• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LKT's demeanour is so much more statesman-like than our ministers. What do you think?

Sideswipe

Re: LKT's demeanour is so much more statesman-like than our ministers. What do you th

when WP win more seats. WP will gradually adopt a more aggressive approach in parliament. parliament strength is in numbers.

kingrant

Re: LKT's demeanour is so much more statesman-like than our ministers. What do you th

Agreed. I also understand now why to some people WP seems like a tame cat in parliament debates and public stances as opposed to JBJ's and CSJ's brand of confrontational politics. LTK is right that WP has to build up pple's trust and respect, gaining their confidence and shedding their fears that they are rogues as portrayed by the PAP scums first by coming thru as moderatist approach rather than Chee's extreme approach. Today, he and his WP have got the foundations and brick by brick I see they are improving on the way they pose challenges to PAP and widening and deepening their thrusts and taking on more issues boldly but always with the people's support and empathy. This is similar to the way PAP played out under LKY as moderatists - as conttrast with the left wing - in the eyes of the British and later in Malaysia - as contrast with the racialists (of cos which they did not succeed so well).

Kinana

Remember his no comments when confronted with the question of Yaw's philandering? Statesman like? More like ah beng.

cunnilaubu

Yesterday News highlighted Desmond Lim explanation about his English...

He said somebody's English also no good when elected into the parliament but through hardwork he improve, I can learn and improve too...

The difference is this somebody is a Chinese helicopter while DL graduated from an Aussie Uni! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

billisnotathome

The moral is if you put somebody through the crucible of fire, he will improve by leaps and bounds. However, if you try to groom someone by removing all obstacles in front of him, he stay stagnant or even deteriorate.

Excellent post bro.

LordElrond

LTK always want to play safe, so he will not end up like CSJ.

Because of this he also missed alot of opportunities and possibilities.

LordElrond thinks "win some lose some" is a better deal than "ham ka chang"

Kohliantye

His poor command of english can only impress his band of hooligans. Anyone else who have a decent level of education will not be impressed

Its wrong to fault one over command of English.

The truth is that he has improved over the years.

Its also wrong to call those who are "impressed" by his English as a BAND of HOOLIGANS.

These are the people that want true changes and they want it in all honesty and for all English-speaking and non-English speaking ones.

Is PAP filled with members who speak Victorian and Shakespearean English?

There are many clowns among them too who have literally "murdered" the English language.

I am sure readers of this forum knows who those "rats" are.

cass888

Nobody in the PAP speaks as badly as Desmond Lim.

On the other hand, nobody in the Opposition camp (other than the Ang Mo Kio fiasco team) speak as badly as Desmond Lim.

Look at the people from the PAP. Quite a number of them have a "decent" education. But they look like idiots on stage. Simply cannot give a proper and rousing rally speech.

cass888

Come on, NOBODY but NOBODY is as clownish as Desmond Lim. No wonder Michael and Li Lian gave him such a bashing he could not account to his son.

Is PAP filled with members who speak Victorian and Shakespearean English?

Nobody in the PAP speaks as badly as Desmond Lim.

On the other hand, nobody in the Opposition camp (other than the Ang Mo Kio fiasco team) speak as badly as Desmond Lim.

You mean you think Zorro speaks better than DL? Mind you Zorro is ministart while DL is only MP candidate.

cass888

LTK went to a real university. His Nanyang degree is not really a Nanyang degree but a joint campus degree. He also has an Honours degree from NUS.

Desmond and Li Lian both come from universities which Singaporeans go to when they cannot get into NUS/NTU/SMU.

The difference is this somebody is a Chinese helicopter while DL graduated from an Aussie Uni!

when WP win more seats. WP will gradually adopt a more aggressive approach in parliament. parliament strength is in numbers.

i agree.. when the WP becomes more aggressive and more threatening and more powerful, the rules will change and it will not be easy for any oppo to go into parliament ,let alone stand for any election. the king makes the rules. so far WP is just a lame duck.

LTK went to a real university. His Nanyang degree is not really a Nanyang degree but a joint campus degree. He also has an Honours degree from NUS.
Desmond and Li Lian both come from universities which Singaporeans go to when they cannot get into NUS/NTU/SMU.

His English and delivery have improved.But it can still be improved further. But nobody can beat the powerful English as spoken by Mr LKY. That man is a legend! You can't touch him and you can't take him on.He is all powerful and overwhelming.His words are like bullets and they can be transformed inito bullets! I respect his great speeches.Always listened with awe!!! A great man, a great leader and a great Singaporean icon! A giant of a legend!

TuaGow

it's no surprise that ltk can lead wp for so many years and with so much success. he's much more statesman than all those pap minister dogs. :smile:

cass888

How about Desmond Lim? :biggrin:

His English and delivery have improved.But it can still be improved further. But nobody can beat the powerful English as spoken by Mr LKY. That man is a legend! You can't touch him and you can't take him on.He is all powerful and overwhelming.His words are like bullets and they can be transformed inito bullets! I respect his great speeches.Always listened with awe!!! A great man, a great leader and a great Singaporean icon! A giant of a legend!

it's no surprise that ltk can lead wp for so many years and with so much success. he's much more statesman than all those pap minister dogs. :smile:
kudos to him...a humble man who can feel the pulse of the ground. also a very careful and smart mp. didn't over-step his boundaries. officially endorsed as the loyal opposition.so no troubles. smart diplomatic moves ....play it safe. too safe to be a politician...and perhaps too late liao. 30 years have flown....:(...and many things have happened right under his nose...same with CST. PAP will continue to lead this country - for the better or for the worse.

How about Desmond Lim? :biggrin:
I respect him and I think he is trying very hard - still very painful to the ears. Give credit to him for trying.

i don't see the need to call our honourable ministers dogs...can you measure up to anyone of them?

LTK is playing the good and responsible opposition without resorting to antics and theatricals.That is why he is able to survive so long. But it is also unfortunate that the last 30 years of opposition has also been ineffective. That is one of the reasons why we have what it is now in Singapore.Good or bad, no thanks to LTK.

1. kopi, your no thank should go to those 60%.
2. dafter sheep hoh:biggrin:

TuaGow

i don't see the need to call our honourable ministers dogs...can you measure up to anyone of them?
honorable? after causing so much pain and hardship to so many sinkies? to call them dogs is to give them face! :mad: