• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JUMBO floating restaurant capsizes in the South China Sea

Flying Horse

Why was the floating restaurant going into the South China Sea? I was on a cruise on the South China Sea, the sea waters get rough occasionally and walking along corridors and on the staircase was quite the dizzy experience. :biggrin:

Must be the idea of some hare-brained Tiong administrator. :rolleyes:
Someone actually checked the meteorological data on that location during the incident. Guess what ? Apparently there is no rough sea at all. So I don't think any insurance company would be so gullible as to believe it was solely bad weather that sunk that gigantic floating elephant. Climate Change again ?

Flying Horse

A lot of rumours online it may be orchestrated to claim insurance as a lot of losses over last 2 years due to covid!
With 2 years of literally ZERO cashflow in. Only cashflow out to pay all kinds of expenses. No financial assistance from Carrie Lam at all. Frankly, if you are the owner what would you do ? The liability is too much. I guess the owner probably knows he can't get a penny out from the insurance but at least his plan to bury it in the South China sea helps the company to stop bleeding. It's cruel and make financial sense.

Flying Horse

It could have gotten docked in sinkieland waters and get repurposed into a giant offshore KTV
Unfortunately Sinkieland had very few risk-taking chap like you nor the Spore Tourism Board willing to snap it up for cheap. Personally I think it's not a bad idea. The last time before Covid, I remember there is a smaller scale floating restaurant at Ho Chi Min City. It does brightened up the skyline of HCMC.

LITTLEREDDOT

Can Sinkies capsize the floating platform at Marina Bay and collect insurance money? NS men will be very happy, no National Day parade.

Unfortunately Sinkieland had very few risk-taking chap like you nor the Spore Tourism Board willing to snap it up for cheap. Personally I think it's not a bad idea. The last time before Covid, I remember there is a smaller scale floating restaurant at Ho Chi Min City. It does brightened up the skyline of HCMC.
Haha. I talk cock only.

A floating restaurant has very high maintenance costs. The monthly upkeep for a 40yo vessel must be horrible.

Even if we want to have a floating KTV it'll be cheaper to build a new one

Could be done on purpose. By it sinking it becomes a write off n no need to worry about refurbishment etc...it has become such a hot potato n soo many buyers rejected it..also repair more expensive than demolishment..n it sunk below 1km...so save on salvage fees. N might even get insurance payout
lowest cost and most efficient way of disposing a giant derelict. will form an artificial reef for centuries to cum. fish will love it.

Peace Maker

Did that on purpose to claim insurance, not possible for salvage in such deep waters. Otherwise, there will be human casualty but none, so everyone on the boat are aware of the sinking.

Haha. I talk cock only.

A floating restaurant has very high maintenance costs. The monthly upkeep for a 40yo vessel must be horrible.

Even if we want to have a floating KTV it'll be cheaper to build a new one
Simi lancheow high maintenance u talking about. U don't know this is a barge meh? There is no engine, no ship systems in there at all. Its just a floating metal platform and they build a multi story restaurant on it. Simi lancehow upkeep? They just have to pay the moorage cost. Upkeep is the same as any other land based restaurant. Occasionally, u hire a couple of divers go down and clean the hull. that should be it. In fact, its even lower maintenance then most restaurant because there is not even a kitchen on it. The kitchen is in a separate smaller barge moored next to it.

if at international waters can claim “accident.” no coastal environmental impact. pass the proverbial buck to all on the planet.
u not thinking like an entreprenuer. They should have towed this to singapore and park it in international waters. Then turn it into a big party and fuckfest place. have motor launch to take guess back and forth between clifford pier and the barge. Can hold fuckfest orgies there every night. sell drinks package. bring hookers there. those rich expats and pervert indians sure to patronise.

it needs to be anchored well at 4 corners. otherwise sway here sway there sure sink when eager patrons bang their prostitutes too violently. if international water is deep, anchor chains will weigh several tons. not sure if floating platform can tahan the seaworthiness of just staying afloat with 6.9-foot swells. because it's flat-bottomed there may some issues with its center of gravity having such a clumsy superstructure.

Hypocrite-The

it needs to be anchored well at 4 corners. otherwise sway here sway there sure sink when eager patrons bang their prostitutes too violently. if international water is deep, anchor chains will weigh several tons. not sure if floating platform can tahan the seaworthiness of just staying afloat with 6.9-foot swells. because it's flat-bottomed there may some issues with its center of gravity having such a clumsy superstructure.
And salt water is corrosive and high safety standards need to be maintained...n supplies cost a bit more due to needing boats n increase manual handling.

Hypocrite-The

lowest cost and most efficient way of disposing a giant derelict. will form an artificial reef for centuries to cum. fish will love it.
One other point. The floating restaurant is ok for a vanity project but really impractical economically. Maintenance cost is high, safety standards cost money, tpt supplies cost more, and the structure has a limited lifespan. They should have just plan for 30 years n get rid of it...but slot of sentimental BS attachments etc prevented a proper economic decision to be made. Now it became a corpse on life support n disposed off quietly