• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kopitiam increases the rental of their stalls,what the...

Conan the Barbarian

what I worry is one day gahmen will start privatise all hawker centre, let them run by big group like Kopitiam, S11, koufu etc again, ha ha, by then, where got 'Cheap' Hawker Centre? die die you must eat, every month end pocket empty, salary only enuff for food :(

It was reported in the papers last week, that tenants in dempsey road had their rentals hiked by 150%.
These tenants actually tendered 210K for the entire lot, but some corporation tendered $375K and outbidded them.

The corporation then offered the very same plot to them at twice the current rentals. 9 of the tenants quit. I felt all of them should quit then to be subjected to such blackmail.

The corporation had added no value to the properties there and all they had was money to outbid the tenants collectively and make money from being a "sub-landlord" by leasing them to existing tenants.

The losers will be consumers who have to pay higher for their wants due to the rental increases.

shOUTloud

You guys so funny. What power of the internet? Boycott kopitiam?

If you go to Raffles City Food court during lunch time, you will see the crowd and how much is the kopi? $1.60 per cup? Pple will still buy lah. You see Food Republic so farking crowded despite the ridiculous prices.

angie II

Going off topic :biggrin:
From LoveSingFade's avatar..

Qing Hai Lu

http://wiki.d-addicts.com/Qin_Hai_Lu

F88kable MILF remembered for her role in LOVE BATTLEFIELD (2004)

http://www.lovehkfilm.com/reviews_2/love_battlefield.htm

sdhcv9.jpg

You guys so funny. What power of the internet? Boycott kopitiam?

If you go to Raffles City Food court during lunch time, you will see the crowd and how much is the kopi? $1.60 per cup? Pple will still buy lah. You see Food Republic so farking crowded despite the ridiculous prices.
thats the CBD...they also need rentals from the suburbs and heartlands...if the boycott can spread, they will feel the pinch.

Lion_Barbell

no wonder i have to pay extra 15 cents when i takeaway my cup of milo.
they charged me 10 cents for the paper cup and 5 cents for the straw !

The_Latest_H

154th has reported that HDB and JTC took the lead to increase rent whilst PM Lee was singing COST CUTTING.

The left hand does not know about the right hand,no lah,the left hand just happens to know too well the WAYANG of the right hand

Is there any better explanation,I think not!

While I only know that while Republicans have accused Democrats of increasing taxes on small businesses when they have no proof to state so in the Obama budget, I think the PAP is actually guilty of saying one thing and doing the exact opposite.

If especially Kopitiam is owned by a government corporation. Even if its a private/publicly-listed company, any tax cut granted to the company, should by law, be reflected in any cost-cutting measures so as to keep more self-employed people in employment.

I'd rather have hawkers still doing business, than closing shop and being unemployed and unable to find one for more than a year. That's when the State has to pay even more- costly also- in Workfare, if people are unemployed and cannot get enough money from the recent Budget.

Higher business costs due to taxes and other sources, and more unemployment as a result of business closures only make the economical recession worse, because of the rise in unemployment, and hence drop in productivity, efficiency, effectiveness and morale. This is not what an environment that the government, its civil servants and its corporations should foster. It should be doing the opposite and stem the tide of retrenchment, droppage in wage levels, and on unproductivity. But these hypocritical actions will only make the recession deeper and delay and make any eventual recovery even tougher.

Conan the Barbarian

I'd rather have hawkers still doing business, than closing shop and being unemployed and unable to find one for more than a year. That's when the State has to pay even more- costly also- in Workfare, if people are unemployed and cannot get enough money from the recent Budget.

There are few hawkers in Kopitiam, mostly employed foreigners on work permit.
I sometimes wonder who and where the original cooks are.

I totally agree. Inform friends around you to boycott Kopitiam. BY word of mouth the message will spread. Soon you will see the numbers of people going to the food court whitting down. Nothing fantastic about Kopitiam. FOOD VERY EXPENSIVE AND MOST OF THE FOOD SELLERS ARE CHINKIES !!!

KOPITIAM....had a recent bad encounter with the food court @......, while eating with a friend. The nasi padang stall my friend, S$7.00 for a plate of nasi bryani rice, one very skinny chicken drumstick, some smattering of squid; and one piece of tomato sauce fried chicken sausage. I took that plate for him, and complained to the stall, for over-charging.

At another KOPITIAM @....somewhere else, I ordered a plate of duck meat rice, the rice was old tasting ( recycled from the day before), few silvers of duck, cost me $4.00, and I ordered a bowl of sumpling soup; the dumplings were half-cooked.

Swear I will try at my very best, not to eat at KOPITIAM.

We are really over-charged for our meals these days, and the quality of the cooking & the food is really bad. Especially, they employ PRC's to cook, local dishes; the taste is not the same.

Why, when they are 4,500 people in the line for 3,000 job vacancies ( believe them), we have People's Republic of China workers, all over Singapore?

:mad:

kchunjeng

Go to wet market, and cook it yourself.

Don't eat at those stall that increase the price.

boycott those that rude and expensive.

boycott those that not hiring Singaporean.

If some of you, or most of you can do that.

Then Singapore got HOPE !

else don't even NATO (No Action, Talk Only) attitude here

The_Latest_H

I'm sure there will be a number of unemployed S'poreans who are willing to cook fishball noodles for money. In the end I think, however, these bosses don't have a choice because of high business costs. If the rental and supplies cost a lot already, then wages will be the ones they will target to lower costs.

And as such, many will hire foreigners, not locals.

allanlee

An NS buddy of mine used to helm a noodle stall in a foodcourt..... he was paid 2.2K to run the stall with 2 ah beng helpers...... then the boss replaced the 2 helpers with ah tiongs....... after learning from my buddy the boss promoted one ah tiong to be the supervisor of the stall and ask my buddy to take pay cut to 1.8K and assist the ah tiong supervisor....... after a few months the ah tiong supervisor complain to boss how come my buddy getting 1.8K while he only get 1K as the supervisor....... the boss then asked my buddy to take the same pay as the ah tiong supervisor....... my buddy quit and the stall is now entirely staffed by PRCs...... and the food there now tastes like yuck !

No need to name the foodcourt as I believe readers here smart enough to know which foodcourt I referring to....... I have never patronised them again since my buddy left and I still see ALL the stalls there are staffed by PRCs whenever I pass by :mad: