• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is there a road named after Fandi Ahmad? * rolleyes *

Neven Subotic

Cahill Expressway renamed for soccer star

AAP Updated June 17, 2013, 4:47 pm

17june_timcahill_800x600-18rtcgm.jpg

An iconic Sydney road is being temporarily renamed in honour of superstar striker Tim Cahill as the Socceroos make their bid for the World Cup.

The Cahill Expressway was originally named after former NSW premier "JJ" Cahill who opened it in 1958.

But from now until the end of Tuesday's World Cup qualifier against Iraq it will be known as the Tim Cahill Expressway.

"I am delighted to rename the Cahill Expressway the Tim Cahill Expressway from now until full time tomorrow night," Premier Barry O'Farrell announced on Monday.

"Tim is one of our greatest Socceroos.

"If he scores tomorrow night against Iraq at ANZ Stadium, Tim will equal the record for the most number of goals in Socceroos history."

Cahill said he was "extremely grateful and humbled by this wonderful gesture".

"(Tuesday) night is a huge night for the Socceroos and for me personally, as we push to qualify for Brazil 2014 and without the support of the NSW people, and all Australians, we would not be in this position."

The Tim Cahill Expressway links the Harbour Bridge to Sydney's eastern suburbs via Circular Quay.

The match, during which Cahill will have a chance to equal the 29 goal record held by Damian Mori, has sold out.

Kick-off is at 7.30pm (AEST) Tuesday.

whoami

Yes. We should.

Dont be like Msia. Wait until Late P Ramlee passed away, then started paying tribute, promoted him lah etc etc.

But then again P Ramlee was a Malay and over at Msia. Whereas Fandi is a Malay. But in SinkieLand.

Yes. We should.

Dont be like Msia. Wait until Late P Ramlee passed away, then started paying tribute, promoted him lah etc etc.

But then again P Ramlee was a Malay and over at Msia. Whereas Fandi is a Malay. But in SinkieLand.

P Ramlee is a legend & a cultural icon, not only known to the Malays, but other races too, in S.E.A. , Asia & the world..who is Fandi Ahmad?

he was undoubtedly our best .. what has Fandi achieved for singapore football?

if there's a road named after him then there should be roads named after the early 80s Lion squad.

whoami

P Ramlee is a legend & a cultural icon, not only known to the Malays, but other races too, in S.E.A. , Asia & the world..who is Fandi Ahmad?

Hes the first Singaporean footballer to play in Europe, the first Singaporean millionaire sportsperson and first Singaporean sportsperson to have a published biography, Fandi has been called a national legend.

smiling

don't think fandi has reached a level where a road should be named after him
he's just a good footballer
has he done much for the country
has he made Singapore football known to the world ..
wait for the 1st Olympic gold medallist - then we name something after him ..

sirus

Alamak, fat hope lah, with pap as gahment.
The pap would rather name after a FT.

Hes the first Singaporean footballer to play in Europe, the first Singaporean millionaire sportsperson and first Singaporean sportsperson to have a published biography, Fandi has been called a national legend.

Who remembers?? if he is other than FANDI...a surname like Li Lai Ye...he will be a living legend, even name the a station at Marina Bay area for the new Thomson Line..Fandi...funny?? who??

whoami

Who remembers?? if he is other than FANDI...a surname like Li Lai Ye...he will be a living legend, even name the a station at Marina Bay area for the new Thomson Line..Fandi...funny?? who??

Becareful wat u say hor? Wait tat Jah Jamban call u a racist or worst...Chinese dog.

Fandi would rather take cash then have some road named after him.
LKY on the other hand......will get many places named after him after he fuck off........expect public holiday too.

Forget about road names, put Fandi's face on a new set of Singapore dollar notes.

I'd rather have Fandi's face than the face of that tree-planting zombie. :rolleyes: