i leave early, no luck for me, breakeven after all the misc cost and interest, but i gain from free staying in Singapore, thats all, i know the COE car going up recently, you still have the option to buy used car, is more expensive now but still better than new car with current COE level, is normal for Malaysian to buy used car but not for many Singaporean, those really pay for high COE now is only this 1-2 years (the most 10 to 20% of total car population, i believe those must be the top 10 to 20% well to do Singaporean or foreigner, mostly conti car), let see if current high COE level will substain 50% of the currently car population, i doubt it will substain, say if COE at this level, do you think 100% of current car owner still can afford few years down the road? i believe many of them will drop the idea of car ownership, may be this is the reason the government wanted to reduce the traffic in Singapore which is good for Singaporean. The car population at this level is due to the lower price in the last few years, every tom and jerry like me can afford, this is why so many OPC now, a vios is cost less than 60k that time, 5k+ depreciate/annum + insurance + road tax + petrol + servicing, everything in about 12k per annum to own a car, i spend about 1k per month for the car during that time which i think is still affordable, my fren spend about SGD600/month to own a OPC.
1k per month is $30/day, it can't be $5 or $10/day rite? then Singapore will flood with car, my friend work in Singapore mostly drive big car but in Malaysia only those big boss drive the same car, just a example a BMW X5 in Singapore cost about SGD300k now, it cost almost RM600k in Malaysia, A 10 years old BMW X5 in Malaysia will cost less than RM100k, lost about RM500k+ in 10 years, in Singapore drive for 10 years and scrap, you will get back at least SGD30k, so you lost SGD270k, trust me you can't find a Malaysian who can afford BMW X5 drive for 10 years. Most of the Malaysia will change car before 10 years, i own a Honda in Malaysia, brought at RM150k and sell at RM60k after 5 years, i lost RM90k in 5 years time, the depreciation is RM18k per year, this car cost RM30k+ in the 10th years, lost RM120k in 10 years time, as to maintain a 10 years car, the maintaining cost is high and the safety level is much lower. If you don't mind a car without a air bag, you can own a proton at less than RM10k here, some ppl here have no choice but to compromise their safety for a cheap car,
At current COE level, you have to pay $400 more per month for COE, thats all, 80% of the car owner still hold on to their low COE car with less depreciation, don't change car now if COE still valid then you are safe, why worry for the next few year? the most get a used old car.
My friend just brough 5 years old Nissan Sunny at SGD30k in Singapore, depreaciate 5k+/years, he is very happy and glad to bought at current high COE time, you know what is the reaction from his Singapore Colleage? "Wa lao a....Sunny ah, 5 years already leh....can drive back to your hometown meh", even in Malaysian a Sunny is consider very good for a ordinary ppl.
so that was how many yrs ago ? u know how much is a car price n HDB now ?So u must have earned the profit fr sales of hdb !