• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Is this fair? - Cabby jailed and disqualified

I have seen such cases reported with increasing frequency. This girl was jaywalking in the middle of the road just past midnight. He was within the speed limit. I have no idea how liability is assigned and how the punishment is assessed. I am not sure how much value the in-vehicle camera played in the assessment.

I do get the part of keeping a proper look-out but to what extent. The concern is that Singapore is a crowded city and we even have 3 lanes amongst HDB blocks and people frequently crossing the streets in a haphazard manner is more prevalent than before.

5 years disqualification and imprisonment seems too harsh. And to a Cabby whose livelihood is his licence. Even medical doctors don't get suspended to this extent for negligent death. Completely understaff if it speeding, making illegal U-turn etc .

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Chan Khai Mun was jailed for one week and disqualified from driving for five years for causing the death of an 18-year-old, who was walking in the middle of the road.
PUBLISHEDJUN 6, 2016, 5:19 PM SGT

Amir Hussain
SINGAPORE - A 67-year-old taxi driver was on Monday (June 6) jailed for one week and disqualified from driving for five years for causing the death of an 18-year-old, who was walking in the middle of the road.

Chan Khai Mun pleaded guilty to causing Ye Zhangdan's death just past midnight on July 15, 2015, by failing to keep a proper lookout while driving.

A district court heard that Chan, who was driving the night shift that day, picked up a passenger at Yishun MRT station at about 12.05am and was told to head to Yew Tee.

He was driving in the centre lane of the three-lane Sembawang Road, towards Mandai Avenue, when he failed to spot Ms Ye walking slowly on the same lane and in the same direction as the flow of traffic.

The taxi was travelling at about 60kmh along the straight road, which has a speed limit of 60kmh.

The vehicle collided into the back of Ms Ye, who was flung onto the bonnet of the cab and into the air before she landed on the road.

As Chan did not see Ms Ye, who was wearing light-coloured clothes, until the point of impact, he had not applied his brakes or taken any evasive action.

The weather was fine and there were no other vehicles in front of the taxi, which had a clear and unobstructed view.

Ms Ye, who reportedly celebrated her birthday 12 days earlier, died in hospital the next day.

Footage of the incident, captured by the taxi's in-vehicle camera, was played in court.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Stephanie Koh asked for one to two weeks' jail, with a five-year driving ban.

In mitigation, Chan's lawyer Johnny Seah said: "The fatal accident which took place on that fateful morning was an accident bound to happen as the deceased jaywalker was 'slow walking' (not crossing) in the middle of the centre lane of the three lane Sembawang road following a quarrel with her boyfriend."

Mr Seah also submitted an article from The New Paper to the court, which quoted an eyewitness saying that Ms Ye's boyfriend had shouted "It's my fault, it's all my fault" as he ran towards her after the accident.

The article reported the boyfriend later told Ms Ye's mother that the couple had been at a karaoke bar on Sembawang Road, near Jalan Lengkok Sembawang.

Ms Seah said: "The accused was lawfully driving along the centre lane of Sembawang Road towards Ang Mo Kio within the prescribed speed limit.

"Unfortunately, the deceased jay-walker put the accused in a position that even though he was driving within the prescribed speed limit, he collided into the deceased jay-walker who was jaywalking in the middle of the centre lane of Sembawang Road and within the vicinity of an overhead bridge."

The lawyer said Chan has stopped driving since the accident and volunteers at Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery. He asked for a high fine for his client.

Principal District Judge Ong Hian Sun sentenced Chan to one week's jail, with a five-year driving ban.

For causing death by a negligent act, Chan could have been jailed for two years and fined.

if im cycling at east coast park,using the proper track and on the right side of the track and crusing along within the speed limit,well within the legal aspects of everything,does it mean i can completely stop keeping a look out and be negligent of any park users that might happen to get in my way?driving in singapore is already the easiest thing in the world,its not like other countries where u have wild animals crossing or darting across the roads,roads that are dark and have barely any lights like in australia.or bad weather in other countries.....ur only fucking responsibility is to drive the fucking vehicle and be alert when ur driving or cycling and u cant do it?

come on man,the world is full of unpredictable factors full of uncontrollable outcomes....sinkies and PAP like to think Singapore is perfectly safe,everything can be controlled,everything can be planned,every scenario predicted,everything can be controlled thru rules,laws and algorithms,everything can be orderly and planned like clockwork just like jurassic park,and they let their guard down completely.but they forget that mother nature cannot be tamed,beneath every civilisation,beneath every mankind's attempt to implement order and pattern there is a underlying chaos theory.mother nature is always there waiting to throw a spanner into ur machinery,jeopardize everything,things can be fine one minute and the next complete utter shit.mother nature in unpredictable,uncontrollable.remember murphy's law number one "anything that can go wrong,will go wrong" so KEEP UR FUCKING EYES OPEN AND UR FINGERS CROSSED.

sinkies need to go out in the world,there they will understand the power of nature and chaos in nature and understand the world is a scary and unpredictable place.stop hiding in their cave and pretending everything is alright.

I really worry when the punishment seems overly harsh. Keeping a proper lookout is fair enough but I wonder how these cabbies and those are trying to make a living can withstand these sorts of punishments. I remember a rich lady dragged the body of a person she knocked and thought it was tree brach and went home. She was acquitted.The SPH Chinese editors that killed someone while using her handphone which is worse did not go to jail.

Someone has to look into these things.

The letter of the law was applied with not very much consideration given to its intent.

The Shin Min editor got a massive one day jail sentence after an appeal. She ran a traffic light, and the accident also happened during daytime.

Apparently she did not even see a day in jail because the judge made an error and her lawyer Subhas Anandan was scrambling around to sort it out. Normally when you are sentenced to a day's jail, you go down to the cell below the courts and then realised at 5pm. In her case, no cell. But it will appear in her records as jailed for the day.

The Shin Min editor got a massive one day jail sentence after an appeal. She ran a traffic light, and the accident also happened during daytime.

How to hve faith in Sinkiepoor judiciary system, rich or cronies get light sentence.

Because of such archaic laws, there are many foreigners who disregard their own safety and cause problems to other road users.

I stay at mandarin gardens and we see many indians who choose to walk on the road, against traffic, abreast of threes or fours, wearing dark coloured clothing, chatting or with headphones on, disregarding cars. This is despite a nice walking 700+m manicured walking path in the condo for walking. These indians choose to defy traffic and cause problems to drivers.

Who do we blame for such inconsiderate behaviours?

This 18 year old bitch who got run over by the taxi driver, just look at the facts.

With a name like Ye Zhangdan, out after midnight doing karaoke with her boyfriend, on a wednesday in the middle of the school week, can only mean she is one of those rich spoilt PRC kids studying here. That means that if a sinkie runs over and kills one of these PAP FT Pets, he will always get the short end of the stick. The FT always add more to the sentence. If he had run over and killed another sinkie, nothing will happen to him.

I really worry when the punishment seems overly harsh. Keeping a proper lookout is fair enough but I wonder how these cabbies and those are trying to make a living can withstand these sorts of punishments. I remember a rich lady dragged the body of a person she knocked and thought it was tree brach and went home. She was acquitted.The SPH Chinese editors that killed someone while using her handphone which is worse did not go to jail.

Two years ago a 64 year old taxi driver was sentenced to the same one week jail and five year driving disqualification for causing serious injury to a motorcyclist riding a without a license in the early hours of the morning by turning right in the oncoming rider's path. The judge has to follow precedence. Taxi drivers should be made to go through a strict test of their reaction to potential threats from the age of 55 after they are allowed to withdraw all their CPF money.

She deserves her death.

Driver is not entirely at fault nor entirely clear. No need to disqualify lah.

He does not know how to defense his case in court that's why.

He need to say I freaked out as I saw GHOST on road. Quite accurately she IS ghost. Her soul not inside her as she walked toad that way.

Yes, its this sort of cases where completely negligent individuals are the cause of the accident and the poor cabby has to incur such harsh punishment. Its like bad luck. And with NTUC as industry player you would think they have some clout.

Two years ago a 64 year old taxi driver was sentenced to the same one week jail and five year driving disqualification for causing serious injury to a motorcyclist riding a without a license in the early hours of the morning by turning right in the oncoming rider's path. The judge has to follow precedence. Taxi drivers should be made to go through a strict test of their reaction to potential threats from the age of 55 after they are allowed to withdraw all their CPF money.

Yes, its this sort of cases where completely negligent individuals are the cause of the accident and the poor cabby has to incur such harsh punishment. Its like bad luck. And with NTUC as industry player you would think they have some clout.

Just wondering if the lawyer could have done more for the accused person. Yes, pretty draconian punishment, given facts of case.

These indians choose to defy traffic and cause problems to drivers.

We have 1.4 billion of them on Earth, culling a few of them wouldn't yield much impact.

Just wondering if the lawyer could have done more for the accused person. Yes, pretty draconian punishment, given facts of case.

Obviously the lawyer could have done more. This Johnny Seah is a moron. To me, the case can be twisted by him into "Suicide by Taxi". The drunken teenage spoilt brat from China, out late at night karaoking with the BF, got into an argument with him. She got mad, and in the heat of the moment wanted to kill herself. She deliberately stood infront of the taxi so she could be run down. As proof of this, the boyfriend was heard to shout "Its all my fault", meaning his argument with her caused her to kill herself by taxi. In fact, any motor vehicle coming along would have suffice, the taxi driver was ass luck it was him. Like that also the fucking lawyer don't know how to say?

2 sets of laws. 1 set for the elites. 1 for the peasents.

Obviously the lawyer could have done more. This Johnny Seah is a moron. To me, the case can be twisted by him into "Suicide by Taxi". The drunken teenage spoilt brat from China, out late at night karaoking with the BF, got into an argument with him. She got mad, and in the heat of the moment wanted to kill herself. She deliberately stood infront of the taxi so she could be run down. As proof of this, the boyfriend was heard to shout "Its all my fault", meaning his argument with her caused her to kill herself by taxi. In fact, any motor vehicle coming along would have suffice, the taxi driver was ass luck it was him. Like that also the fucking lawyer don't know how to say?

yes, ass luck. could have happened to any of us if we were driving down that road. wonder how much this moron lawyer charged his client. My hunch - 3k minimum.

Is there Justice in Sinkiepore, the 70% better wake up and ask their belovered PAP.