• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it better to be average Singapore or average Malaysian?

This I fully agree.
Besides the Chinese and Indians even the Malays also came to Singapore to seek better paying jobs.
Dr. Mahatir did admit the bumiputra policy was a disaster but he can't do sh*t about it.
Country run by pigs will never prosper ( eg. Indonesia , Malaysia )
Brunei lucky got fuel ( but for how long ? )

BTW , my OC is from Pontian.

Malaysia also got fuel as you termed it. no?
Indo got gas?
All these countries got alot of natural resources

Bro Ramseth, i have always held (and still do) most of your posts in high regard, the part about the stamp every month is in error though.

Once you get MACS, you do not need to stamp it at all, my passport has US/UK/China stamps except MY and has been that way for the past 1.5 years.

If you have money, you can do the MM2H programme and be on very long term VISA (10 years) with a view of PR after that.

Malaysians may continue to complain about their countries but even those who are already in SG are not going to take up our citizenship and give up theirs.

Like one said to me, we are only here to work, not to stay. Whats the difference between a foreigner in SG and a citizen? Neglible is the word.

Bro Ramseth, i have always held (and still do) most of your posts in high regard, the part about the stamp every month is in error though.

Once you get MACS, you do not need to stamp it at all, my passport has US/UK/China stamps except MY and has been that way for the past 1.5 years.

If you have money, you can do the MM2H programme and be on very long term VISA (10 years) with a view of PR after that.

Whether got MACS or not, still need to go custom every month except for MACS, there is no stamp on the passport and no need to write the white card.

The MM2H program does not allow one to work in Malaysia, which is an essential difference from PR. Never heard that can get PR after MM2H, but ever heard that Chinese has zero or negligible chance of getting PR in Malaysia. :D

Yes, still need to go monthly but Ramseth was referring to stamping it. You don't need to if you go back to SG regularly say on a per week basis to run errands or meet up with relatives.

Yes it does not, its mainly for well heeled individuals or retirees (50 and above)
One can continue to extend after the first 10 years, though its important to note that one of their prerequisite for PR application is to have 5-10 years(foreign husbands) in Malaysia. So its not impossible for one to apply for PR when you have MM2H. For my family though, it doesn't really matter as we live 15 mins away from the border on both sides so its just a step across to pay bills and visit relatives, etc.

I have neighbours who did get PR (from Australia) and he is Chinese. Maybe he has friends in KL?

Permanent Residence and Citizenship

If you wish to apply to be a permanent resident of Malaysia you must have lived in the country continuously for at least 5 years under a valid Entry Permit, or at least 10 years in the case of foreign husbands of Malaysian citizens.

In order to apply for permanent residency, the following documents must be submitted to the Immigration Department:

- A completed Form IMM. 4 (select permanent resident status category)
- Photocopy of your passport or travel documents covering the last 5/10 years
- 2 passport-sized photographs
- Passport-sized photograph of local sponsor
- Identity card of spouse (if applicable)
- Marriage certificate (if applicable)
- Other supporting documents

A foreign person over the age of 21 can apply to the National Registration Department to become a citizen of Malaysia by naturalization if they have been a permanent resident for at least 12 years and lived in Malaysia for not less than 10 of these years, including the 12 months immediately prior to application. They must also be able to prove an adequate knowledge of the Malay language.

The Malaysian Goverrnment does not recognize dual citizenship so applicants granted citizenship are required to relinquish the citizenship of any other country.

So how did your neighbour meet the criteria? he stayed in Malaysia for 5 or 10 years before that?

He got the earlier Silver hair program i think and was in MY for 5 years. Probably his large bank account may have helped.

Country run by pigs , the chinese have a lot of opportunity to prosper. many lobang de..
Country run by dictator , the chinese can only eat grass.

Singapore Chinese also got lots of lobang , provided your surname is Lee , Wong , Mah , Teo , Yeo , Ho , Goh ......
Now if your surname happens to be Chee , Chiam , Low then it's a different kettle of fish
:p

Malaysia also got fuel as you termed it. no?
Indo got gas?
All these countries got alot of natural resources

Not only Malaysia have fuel , tin ore , rubber , palm oil , D24 durian , chincalok , berlachan and so on ......
Then why are there so many Malaysian Chinese who brave the rain and sun daily to eke a living in Singapore ?
Indonesia can ill afford to feed it's people despite having so much natural resources.
Don't forget , many Indons have to face mean and demanding employers by being a domestic helper here in Singapore.
Or by becoming a sex worker in Batam , Balai ( don't know about Bintan and P. Pinang )
Or an illegal streetwalker at Geylang Lorong 12 :D
So far , had not heard about any corruption in Brunei ( hated the jungle there during Ex Lancer )

I have M'sian friends who are S'pore PRs. They work here but live in JB. They rent out their HDB flats. They plan to sell their flats when they retire.

I think that is the best case scenario for M'sians - earn S$ but live in M'sia. Sell HDB later, realise profits and then move back to M'sia. While working in S'pore, renting out their HDB flat, get their rental and pay to service loans of M'sian properties. After 10 years, they should be able to pay off 2 Malaysian properties quite easily. The cash from HDB flat sale should be more than enough for their retirement funds.

Yeah man, I met a Msian who rents out her HDB flat but she and husband stay in Msia. They come out weekly to check on tenants and do weekly clean up on the flat. They have the best of both worlds.

Q. What is the difference between LKY and Mahatir?

A. None.

From Wall Street Journal:
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704422204576129663620557634.html

"Almost 500,000 Malaysians left the country between 2007 and 2009, more than doubling the number of Malaysian professionals who live overseas. It appears that most were skilled ethnic Chinese and Indian Malaysians, tired of being treated as second-class citizens in their own country and denied the opportunity to compete on a level playing field, whether in education, business, or government. Many of these emigrants, as well as the many Malaysian students who study overseas and never return (again, most of whom are ethnic Chinese and Indian), have the business, engineering, and scientific skills that Malaysia needs for its future."

You stay in a condo or landed and u get to drive a flashy car. No one will knock u out of the expressway and kidnap u or shoot you to death here in Singapore.

In Mudland, u feel different when u earn RM 30k a month and driving a mercs. You worry in out everyday once u drive to makan, to work, to jog, to explore new places kampongs etc.

No point enjoy a big car in sinkiland.
every 200 meter u need to stop for traffic lights and pedestrian crossings...
speed always got limit in expressway...
to enjoy your big car, you still need to go mudland.. then you start to enjoy the drive and at the same time worry lor.. :o

it was in their chinese papers last year that one malay teacher reprimanded the malaysian chinese student to go back to where they came from. i heard...created a big woo wa there. and seems like it happen in few states as well.

"Almost 500,000 Malaysians left the country between 2007 and 2009, more than doubling the number of Malaysian professionals who live overseas. It appears that most were skilled ethnic Chinese and Indian Malaysians, tired of being treated as second-class citizens in their own country and denied the opportunity to compete on a level playing field, whether in education, business, or government. Many of these emigrants, as well as the many Malaysian students who study overseas and never return (again, most of whom are ethnic Chinese and Indian), have the business, engineering, and scientific skills that Malaysia needs for its future."

it was in their chinese papers last year that one malay teacher reprimanded the malaysian chinese student to go back to where they came from. i heard...created a big woo wa there. and seems like it happen in few states as well.

Not only that...
they not happy with chinese, then can suka suka push you down from high rise building.
Then they claim you jump yourself de...

Which is better?

When I go to Muar, all the guys my age have car or motobikes or both. I'm still taking bus & MRT.

All of them talk about looking for g/f, get married, buy landed property, and have many children. As a Singaporean, I don't even dare to think about marriage. Married already stay where? On the streets? Cramp in my mothers place? Landed property? Better jump down and get reincarnated as rich man then maybe.

When I go India, my Indian colleagues have cars + drivers, landed property, maids, groceries delivered to their houses, laundry done and delivered to the houses. And I'm only talking about the average Indian office exec. Maybe you should consider moving there, way better then going to MY

Obviously you are responding to a Chinese Singaporean, who no doubt feel more at home here and in MY. I suggest Indonesia as they have lots of Chinese and the language is easy to learn. I stayed there for years and the food and the lifestyle is pretty good. One finds lots of commonality as there are lots of Singaporeans who has moved there permanently. There are also lots of well-known Singapore food outlets, like Wee Nam Kee and Koufu.

When I go India, my Indian colleagues have cars + drivers, landed property, maids, groceries delivered to their houses, laundry done and delivered to the houses. And I'm only talking about the average Indian office exec. Maybe you should consider moving there, way better then going to MY

Obviously you are responding to a Chinese Singaporean, who no doubt feel more at home here and in MY. I suggest Indonesia as they have lots of Chinese and the language is easy to learn. I stayed there for years and the food and the lifestyle is pretty good. One finds lots of commonality as there are lots of Singaporeans who has moved there permanently. There are also lots of well-known Singapore food outlets, like Wee Nam Kee and Koufu.

indonesia is a babaric country.
anytime they not happy with chinese getting richer they can cut you up...
have you seen the latest incident religious clash ?

"Almost 500,000 Malaysians left the country between 2007 and 2009, more than doubling the number of Malaysian professionals who live overseas. It appears that most were skilled ethnic Chinese and Indian Malaysians, tired of being treated as second-class citizens in their own country and denied the opportunity to compete on a level playing field, whether in education, ......."

The same can be said for Sporeans who are studying overseas. They don't want to return to Spore.:rolleyes:

There are instances of such isolated incidents, even in Singapore. No one can be safe anywhere in the world, and it is either bad luck being in the wrong place at the wrong time or foolishness to be anywhere in the midst of fanatics, knowing full well the consequences. Fir example, in the States, as a newly arrived emigrant, you don't stay in the areas where there are lots of blacks, right? If you have the sense, stay in a state with lots of Asians where you blend in. Likewise in Indonesia, you should stay in areas where there are lots of local Chinese and with tight security. I stayed in Kota Wisata and there are lots of local Chinese and foreigners. The security is first class. The same goes too when I was living in Manila.

indonesia is a babaric country.
anytime they not happy with chinese getting richer they can cut you up...
have you seen the latest incident religious clash ?