• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lazy Retards Asking For Free Rides From Minister Lim

clinton666

Once again, poor lazy retards asking for free lunches from the government. Instead of looking for jobs and undergo job training offered by the government, these poor morons again hope to sit on their butt,open their dirty mouths and asked to be spoon fed by the rest of us taxpayers.

Public transport fares among issues raised at MacPherson dialogue sessionBy Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 21 December 2008 1931 hrs

SINGAPORE : It would take a further 1.5 percentage point hike in GST if bus and train rides were to be made completely free.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim revealed this at a dialogue session with MacPherson residents on Sunday.

One resident at the session said: "(During) this tough and uncertain period, I hope there will be no increase in transport fares."

With leaner times ahead and recovery not yet in sight, public transport fares - always a hot issue - dominated the discussion.

And while Mr Lim is making no promises, he said he understands ground concerns and pointed out that the Public Transport Council will look carefully at economic conditions before considering any increase.

But if things became really bad, will the government consider subsidising public transport fares?

Mr Lim pointed out that even with subsidies, it will still be the public which ends up paying.

Mr Lim elaborated: "There are only two persons who pay when it comes to public transport fares. One, I use - I pay. Or two, I use - you help me subsidise my ride. What happens when you subsidise my rides? That means the taxpayers are now paying."

Going to the other end of the spectrum, if rides were to be made completely free, that would impose a heavy tax burden on the people, as it takes S$1.2 billion just to run the bus and train systems annually.

Mr Lim said: "The money still must come from somewhere, right? It is about a 1.5 percentage point increase of your GST. So, now it is 7%. You want it to be free, do you want the GST to go up to 8.5% to run a completely free bus and train system?"

But with oil prices - which operators traditionally cite as one of their high cost factors - dropping significantly in recent months, why have bus fares not come down in tandem?

Mr Lim explained: "This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."

Moving to a cheaper form of transport, one resident asked: "I would like to know... whether we are having, in the near future, a pro-bicycle government policy, where it can provide shady bicycle tracks all over the island."

For now, Mr Lim said using two-wheelers as a form of transport is good for just intra-town travel. And it cannot be applied uniformly across the island but has to be adapted for different communities.

Apart from Tampines, authorities are also looking at Yishun and Sembawang for pilot cycling projects.

MacPherson is a constituency which has a high number of compact high-rise HDB flats, and a population that has a higher proportion of the elderly above the age of 50 who are more likely to be from the lower household income group.

It is not surprising then that not just public transport fares but also other cost of living issues that dominated the dialogue session. These included questions on whether costs of goods and services are expected to come down during this recession.

Another topic touched on was that of foreigners working in Singapore. One issue raised was whether the policy of letting foreign workers go first should also apply at the management level.

Mr Lim pointed out that this differs from company to company, and depends on how badly the particular company needed the special skill sets of those management staff. - CNA/ms

clinton666

Why should these poor lazy people work when they get free money for food, cigarettes, new clothers. They would rather stay at home and literally have a fucking good time. Sex, sex and more good sex. Why bother to get off the bed and work.

They have a highly developed crutch mentality. Who wants to pay for these goons, hands up.

They're offered money, jobs and food, so why are some desperate families still picky? By Genevieve Jiang

December 09, 2008

NO MONEY: Madam Juliana Saib and her husband, who have moved 12 times in two years, are now jobless. --TNP PICTURE: KELVIN CHNG

THEY get financial help, food rations, and even temporary shelter from community help groups.Social workers help them look for jobs, and help them with subsidised childcare and school fees, so they can work while their children remain in school.

But it can be an uphill task for community workers to get families like Madam Juliana Saib's back on their feet.

Said Mr Ravi Philemon, manager of the New Hope Shelter for Displaced Families: 'Sometimes, we help these families look for work but they refuse to take on the jobs. They are picky.

'They come up with excuses like the workplace is too far, or that the work is not suitable for them. But when you're down and out, with young kids to feed, surely any job that comes your way is a bonus.'

Are our social safety nets getting too comfortable for some, such that they breed reliance and complacency?
Should we be channelling our resources to those who can get themselves out of the poverty cycle, those who want to be helped?

With rising living costs and property prices, the number of nomadic families is on the rise, The Straits Times reported in June this year.

Each of the nine family service centres interviewed said it sees between 10 and 30 such cases each year.

Families end up at void decks, beaches and parks - sometimes for years - as a result of bad decisions and poor planning.

They over-extend themselves financially by buying a bigger flat than they can afford, resulting in banks seizing their flats over unpaid mortgage payments.

So they end up on the streets until they are allotted rental flats from the HDB or till they can afford to rent or buy a unit in the open market.

Friends and family may help, but it's often not easy for so many people under the same roof to get along.

An FSC social worker, who declined to be named, said: 'Community resources are limited, and they need to be used wisely. If families don't want to help themselves, there is little we can do.'

Said Mr Ravi: 'Some say they have no money for food but they spend on cigarettes.'

With a recession on, the situation may only get worse.

Certainly, if attitudes don't change, things are not likely to improve. After all, the community can only help those who help themselves.

Tomorrow, we meet a family who lost their youngest son because they were deep in marital problems. They did not work for more than a year after his death.

damnu88

Hello Cokadoo666.

There is a different between Free and Subsidise.

Free= No need to pay a single cent.
Subsidise= You pay some, the other party pay some.

If still pay, then how can say free. It's a matter of more or less. TOAD!!!!
In this time also dont think they are generous enough to subsidise 100%. Cause your lovely lady boss already loose tones of $$$$ liao.

It's better for you to start boot licking than tickling others' ass.

clinton444

Transport Minister Raymond Lim revealed this at a dialogue session with MacPherson residents on Sunday.

One resident at the session said: "(During) this tough and uncertain period, I hope there will be no increase in transport fares."

You spastic piece of shit, nobody is asking for free rides. Is your eye smeared with cunt juice that you cuntnot read properly? People are asking for no fee increase in transport fares in this tough and uncertain period, not free rides!!

You think all poor people like you so cheapskate, at least they dun bend down on all fours.

• animated-finger.jpg
    animated-finger.jpg
    862 bytes · Views: 108

kuntakinte

No, his eyes are not smeared with cunt juice. His eyes are smeared with SHIT !!!

HOW ??? He is a science miracle !!

When herm animal father sodomized herm mum, and unload the sperm into her arse; miraculously, she conceived !!

YEP !! The mutated offspring is none other than the Gardens School dropout - Moronic Spastic Clinton666 !! When herm mum gave birth to herm, she is not pushing as in pushing the baby out of the womb. She pushed as if had a major constipation for 9 months !!! Lo and behold, when the baby came out of the arse, herm face and especially the eyes were covered with SHIT !!!

You spastic piece of shit, nobody is asking for free rides. Is your eye smeared with cunt juice that you cuntnot read properly? People are asking for no fee increase in transport fares in this tough and uncertain period, not free rides!!

You think all poor people like you so cheapskate, at least they dun bend down on all fours.

Ian6690

We do not pay such obscence pay for such replies or performance!

1. The resident only express wish that there is no further increase in fare. Please answer or give your view to that question and not give an answer that is for an response for free rides! If this was a GP question, I give fail the answer as was not to the point!!!

2. Do NOT our intelligence! Are you saying oil costs is not a direct cost for airlines as well.? What is direct costs and indirect costs are quite clear cut with regards to oil with relation to transport operating costs.

Please step down if you cannot perform.

i_am_belle

raymond said quite rudely 'the money has got to come from somewhere, right ?'

yeah, cut from ah loong's paycheque, he's way overpaid !
:mad: