• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat John Tan's Children Get Guaranteed Good Results In School Because John Can Afford To Spend $1200 A Month On Tuition!

An ST poll found that every parent who spent over $1,200 a month on their child's tuition saw better results.

It begs the question, is high-quality tuition an "academic arms race" which favours those who can afford it?

When parents around you are digging into their pockets to get better results using tuition classes, it's hard to not do the same so that your children will not get left behind.

Straits Times Facebook user Carmesir Chuan described the situation as the "academic arms race of Singaporean parents", and said: "Whoever can afford it will win it all. Sad for the needy families..."

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-dark-side-of-tuition-delivering-good-results

That is why I constantly worry for my young daughter. After paying for my HDB monthly instalment loan in cash, utilities, food and living expenses for my elderly parents, I seldom have much left every month. I am afraid my daughter will be left behind because I cannot really afford much tuition for her. Sometimes I see her struggle with her homework, I try to help her. I feel bad as I am not able to provide the best for her. At times, I blame myself for bringing her into this PAP elitist society and have to suffer , probably more than me in future.

You are a shitty parent if you refuse to spend money on quality tuition for your daughter. Please cut back on your smoking, alcohol and e-shopping so that your daughter has money for tuition.

I am in the same situation as you...I concur with what u r going through...however I still feel they need to be pushed during the psle phase and hopefully get into a school offering the IP/IB program so that can reduce one year of a level and get into uni one year earlier...once sec no need to push cos nowadays not difficult to go through the poly route into a local uni, just waste time...try to focus more on life skills instead...photography, arts, music, driving, cooking, etc something that can put them in a position to have cash on hand in case they cant beat the rat race

How about focusing on motorcyle driving and PMD driving instead? They'll have a better future as Grab drivers or Grab food deliverers instead.

You are a shitty parent if you refuse to spend money on quality tuition for your daughter. Please cut back on your smoking, alcohol and e-shopping so that your daughter has money for tuition.
I don't smoke. I don't drink and I don't shop much. The only thing I splurge on is fresh nutritious food for her. We seldom eat out because I don't want her to grow up as a hawker centre fed kid. Restaurants...Very very seldom as the budget doesn't allow such expenditure

I agree with you. I also think life skills are more critical in this new economy and perhaps maybe her talent and passion will be the saving grace in future.

There are honest sinkees, unlike you the corrupt one.

How about focusing on motorcyle driving and PMD driving instead? They'll have a better future as Grab drivers or Grab food deliverers instead.

I suggest they train to be assassins, targetting PAP members, especially people like you.

I don't think it is right to be violent against such self serving PAP elites. Why should I dirty my hands. The power in my hands is in my vote. I hope more Singaporeans know that they can change this horrible government, who is always giving protection to subsidies, scholarships, tax advantages and all sorts of good things to foreigners and neglecting local born Singaporeans.

My take home salary after CPF contribution is about $4500 per month. I give a total nof $800 to my elderly oarents for their living expenses. My HDB monthly mortgage loan is about $1200 by cash and rest deduct cpf ordinary account. This leaves me with about $2500 per month for me and my young daughter's food, utilities, conservancy fees, public transport, food, school fees, enrichment classes for her, etc. On a good month, I do manage to save $500 for future emergencies. One never know when my daughter or myself may fall ill, or maybe my parents may need medical treatment or maid to look after as they age.

An ST poll found that every parent who spent over $1,200 a month on their child's tuition saw better results.

It begs the question, is high-quality tuition an "academic arms race" which favours those who can afford it?

When parents around you are digging into their pockets to get better results using tuition classes, it's hard to not do the same so that your children will not get left behind.

Straits Times Facebook user Carmesir Chuan described the situation as the "academic arms race of Singaporean parents", and said: "Whoever can afford it will win it all. Sad for the needy families..."

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-dark-side-of-tuition-delivering-good-results

Biased opinions because SPH owns Mindchamps and Han Language Center.

If tuition centres so good, make it a option for children to go there instead of going to schools. No need to attend both.

My take home salary after CPF contribution is about $4500 per month. I give a total nof $800 to my elderly oarents for their living expenses. My HDB monthly mortgage loan is about $1200 by cash and rest deduct cpf ordinary account. This leaves me with about $2500 per month for me and my young daughter's food, utilities, conservancy fees, public transport, food, school fees, enrichment classes for her, etc. On a good month, I do manage to save $500 for future emergencies. One never know when my daughter or myself may fall ill, or maybe my parents may need medical treatment or maid to look after as they age.
Your approach can be better improved if you can afford $140 a mth for the right kind of insurance ...can get 90% medical and hospitalization cover for yourself up to one million and same for your girl plus one endowment or whole life...I'm not selling insurance but it is a must have esp medical, a small savings or endowment for future uni fees is also advisable

U should soylent green yr parents. No point sacrificing yr past for the future

The schools are not effective and efficient in educating the students.
There is room for improvement . That is why tuition centres complement for the deficiencies.

Migrate lor.

No way to vote PAP out.

Stinkies are ballless porlumpars of eunuch loong.

Got no balls unlike hongkies.

Girls must born to naturally pretty and well-endowed if they cannot study never mind :biggrin: