I had lunch with my Singaporean friends today and we happened to talk about the Legoland in Malaysia. Following is some comments from my Singaporean friends:
Friend A: Sure or not, can open on time?
Friend B: Are those rides in the themepark safe to play?
Friend C: Got people want to buy tickets and go meh?
I was the only Malaysian, and i was speechless....
I really hope Legoland open smoothly in September and let the flag of Malaysia fly high with pride. I am not against Singaporean, but it is very common that Singaporean looks down on Malaysia and always feels that they are much more superior than Malaysian. Their attitude and words will only make Malaysian more annoyed about Singaporean.
I can assure you that not every Singaporean thinks that way, there are some who hope to see Malaysia succeed. The comments you have heard is already very mild. Together with my countrymen, some of my friends from other parts of Malaysia also have not even heard of Iskandar or Nusajaya and first thing they say is that it will end up like Putrajaya or Cyberjaya (associating the "jaya" part of the place)
Indeed it might but at least diss it only after you have seen it.
Some folks from KL are only starting to realise the existence of Iskandar, if not for a dinner with some of them (my wife's newly hired staff) recently, otherwise they have never even been to Nusajaya or heard of it. Have to introduce them to the growing parts of Johore and the notable progress it has made.
Just to share, I have personally heard of the following when myself or a local friend brought their friends/relatives in(Please note that these are serious questions posed with no sarcasm) and we have to take them with a straight face and explain patiently:
1. Are you sure that there are no more daily robbery with guys toting guns now?
(Happened many years prior, it happened to my relatives in Pelangi on a CNY, for many years after that, the family had a bitter quarrel, blamed each other for what happened. Splitted and we were instructed by my father to stay away from Johore until i came back 2008)
Yes, back when i was a teenager, i was already a regular weekly visitor of JB with my then girlfriend (and later wife) walking over, by bus or taking taxis across the causeway. All activity stopped after that fateful CNY.
2. Penang got robbery, will it affect your place or not? Penang is next to Johore only right?
3. KL now got demonstration, will spillover for sure, do you want to evacuate? KL very near what, half an hour will reach Johore at most.
1. You said Horizon Hills, do you mean you guys are living in the hills? (Sua Teng Lang - akin to savages)
2. Do you really have toilets there? Do you still use "pong teng" kerosene lamps. Any TV sets?
Got electricity meh?
3. Don't bluff, are you sure you use washing machine?
4. What Legoland, is it all made up of legobricks? Are you sure there is even electricity to run the rides?
2011-2012
1. Are you sure you are able to get easy access to food sources there? As recent as 2 months ago, a fellow countrymen, invited by my local friend brought bread, hard biscuits, lots of water bottles as well as camping equipment here including tents. His excuse - He was afraid he would get lost and be hungry for days. He has never been outside Singapore, having been informed that the whole world is uninhabitable.
2. A learned friend who has been a commando, trekked countless countries including parts of China where "tu fei" are common, still have the impression that thousands of people die here daily and never even been to our area.
There were also some who having failed to dissuade us to make the move here with crime, then told about the giant mosquitoes here to try to scare people off. Friends posted to remind me about this as well as the recent Ang Mo Kio dengue outbreak - Some people are just unable to realise mosquitoes obeys no man made borders.
1. Bersih 3.0 already leh, how come you guys didn't smell the tear gas? No rioting at your neighbourhood meh?
2. Now the questions from my friends are(all good relatives already have houses here):
Are you sure there are still units there, can you help me to check in your area please.
3. Can you really set off fireworks here? Please help me to buy "kong ming teng"
4. Legoland, when complete? Tickets how much?