similar to a stage)

More marble benches

Swift implementation of LUP.

But I attribute this to her Malaysian kampong upbringing, so she is more down-to-earth and willing to engage residents. Don't deny she probably has an agenda, but she does give something in return. The previous MP merely shake leg and collect money.

Is that not to ensure that she will get a shot at being a two term MP so that her pension is assured? Showing face and turning up for community (i.e. RC dogs organized) events is all well and good but it does not really say much about the person.

I have a colleague who always show up everywhere and everyone though he is the most hardworking and collegial person when he is just a very self-centered and even back-stabbing person. So what gives?

well.. what you said is true too. Most people does thing with a objective or hidden agenda. Most people joint RC, hoping to gain points and hope their childen can get into certain schools. In this way, they are not helping the community, but they are targetting the community to "help" them

I know plenty of elites and this is how they think:

What has the old lady been doing all her life? Instead of saving up money or investing her money, what has she been doing? Why should the society be paying for her comfort? If everyone wants some welfare, who will pay for it? What about her children, are they supporting her?

I know plenty of elites and this is how they think:

What has the old lady been doing all her life? Instead of saving up money or investing her money, what has she been doing? Why should the society be paying for her comfort? If everyone wants some welfare, who will pay for it? What about her children, are they supporting her?
dun tink elites tink dat way ...

dey wun even notis she's o ... dey wil look @ their table n check dat she wipes it cleanly ... dey wil point 2 dirty spots on ze table 2 her 2 wipe ... nex, dey wil tink wat 2 order 2 eat ...

if u ask dem, dey wil say ... gahmen is telling ppl not to retire ... gahmen is telling ppl not 2 b choosy wif jobs ...

There was once I was at this kopitiam, this old auntie came along want sell pkt tissues. I normally don't buy, think nevermind just help her out, take out $1, she say NO. 3 pkts is $1.50. 1 pkt of tissue $0.50. This is really expensive for a pkt. Anyway just dig out another $1, she say no change give me 4 pkts, I look at her and she walk to next table.

Another occasion last week, saw this guy tall and big but looks a bit mental unstable walking over to me in KFC while I was talking with friends. Shove a pc of paper to me and ask me for $2. I look at his paper, its 4d numbers for me to buy. Not even proper 4d ticket. I look at him looks mentally unstable so just gave him $2 and tell him I take his 4d number.

This 2 occasions really make me lose my appetite.

My friends from overseas when they come over they will ask me why are the aged still working in fast food joints, clearing tables etc. My answer to them is Singapore standard of living is very very high. Everything needs money and a lot of it. The day we don't work, we don't have govt giving us handouts.

Even my mum tells me, don't rely on others or even the govt to help us. Rely on ourselves to help ourselves. Don't depend on others

dun tink elites tink dat way ...

dey wun even notis she's o ... dey wil look @ their table n check dat she wipes it cleanly ... dey wil point 2 dirty spots on ze table 2 her 2 wipe ... nex, dey wil tink wat 2 order 2 eat ...

if u ask dem, dey wil say ... gahmen is telling ppl not to retire ... gahmen is telling ppl not 2 b choosy wif jobs ...

Nah

Elites think in capitalistic terms. Like, who is going to pay for these things? How are we going to generate more wealth for people who knows how to access them?

They are not worried about social issues like this because this is a matter of the dollar. If the old woman has money of her own, she won't have to work in old age.

What you are saying is that about people being mean or being an ass. A lot of peasants are mean and don't have good morals too.