• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

J P Morgan Being Investiagted

When the railway between China and Myanmar completed in 3 years time, commie can re-draw their South China Sea all the way to India Ocean.

中缅同意合建跨境铁路(仰光路透电)缅甸官员昨天披露,缅甸与中国已经达成协议,建造一条从中国西南部直通印度洋的铁路。 缅甸交通部一名不愿透露姓名的官员昨天披露,缅甸与中国已经达成协议,建造一条从中国西南部直通印度洋的铁路。

这位高级官员告诉路透社,这条铁路将分5个阶段建造,会从中国云南省一直延伸至缅甸西部的若开省主要城镇皎漂,全程1215公里,预计需要三年修建。

他说:“这整个工程还包括修建一条与铁路平行的高速公路。”

新的中缅高铁与高速公路将与目前正在建造的两条巨型管道平行;这两条预计在接下来两年完工的管道,将来每年会从缅甸输送多达1200万吨的原油及120亿立方米的天然气到中国。

中国目前正通过一个广泛的网络将自己与亚洲邻国衔接起来,这包括了铁路系统、道路、电网、电信网络、石油与天然气管道和港口等,即将修建的中缅高铁与高速公路就是这个广泛网络的一部分。

中国是缅甸最大的政治盟友,随着两国接下来数年会展开一系列的能源与基础设施建设计划,预计中国也将成为缅甸的最大投资者。

西方国家对缅甸前军和现任新持有意见,对缅甸采取了多项制裁,因此中国在缅甸的贸易与经济投资不需要面对太大的竞争。中国希望中缅高铁修建完毕后,云南省府昆明将能成为区域自由贸易中心。

Wait for the commies to land the first tiong(s) on the moon in 2020 and the power swift in the world to the commies will be undeniable after that landing. Supremacy in space, air, sea and money market will be in the hands of the commies.

USA is using its cronies, Japan, S Korea, ASEAN, Taiwan to slow down China. Is the protest by HK students initiated by USA to give China problems?

Temasek is in it for the long term so these short term hiccups are of no consequence.

Ho Ching has the skill and foresight to handle such minor issues.

Not sure about foresight but she sure has fire fighting skills. In fact if you lack foresight you need fire fighting skills. Temasek might have plenty of practice.

Furthermore if you have tonnes of money pouring in every month with no prospect of that drying up , and no inspection by the auditor general, then you can make lots of mistakes.

JP Morgan Chase, the largest bank in the US, is under investigation over currency trading.

Is there going to be a potential currency crisis shd JPM be found guilty and other banks are implicated too?

Last year Temasek Holdings bought 10% of JPM for US$500m. Are we looking at a big potential loss for Temasek for this bad investment?

From what I heard on the financial community, the next global financial crisis will be triggered by sovereign debt defaults of major countries. Not triggered by currency crisis.

Not sure about foresight but she sure has fire fighting skills. In fact if you lack foresight you need fire fighting skills. Temasek might have plenty of practice.

Furthermore if you have tonnes of money pouring in every month with no prospect of that drying up , and no inspection by the auditor general, then you can make lots of mistakes.

No need to account for her mistakes and no need to open her books for inspection. I look forward to a new govt taking over and forcing her to open her books for inspection

From what I heard on the financial community, the next global financial crisis will be triggered by sovereign debt defaults of major countries. Not triggered by currency crisis.

currency crisis may cause some countries to go into recession and affect world's economy.

watch for USA's growth and also some European countries like Greece, Spain, Portugal, etc

did you hear abt the possible drag on SG's economy for the next few quarters? Presently, many businesses are not doing well and have cash flow problems. Will they be dragged under in time to come?

Creative, TigerAir, Scoot, NOL, etc are not doing well

SIA is struggling too because USA and European travellers are cutting down on travel expenses and increased competition from Emirates, Qatar, Etihad. Will SIA report its first annual loss soon?

Being investigated for currency trading is another way of sure that these big profit earners pay their "kopi money" to the regulators. As you look in most Investment banks, their FX trading desk is sure to be the top few generating the highest positive P&L....obviously someone wants a small piece of the big pie...

did you hear abt the possible drag on SG's economy for the next few quarters? Presently, many businesses are not doing well and have cash flow problems. Will they be dragged under in time to come?

Creative, TigerAir, Scoot, NOL, etc are not doing well

SIA is struggling too because USA and European travellers are cutting down on travel expenses and increased competition from Emirates, Qatar, Etihad. Will SIA report its first annual loss soon?

I can't comment on specific company like SIA or another company as it requires specific fundamental and technical analysis research for that particular company.

What I heard is the current macro-economic slowdown in Asia and Europe but the US economy is still growing.

As for the next few quarters, expect more economic slowdown both in Asia and Europe but not the USA.

The main thing to watch out for is in Q4 of 2015 when interest rates in major western countries are expected to spike when their governments would start to have difficulties servicing their debts which would be the beginning of major sovereign debt defaults that would last for years. It's safe to assume that most banks around the globe will have major liquidity problem as most of them have large percentage of their reserve requirement invested in "investment grade" government bonds when governments are going broke. I won't be surprised if banks would need to confiscate deposits like in Cyprus in other to stay afloat and to prevent the global banking system from collapsing. In the end, it's the depositors who will pay the price for the fiscal mismanagement of governments.

Sorry, no more bank bailouts from the central banks next time around. It will be bailed-in by the depositors via deposit confiscation.

Being investigated for currency trading is another way of sure that these big profit earners pay their "kopi money" to the regulators. As you look in most Investment banks, their FX trading desk is sure to be the top few generating the highest positive P&L....obviously someone wants a small piece of the big pie...

Yes, reap huge bonuses at the expense of other stake holders

I can't comment on specific company like SIA or another company as it requires specific fundamental and technical analysis research for that particular company.

What I heard is the current macro-economic slowdown in Asia and Europe but the US economy is still growing.

As for the next few quarters, expect more economic slowdown both in Asia and Europe but not the USA.

The main thing to watch out for is in Q4 of 2015 when interest rates in major western countries are expected to spike when their governments would start to have difficulties servicing their debts which would be the beginning of major sovereign debt defaults that would last for years. It's safe to assume that most banks around the globe will have major liquidity problem as most of them have large percentage of their reserve requirement invested in "investment grade" government bonds when governments are going broke. I won't be surprised if banks would need to confiscate deposits like in Cyprus in other to stay afloat and to prevent the global banking system from collapsing. In the end, it's the depositors who will pay the price for the fiscal mismanagement of governments.

Sorry, no more bank bailouts from the central banks next time around. It will be bailed-in by the depositors via deposit confiscation.

Thank you for the good analysis.

Most economies are not looking good. If Europe suffers and USA also go down, Asia will go down too. Many companies are already struggling and if world economy goes into a recession, these companies will be dragged under.

Just as an example, SIA and NOL are already struggling and another recession nail will hit them hard

Thank you for the good analysis.

Most economies are not looking good. If Europe suffers and USA also go down unexpected, Asia will go down too. Many companies are already struggling and if world economy goes into a recession, these companies will be dragged under.

Just as an example, SIA and NOL are already struggling and another recession nail will hit them hard

You're too pessimistic. All economies have their ups and downs but thanks to the skills of the PAP and Temasek management, Singapore is far more resilient compared to the rest of the world.

That is why I have such huge respect for the PAP leadership.

You're too pessimistic. All economies have their ups and downs but thanks to the skills of the PAP and Temasek management, Singapore is far more resilient compared to the rest of the world.

I am a realist. I listen to what pap said and checked for truth. Often I hear half truths and mistruths from the pap. So I don't believe what the pap says unless I can verify them.

When SIA bought Virgin Airlines for $169m and sold it for $31m, TH reported that SIA made a profit $31m from the purchase and sale of Virgin Airlines. The truth is SIA lost $138m in that deal.

Do you trust what TH and PAP say?

Did you hear from PAP that NOL is in trouble and bleeding? But that's the truth. PAP tries to hide that truth

If you listen to pap news, NOL is doing well despite that fact that it is liquidating many assets just to look less red. How many people know that NOL has sold its HQ Building at Alexander Road just to get cash to look decent? Do you know that NOL is looking for a buyer to purchase its only profit making subsidiary? If you know all these truths, you will be less inclined to praise pap because you know you dont get to hear the truths from PAP

PAP insists that a couple earning S$1000 a month can buy a 2-r HDB flat and have two children. You believe the pap??

You're too pessimistic.

On the political front, I am an optimist. I expect the electorate to slap the pap hard at the next GE and the pap to lose more GRCs and many seats.

We don't have to wait for long to see the pap getting whacked

PAP insists that a couple earning S$1000 a month can buy a 2-r HDB flat and have two children. You believe the pap??

Of course I believe the PAP. They have always honored their promises unlike the other political parties.

Care to share what promises have the PAP made to you and honoured? I hope that you don't trust blindly and without substance