• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Liew Mun Leong Billion Dollars Temasek Reputation Has Been Rubbished

Minister for Law, K Shanmugam has publicly spoken about the high profile case of Parti Liyani, (Parti) the foreign domestic worker (FDW) who has been acquitted by the High Court for allegedly stealing $34,000 worth of items from her former employer, the influential Liew Mun Leong (Liew).

This controversial matter has caused public outrage in part because of the imbalance of power between Parti and her accusers and in part because of the seeming catalogue of errors made from investigation to initial prosecution. There have also been disturbing revelations about how the lower court judge sought to seemingly suppress information about Parti’s threat to complain about the Liews to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) for making her work in contravention of MOM rules in court. The fact that the powerful Temasek Holdings has come out to seemingly praise Liew at this time has also no doubt incensed the public further.

While he acknowledged that “something has gone wrong in the chain of events”, Shanmugam also noted that it is good to see that justice has been served.

Ghui

shiokalingam

IMG_20200910_171053.jpg

shiokalingam

Lim Tean

Parliament Must Debate The Prosecution Of Parti Liyani #partiliyani #criminaljustice #AGC #puttingpeoplefirst #PeoplesVoice

Justice Chan Seng Onn’s judgment acquitting Parti Liyani from her conviction for theft makes for sad reading on the state of our prosecutorial system.

The Attorney-General’s Chambers have said that they are studying the judgment to see if further action needs to be taken. Having now read the judgment in full, I would suggest that not only is action needed, it must be meted out swiftly! Justice Chan’s judgment is admirably clear and leaves no stones unturned!

Yesterday, I received via WhatsApp from various sources the picture below, which shows that the Attorney-General ( Lucien Wong ) and Liew Mun Leong were former fellow directors of CapitaLand( Lucien Wong is no longer a Director of CapitaLand).

Lucien Wong must recuse himself from involvement on any decision making regarding the case. The task must fall to a person in the Attorney-General’s Chambers who has absolutely no links to the Liews or even perceived links.

For public confidence to be maintained in our criminal justice system, no whiff of any conflict of interest can be tolerated. The oft-quoted aphorism- Not Only Must Justice Be Done, It Must Also Be Seen To Be Done is never more true than in this case.

Parliament must debate the many issues which this case has thrown up at its next sitting.

IMG_20200910_172310.jpg

birdie69

Noticed Kwa Kim Li the controversial lawyer who drew LKY's will also a member of the BOD of CAG. How come she can become a member of BOD ?
Heard that Liew Mun Leong has the Immunity Medallion given by Empress Dowager.Nobody can touch him.
You mean 免死金牌? But 包青天 has 上官宝剑,can 先斩后奏

birdie69

Liew did not start Capitaland. It was created out of the merger of URA's commercial property
entities and DBS Land. The latter's CEO then, Han Cheng Fong, was way more experienced than
Liew, whose ball carrying skills served him well. Others could have done just as well too.
Ball carrying skill as well as ball and was licking skill?

gingerlyn

Cambridge lawyer teaches poor Sinkies for free so that u don’t get abused by rich and powerful elites which get their salaries from tax payer money

gingerlyn

Singapore TOP Queen Counsel and Law Professor cum political and General Election analyst Dr Eugene Tan is eerily silent. Is he dead or his master issued gag order to him ?

batman1

Singapore TOP Queen Counsel and Law Professor cum political and General Election analyst Dr Eugene Tan is eerily silent. Is he dead or his master issued gag order to him ?
Eugene Tan is the nominated resident commentator/analyst for CNA. Waiting for another professor to state his view on this case. Maybe he's waiting for the wind of change before he speaks up.

gingerlyn

Tak Boleh Tahan. Retired means pleaded guilty ? Liew Mun Leong retires from CAG, other public service and business roles after court's decision on Parti Liyani case

SINGAPORE: Changi Airport Group chairman Liew Mun Leong announced on Thursday (Sep 10) that he is retiring from his public service and business roles.

“After much deliberation, I have decided to bring forward my retirement from the various public service and business roles with Changi Airport Group, Surbana Jurong, Temasek Foundation, and Temasek International with immediate effect," Mr Liew said in a statement to the media.

"Those who know me, will know I am passionate about the roles and missions of these organisations. I do not wish my current situation to be a distraction to their respective boards, management and staff, amidst their many critical priorities."

He added that throughout the investigations and trial, he and his family members had cooperated fully with the police.

"The High Court has made its decision. I have faith in our legal system and respect the decision of the High Court," Mr Liew said.

This comes after a recent decision by the High Court to acquit his former maid Parti Liyani of charges of stealing from his family.

I understand that both the Attorney’s General Chambers (AGC) and the police are now conducting reviews of the matter. Should it be required, my family and I will continue to provide full cooperation to both AGC and the police."

Mr Liew and his family had accused Ms Parti of theft in 2016.

She was acquitted by the High Court last week of all charges.

LITTLEREDDOT

Liew Mun Leong steps down as chairman of CAG, Surbana Jurong after ex-maid acquitted of stealing
Mr Liew Mun Leong's former Indonesian maid Parti Liyani has been cleared of all criminal charges.

Mr Liew Mun Leong's former Indonesian maid Parti Liyani has been cleared of all criminal charges.PHOTOS: ST FILE

Calvin Yang

SINGAPORE - Mr Liew Mun Leong has stepped down as chairman of Changi Airport Group and Surbana Jurong, days after the High Court acquitted his former maid of theft and raised questions about his motivations in lodging a police report against her.

He has also resigned from his positions as senior international business adviser at Singapore investment company Temasek and as a board member of Temasek Foundation.

In a statement on Thursday (Sept 10), Mr Liew, 74, said he had decided to bring forward his retirement from these roles.

"Those who know me will know I am passionate about the roles and missions of these organisations," he said.

"I do not wish my current situation to be a distraction to their respective boards, management and staff, amidst their many critical priorities."

He added that should it be required, he and his family would continue to provide full cooperation to both the Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC) and the police in their review of the case.

Last Friday, Justice Chan Seng Onn acquitted the Liews' former Indonesian maid Parti Liyani of stealing from Mr Liew and his family. Ms Parti, 46, who worked for the Liew family from 2007 to 2016, had been accused of stealing over $34,000 worth of items.

A district judge found her guilty on four charges of theft and handed down a 26-month jail sentence in March last year, which she appealed before the High Court.

On Tuesday, Ms Parti was cleared of a fifth charge of fraudulent possession of property, making her free of all criminal charges.

In his judgment, Justice Chan noted that "some time prior to her termination", Ms Parti had expressed unhappiness at being made to do the additional work of cleaning the house and office of Mr Liew's son Karl.

"There is reason to believe that the Liew family, upon realising her unhappiness, took the pre-emptive first step to terminate her employment suddenly without giving her sufficient time for her to pack, in the hope that Parti would not use the time to make a complaint to MOM (Ministry of Manpower)," the judge noted.

When Ms Parti threatened to complain to MOM after her sudden termination, Mr Liew and his son followed up with a police report to prevent her return to Singapore to make the complaint, said the judge.

The AGC, police and MOM have said they are reviewing the handling of the case, which has also led to a public outcry against Mr Liew.

In his statement on Thursday, Mr Liew outlined why he lodged the report, saying: "When my family discovered some of our belongings in Ms Liyani's boxes, I proceeded to make a police report the same afternoon I returned from overseas - because I genuinely believed that if there were suspicions of wrongdoing, it is our civic duty to report the matter to the police and let the authorities investigate accordingly.

dw-cag-karlliew-200910.jpg
Ms Parti Liyani had expressed unhappiness at being made to do the additional work of cleaning the house and office of Mr Karl Liew. PHOTO: ST FILE

hzliyani0910.jpg
Ms Parti Liyani leaving the State Courts with her lawyer Anil Balchandani on Sept 8, after she was cleared of a fifth charge of fraudulent possession of property. ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW

"The police conducted their investigations. Ms Liyani was subsequently arrested by the police, and later, charged by the Public Prosecutor," he added.

"Throughout the investigations and trial, my family members and I cooperated fully with the police and gave statements and evidence when required.

"The High Court has made its decision. I have faith in our legal system and respect the decision of the High Court," he said.

Mr Liew added that should it be required, he stood ready to assist or advise - without compensation and in any way appropriate, given the ongoing challenges posed by Covid-19 - the organisations he was stepping down from.

gingerlyn

This guy skin is very thick, shameful, shameless and despicable bastard

Quote:
Mr Liew added that should it be required, he stood ready to assist or advise - without compensation and in any way appropriate, given the ongoing challenges posed by Covid-19 - the organisations he was stepping down from.
Unquote

Can't wait to see tomorrow's accolades for a fallen comrade by the fellow elites.
The louder the vocal support, the bigger the sins they are hiding.

In his statement on Thursday, Mr Liew outlined why he lodged the report, saying: "When my family discovered some of our belongings in Ms Liyani's boxes, I proceeded to make a police report the same afternoon I returned from overseas - because I genuinely believed that if there were suspicions of wrongdoing, it is our civic duty to report the matter to the police and let the authorities investigate accordingly.

Priceless. Worth every second that we have been waiting for. His philosophy is not very different from SBF's members!

LML has retired from all his directorships and chairmanships. Singapore has lost one of its fine sons. You destructive oppies happy now?

kaninabuchaojibye

LML has retired from all his directorships and chairmanships. Singapore has lost one of its fine sons. You destructive oppies happy now?
of course happy
happier if police and ag have guts to charge this idiot elite for making false police report and send him to 4 years jail which is equal to the 4 years parti had to suffer because of his abuse of the system