• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kuan Yew's Greatest Mistake?

TracyTan866

What do you think is Lee Kuan Yew's greatest mistake?

To me, LKY's greatest mistake is to surround himself with LKY-fearing people rather than God-fearing people.

LKY-fearing people:
1. will do what LKY wants
2. will tell LKY what they think he wants to hear
3. dare not go against LKY's wishes
To retain these LKY-fearing people, LKY uses money to keep them doing what he wants them to do. These people may not have right moral values nor morals but good money keep them loyal to LKY. But while such people may not be corrupt money wise, they have character flaws and easily succumb to sexual corruption.

God-fearing people:
1. will speak the truth regardless of what LKY thinks
2. have compassion for others
3. have eternal values such a caring heart
4. serve Singapore and Singaporeans willingly
God-fearing people dont need high salaries to keep them from corruption because they have right values and high morals. Not only are they incorruptible money wise, they will also not easily succumb to sexual temptations.

So to me, LKY's greatest mistake is to have LKY-fearing people in high places and having to retain them through high pays. These people will fail us when LKY is dead or when sexual temptation is too great, beyond what they can bear.

Does Singapore look well now because LKY is still alive and the rot has not surfaced nor exposed?

Will Singapore crumble with LKY-fearing people running SG?

its normal to surround oneself w suporters..it is the same everywhr. u see tat in companies too...

i think his biggest mistake is to kpo too much our way of life till today we are dearth of creativity (all pun intended)n entrepreunership.

its normal to surround oneself w suporters..it is the same everywhr. u see tat in companies too...

i think his biggest mistake is to kpo too much our way of life till today we are dearth of creativity (all pun intended)n entrepreunership.

Surrounding yourself with your own people is self serving and sub-optimising the greater good.

SG wld be better off if SG were to be governed not by LKY-fearing people

Surrounding yourself with your own people is self serving and sub-optimising the greater good.

SG wld be better off if SG were to be governed not by LKY-fearing people

almost impossible in reality..it will always revert to like minded ppl coming together. history of china is such...

do you agree that LKY surrounding himself with his own people and using public taxes to further his own interest is self serving and is not right?

LKY may not be able to good people to serve SG. But is LKY doing right?

Did we ask why is LKY not able to get good people to serve SG? Just look at his leadership style and we know that good and God-fearing people will walk away from LKY. so it is not that SG lacks good people. It's LKY who caused good people to not want to step forward

His real mistake is that he stayed for too long. If he had stayed for a shorter time, then there can be more different voices in the leadership. But because he stayed for such a long time, the entire civil service and political leadership is so aligned with his capitalist philosophy that the entire government just went down the extreme path.

The prime minister should serve at most 3 terms, or 15 years. He should then be totally excluded from the cabinet.

Singaporeans should hereafter be very allegic to any son or grandson taking over as PM, no matter how talented he is. Being the PM does not require the brainpower of Einstein. There are sufficient capable people around.

do you agree that LKY surrounding himself with his own people and using public taxes to further his own interest is self serving and is not right?

Who doesn't surround himself with people they can trust... Even my boss prefers staff he likes more than capable ones! LEEway or highway that's what leadership is all about. One mountain can only have one tiger.

His real mistake is that he stayed for too long. If he had stayed for a shorter time, then there can be more different voices in the leadership. But because he stayed for such a long time, the entire civil service and political leadership is so aligned with his capitalist philosophy that the entire government just went down the extreme path.

The prime minister should serve at most 3 terms, or 15 years. He should then be totally excluded from the cabinet.

Singaporeans should hereafter be very allegic to any son or grandson taking over as PM, no matter how talented he is. Being the PM does not require the brainpower of Einstein. There are sufficient capable people around.

staying too long is one mistake.

but putting in place people who fears only him is the greatest mistake

Who doesn't surround himself with people they can trust... Even my boss prefers staff he likes more than capable ones! LEEway or highway that's what leadership is all about. One mountain can only have one tiger.

surrounding oneself with one's cronies is human...but is it right?

LKY is a deceiver of the highest order. A crooked mind brings in crooks cloaked in the mold of angels. Good and honest ppl will stay away from such crooked, hypocritical sly-minded leaders pretending to be angels.

Their values are different. The crooked ones think only of self, taking and taking. The good God-fearing and honest, wants to give to all in fairness, justice and equality.

In a clash of minds between the two, the crooked ones will keep very quiet and sulk away. While the good honest God-fearing ppl will demand accountability and transparency. They would even demand the removal of LKY the deceiver!

Do we not see this happening?

LKY is a deceiver of the highest order. A crooked mind brings in crooks cloaked in the mold of angels. Good and honest ppl will stay away from such crooked, hypocritical sly-minded leaders pretending to be angels.

Their values are different. The crooked ones think only of self, taking and taking. The good God-fearing and honest, wants to give to all in fairness, justice and equality.

In a clash of minds between the two, the crooked ones will keep very quiet and sulk away. While the good honest God-fearing ppl will demand accountability and transparency. They would even demand the removal of LKY the deceiver!

Do we not see this happening?

good points !

LKY's greatest mistake is to believe that majority of his citizens are stupid,LKY in 2012 still believes that his own people in 2012 are as stupid as they were in 1959 when they first gave him his absolute power.
The man has been left behind by history.

LKY's greatest mistake is to believe that majority of his citizens are stupid,LKY in 2012 still believes that his own people in 2012 are as stupid as they were in 1959 when they first gave him his absolute power.
The man has been left behind by history.

indeed, LKY has outlived his usefulness.

he sees problems but has no solutions

His greatest mistake is to live too long.
End up only know how to talk cock sing song.

mistake? what mistake? from his view point, filling the cabinet with cronies is the master stroke of all time. The welfare of the nation and citizenry are the last thing in his mind. as for hanging ard for too long, it no mistake. legacy is not tangible, but power & money are real. By being the M&M, he ensure the familee will rule this land for the next 20yrs or even longer if the grandson manage to hang on to the throne.

not able and not wanting to let it go, down the line.

What is Lee Kuan Yew's greatest contribution, if any? :confused:

Other than having LKY supporters, the other main issue is there are still lots of PAP-supporters (new citizens), and PAP = LKY, LKY = PAP, and among all these, PAP-fearers, fearing if they dun support PAP/LKY they will gena something jialat,

It's not in anybody's interest to keep people who will oppose you when u make decisions, else there will be inaction due to conflicts in interests etc etc.

watchman8 said:

I am totally with you on this one. 47 years is too long for one person's idea to dominate over so many generations and in an environment that has undergone so many changes and in such non-questioning manner.