• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Just 30 mins and JB is flooded

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195518,00.html?

Just 30 mins and JB is flooded
Traffic jam & panic as fast rising water catches residents by surprise
March 12, 2009

NP_IMAGES_FLOOD11A.jpg

SUBMERGED: Many parts of Johor Baru were under water after heavy rain hit the city. Motorists were stuck in a gridlock as the water rose to as high as 4m in some areas (below). PICTURES: CHINA PRESS

SEVERAL parts of Johor Baru, including Jalan Skudai and Jalan Seri Pelangi, were hit by flash floods yesterday.

The water level started to rise less than 30 minutes after heavy rain lashed the city at 10am, sending residents scampering to save their belongings as the water rushed into their homes, reported the New Straits Times.

Mr Saiful Adli Jamian, 39, the Umno Youth chief of Kampung Mohd Amin, said there had been floods in the area in the past but this time the water rose so fast that many of the residents were caught unawares.

'I was informed that the pump at the Sungai Chat warehouse failed to start when the water level went up,' he said.

Mayor Datuk Mohd Naim Nasir said the pump failed to turn on as the electricity supply was disrupted when a tree crashed onto a high tension cable in front of the Tepian Tebrau food stalls.

'The flood would not have been so bad if the pump had worked but the cable could only be repaired after the tree was removed by our workers,' he said.

Motorist Mohd Khairul Annuar, 28, who drives a Perodua Kancil, had to park his car by the side of Jalan Skudai because the water level had risen about half a metre, reported the Star.

Missed movie

NP_IMAGES_FLOOD11.jpg

'I am rushing to pick up a friend as we are going to watch a movie at City Square shopping mall.

'The movie will start in half an hour. I think we are definitely going to miss it,' said the technician who had been stuck in the jam for 45 minutes.

He said a car which had broken down on the right side of the road heading from Senai to Johor Baru made the situation worse.

Said grocery store owner Tan Ah Chow, 55: 'Flash floods have occurred since 1950. Even though contractors have widened and deepened drains in the area, it has not stopped flooding.'

see lah see lah
save tens of dollars for shopping
but lost tens of thousands to repair your car
that is the result for shopping in johor.
buy local. shop in singapore.

oh this happen to singapore very often many years ago, but pap fixed that, by building very huge drain. kudos to pap.

High tide plus heavy rain sure flood in JB and KL.
Today highest tide is about 3.1m at 11.30 am.

DerekLeung

Johor blames Singapore for not letting them remove the bridge that blocks the waterway of the Johor channel !

Now that Johor finally shown the world and her neighbour that their services is a bucket of shit ! Most of the pollution and rubbish is from Johor, slums and all !

banova888

see lah see lah
save tens of dollars for shopping
but lost tens of thousands to repair your car
that is the result for shopping in johor.
buy local. shop in singapore.

oh this happen to singapore very often many years ago, but pap fixed that, by building very huge drain. kudos to pap.

What happened to the PAP MP who suggested that OLD! Singaporeans go to JB to retire in cheap nursing homes as compared to Singapore No Flood Nursing Homes.

if u want cheap, send ur o folks 2 jb la! ...

juz 30 min n jb is flooded woh! ... how? ... :rolleyes:

So they will die faster, & cheaper to cremate in Johor..half the price in SINgapore...they can work out a three in one package...

Now you know why 'cow bei cow bu', is cross-selling the idea of placing all your eldery love ones in Johor Nursing homes...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

annexa

Fuck up Civil Engineering loh. Never count drainage needed for density of building on lands. Just anyhow build and build and build. This is what you get for racist policies and crony politics. Unlike Singapore so good and nice.

This is a sinkie reply. Instead of being concern to your neighbours, you take this chance to compare how good and bad you are to them when your neighbour met some inconveniences.

That is why i avoid sinkie far away not to get polluted with such traits.

JohnTT

All countries have problems, Singapore included.

This flooding in JB is a combination natural/man made problem, but in Spore it is ALL PAP made :rolleyes:

It is a 100% man-made problem in Malaysia 'cos it rains in Singapore too. Singapore's flooding problem has improved a lot, thanks to an efficient govt. In Malaysia, this problem have been happening for many decades, and still NO improvement...... :biggrin:

Ah hah, see its been going on for decades. The Malaysians simply haven't gotten around to doing something about it :smile:

In Spore, the flood prone areas are in the expensive districts like Newton & Bukit Timah. You know lah, theres powerful vested interests to do something about it, especially when its in you're backyard. :rolleyes:

JohnTT

Ah hah, see its been going on for decades. The Malaysians simply haven't gotten around to doing something about it :smile:

In Spore, the flood prone areas are in the expensive districts like Newton & Bukit Timah. You know lah, theres powerful vested interests to do something about it, especially when its in you're backyard. :rolleyes:

Well....I have to disagree. I am staying in HDB & when we encountered flooding in the past, we reflected it to the relevant authority & soon improvement works was carried out.

whereas.... in Malaysia, my relative's place is often flooded, with poor lighting & poor road condition even 'til today............... :biggrin::biggrin:

tiulehloumoh

What happened to the PAP MP who suggested that OLD! Singaporeans go to JB to retire in cheap nursing homes as compared to Singapore No Flood Nursing Homes.

hey asshole, get your fact correct.....it is asshole people like you who send their old folk to nursing home....... and the papy is try to solve asshole old folk problem by building nursing home there becos it is cheaper...:oIo:

Well....I have to disagree. I am staying in HDB & when we encountered flooding in the past, we reflected it to the relevant authority & soon improvement works was carried out.

Don't forget there is always some upgrading work going on in Spore. Wink, wink, someone is getting rich from all these contracts.

Upgrading of HDB is very lucrative, when you add up those thousands of people each have to pay $$$$, it all adds up.

Many of these kuching kurak projects add up to millions lah; grass cutting, tree watering, sweeping of streets. Dig road again & again & again....:rolleyes:

In Malaysia, the elites are getting rich doing mega projects like constructing dams, airports, etc.

I suspect Spore got more multi-millionaires civil servants than Malaysia. So PAP system is the bestest system :rolleyes:

Why don't your relatives move ? I suspect because they are paying [Malaysian] peanuts in taxes & so got low expectations. Property damage must also be relatively insignificant.

ur relatif stays in opposition territory? ...

Malaysian system is different from Spore lah.

In Malaysia if got opposition, gov't must try to win over. Must show the advantages of voting for gov't.

In Spore, if you vote opposition , kenna tarok to teach you a lesson. :eek: